We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£344
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£344
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£264
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
nepenthium
Tiburon, CA

Nice place, nice location, with some annoying features

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2017
We like this place with it's good location , good service, good breakfast, and nice furnishings and have been customers for a number of years.
We commented after their remodeling last year , that the bathroom needed towel rails on which to put wet towels and/or clothes. These are inexpensive, but still have not been installed, so towels have to be thrown on the floor, rather than being reused!
The WiFi is very weak and cuts out from time to time. You also have to re-sign in , for no apparent reason, sometimes in the middle of composing.
The heating system works well, as does the TV.
Date of stay: February 2017
Room Tip: Beware of busy woodpecker waking you at 7AM , Room 11 !
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review
Responded 9 Mar 2017
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. We apologize for the woodpecker, he/she comes and goes. We have a lot of trees in Carmel, hence a lot of birds, we wish, as you do, that they would not confuse our building with a tree!
We appreciate your comments regarding the towel bars. Our hope was that once the robes hung there were in use, the hooks could be utilized for the towels. The situation with the WiFi, having to re-sign in after connecting, is a safety measure to protect your privacy. We've never had the complaint that it occurred during composing, and for that we apologize.
We appreciate your mentioning all the good things; location, service, breakfast and ambiance. We hope that you will continue to consider the Carriage House Inn as your home away from home when visiting Carmel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£197
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £196
  • Agoda.com
    £145
  • Expedia.com
    £196
0.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
£243
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £233
  • Vio.com
    £182
  • Hotels.com
    £233
0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£238
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £171
  • Vio.com
    £157
  • Hotels.com
    £204
1.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£200
  • Hotels.com
    £200
  • Agoda.com
    £174
  • Expedia.com
    £200
1.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£302
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £323
  • Expedia.com
    £323
  • Priceline
    £326
4.1 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
£470
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £405
  • ZenHotels.com
    £384
  • Expedia.com
    £406
3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£162
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £201
  • Agoda.com
    £138
  • Hotels.com
    £201
0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pergola and Fire Pit Area with our Beautiful Garden
Booking.com
£134
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £142
  • Vio.com
    £114
  • Priceline
    £134
0.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
£355
    3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £506
    • Official Hotel
      £447
    • Agoda.com
      £429
    • Priceline
    0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    View more hotels in Carmel
    Reviews (654)
    Filter reviews
    654 results
    Traveller rating
    544
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    544
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews quiche charcuterie tray vaulted ceilings wine and cheese each morning complimentary snacks breakfast delivered to the room each evening carmel plaza other guests within walking distance beautiful room carmel by the sea a wonderful stay cookies a nice touch quiet location
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    401 - 406 of 654 reviews
    Reviewed 21 February 2017

    Stayed for one night driving through and it was absolutely amazing. The room felt like a mini cottage with the fireplace and high ceilings. The towels were so soft and wonderful, the sheets were super soft and the pillows were just amazing. Breakfast is included and is delivered to your room. Warm pastries, quiche, coffee and juice. Can't say enough great things about this place. I'll definitely be back.

    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Sawa55
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review! We just switched to those new towels and are glad to see that they're noticed and already making an impact. We always appreciate guest feedback and view it as a way to stay on top of things and make changes quickly when needed.
    Now that you've found us, we hope that you will return soon and often!
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 February 2017

    This is one of the best places to stay in Carmel that tends to be expensive, but available at substantially discounted prices in low season. We usually come at the end of January or early February when the place is not sold out.

    Rooms have always been large and comfortable, but the recent remodeling has made them much more attractive. The management of Carriage House pays attention to details, and this is reflected in the high quality workmanship of all wall and woodwork finishes.

    The reception staff is very friendly. Your breakfast choices, which you must make by 10 PM on the previous night, are delivered to your room on a large tray.

    Room tip: All rooms are large, but the rooms on the top floor have higher ceilings.
    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank paul h
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Dear Paul,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate the fact that you are able to take advantage of our off season promotions.
    Our staff does try very hard to enhance the guest experience and we are grateful that it was noticed!
    We hope that you will be able to return to see us again soon.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 February 2017

    We recently stayed at the Carriage House Inn for my husband's 60th birthday. Beautiful spacious room and amenities. We were quite content staying in the room reading and relaxing. It was almost a chore to leave our slice of heaven. They provide a happy hour each evening with wine, cheese, fruit and nibbles. Thoroughly enjoyed stopping for refreshments before heading out to eat. Also included is a lovely breakfast which is delivered to your door at your selected time. Choice of bagels, muffins, cereal, quiche, juice, etc.

    Lori was our host and she is simply delightful! She went out of her way to make sure our stay was memorable. We loved the bottle of wine in the room congratulating my husband on his birthday. We looked forward to visiting with her every afternoon. Our last evening, the power went out (due to a bad storm) and there was Lori knocking on the door to make sure we were alright and giving us a flashlight to use.

    We look forward to our next visit. Hopefully very soon.

    Room tip: There is no bad room
    Date of stay: January 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank TRIPSTER077
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a nice review. We're especially grateful that you took the time to acknowledge our staff, Lori is truly amazing with customer service!
    Although we've had our share of storms since you left, we haven't lost power again. I guess the powers that be just wanted to make sure you had a very romantic evening.
    We hope that you will return to visit us again soon, we love sharing special occasions with our guests!
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

    My wife and I on our pacific road journey from San Francisco to Los Angeles stopped overnight in magical Carmel and stayed at the Carriage horse Inn

    We found it to be a friendly clean luxurious hotel well situated in Carmel.

    We had a beautiful room spacious with a lovely separate lounge jacuzzi and comfortable bathroom with double shower.

    In the morning a tasty filling breakfast was delivered to the room prior to our departure.

    Beautiful hotel in a fabulous town in stunning setting

    Thank you all at the carriage horse inn

    Ennio and Joey
    South Africa

    Date of stay: December 2016
    1  Thank Bedfordview
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you for your wonderful review! It was a true pleasure to meet you and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You even made it between the storms!
    Please share your experiences with your friends at home and we'll hope to see you as our guest again in the future.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

    It is not too much to look at from outside but insight the rooms are really nicely upgraded. Very friendly staff that made our new year celebration and birthday festivities special. The rooms were very clean as well.

    Date of stay: January 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Ismail S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
    We are very proud of our recent remodel and appreciate the fact that it was noticed!
    I will pass along your compliments of the clean room to our housekeeping staff, they do truly work very hard.
    Watch you emails for special promotional offers, we'd like to see you again soon!
    Best wishes, Dan

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews