We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sawa55
San Francisco, California

Every detail was perfect

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Feb 2017
Stayed for one night driving through and it was absolutely amazing. The room felt like a mini cottage with the fireplace and high ceilings. The towels were so soft and wonderful, the sheets were super soft and the pillows were just amazing. Breakfast is included and is delivered to your room. Warm pastries, quiche, coffee and juice. Can't say enough great things about this place. I'll definitely be back.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2017
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review! We just switched to those new towels and are glad to see that they're noticed and already making an impact. We always appreciate guest feedback and view it as a way to stay on top of things and make changes quickly when needed.
Now that you've found us, we hope that you will return soon and often!
Best wishes, Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£406
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Hotel
    £406
0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
£239
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
£219
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
£227
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    £227
1.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
£488
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
£402
    3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £296
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    4.1 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £255
    • Hotels.com
    0.4 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £182
    • Algotels
    1.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Pergola and Fire Pit Area with our Beautiful Garden
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £158
    • Hotels.com
    0.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Carmel
    Reviews (658)
    Filter reviews
    659 results
    Traveller rating
    549
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    549
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews quiche charcuterie tray vaulted ceilings wine and cheese each morning complimentary snacks breakfast delivered to the room each evening carmel plaza other guests within walking distance beautiful room carmel by the sea a wonderful stay cookies a nice touch quiet location
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    407 - 412 of 659 reviews
    Reviewed 5 February 2017

    This is one of the best places to stay in Carmel that tends to be expensive, but available at substantially discounted prices in low season. We usually come at the end of January or early February when the place is not sold out.

    Rooms have always been large and comfortable, but the recent remodeling has made them much more attractive. The management of Carriage House pays attention to details, and this is reflected in the high quality workmanship of all wall and woodwork finishes.

    The reception staff is very friendly. Your breakfast choices, which you must make by 10 PM on the previous night, are delivered to your room on a large tray.

    Room tip: All rooms are large, but the rooms on the top floor have higher ceilings.
    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank paul h
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Dear Paul,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate the fact that you are able to take advantage of our off season promotions.
    Our staff does try very hard to enhance the guest experience and we are grateful that it was noticed!
    We hope that you will be able to return to see us again soon.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 February 2017

    We recently stayed at the Carriage House Inn for my husband's 60th birthday. Beautiful spacious room and amenities. We were quite content staying in the room reading and relaxing. It was almost a chore to leave our slice of heaven. They provide a happy hour each evening with wine, cheese, fruit and nibbles. Thoroughly enjoyed stopping for refreshments before heading out to eat. Also included is a lovely breakfast which is delivered to your door at your selected time. Choice of bagels, muffins, cereal, quiche, juice, etc.

    Lori was our host and she is simply delightful! She went out of her way to make sure our stay was memorable. We loved the bottle of wine in the room congratulating my husband on his birthday. We looked forward to visiting with her every afternoon. Our last evening, the power went out (due to a bad storm) and there was Lori knocking on the door to make sure we were alright and giving us a flashlight to use.

    We look forward to our next visit. Hopefully very soon.

    Room tip: There is no bad room
    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank TRIPSTER077
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a nice review. We're especially grateful that you took the time to acknowledge our staff, Lori is truly amazing with customer service!
    Although we've had our share of storms since you left, we haven't lost power again. I guess the powers that be just wanted to make sure you had a very romantic evening.
    We hope that you will return to visit us again soon, we love sharing special occasions with our guests!
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

    My wife and I on our pacific road journey from San Francisco to Los Angeles stopped overnight in magical Carmel and stayed at the Carriage horse Inn

    We found it to be a friendly clean luxurious hotel well situated in Carmel.

    We had a beautiful room spacious with a lovely separate lounge jacuzzi and comfortable bathroom with double shower.

    In the morning a tasty filling breakfast was delivered to the room prior to our departure.

    Beautiful hotel in a fabulous town in stunning setting

    Thank you all at the carriage horse inn

    Ennio and Joey
    South Africa

    Date of stay: December 2016
    1  Thank Bedfordview
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a true pleasure to meet you and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You even made it between the storms!
    Please share your experiences with your friends at home and we'll hope to see you as our guest again in the future.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

    It is not too much to look at from outside but insight the rooms are really nicely upgraded. Very friendly staff that made our new year celebration and birthday festivities special. The rooms were very clean as well.

    Date of stay: January 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Ismail S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
    We are very proud of our recent remodel and appreciate the fact that it was noticed!
    I will pass along your compliments of the clean room to our housekeeping staff, they do truly work very hard.
    Watch you emails for special promotional offers, we'd like to see you again soon!
    Best wishes, Dan

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 December 2016

    The hotel is in an excellent location - within blocks of Ocean Ave and shopping. The room was clean, comfortable and the manager was friendly. We enjoyed the gas fireplace in the room and the bed was very comfortable. We were there for 3 nights. There were two main issues I had with the hotel: 1) Their internet connectivity was poor. It was good only for picking up email, but not for streaming media. When I asked them about it they clarified that they do not use high-speed. The Wifi signal in their office was "Good" but, in my room, the signal quality was either "Fair" or "Poor" and would drop from time to time. It was useless to watch Netflix on my tablet. I've been to a number of 4 star hotels during 2016 and this place had the worst Internet connectivity. 2) The second issue I had was their bathtub. I love taking soaking baths and was looking forward to taking one, but this hotel uses an automatic cleaner that comes on within 20 minutes of the bath being turned off. Under these circumstances, I didn't dare to take a bath.
    If you are anything like me - a technology savvy person who loves taking baths (and not crazy about walking on marble floors in a bathroom) I don't recommend this hotel. Otherwise, it's a pretty decent, standard hotel, if a bit overpriced, hotel.

    Date of stay: December 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank 497rogersa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

    Dear 497rogersa,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Although your experience was not a 100% positive one, we do appreciate the feedback. That is often the best way to make sure a problem is corrected.
    We are taking a closer look at our WiFi capabilities. We find that most people do not spend that much time in their rooms, as there is so much to see and do while in the area, however we can certainly understand why at times streaming might be requested.
    With regards to the bath tub, this particular type was picked not only for it's style and comfort, being a deep soaking tub, but also for it's safety and sanitation features. This includes the self-cleaning feature. We apologize that your were inconvenienced.
    Although we may not have been the fit you were looking for while in Carmel, we hope that you will continue to visit our beautiful village and perhaps try one of our other properties.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews