We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£513
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
£513
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£513
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jeffrey C
Cherry hill

Easter in carmel.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Apr 2017
The carriage house inn is perfect for your stay in Carmel by the Sea. The suite is large and beautiful with vaulted ceilings, which give it an even larger feel. The furnishing is well done, and most importantly it is really really clean. Baths are great! Morning breakfasts are delivered to your room, and happy hour wine and veggie/cheese plates each evening were perfect. The employee's are refreshingly happy and knowledgeable. Shout out to Dawn. So, if you want to stay in Carmel, this Inn really hits the mark
Date of stay: April 2017
Room Tip: Room 3 a large suite
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review
Responded 4 May 2017
Dear Jeffrey,
It was such a pleasure meeting you and your wife on your recent visit with us. I truly appreciate your kind comments about the Inn, our staff and our amenities. I will pass along the "clean, clean" comment to our housekeepers, we think they're the best!!
We hope that you will be able to return for another visit soon, and will always consider the Carriage House as your home away from home on the central coast.
Best wishes always, Dawn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£233
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £232
  • Agoda.com
    £165
  • Hotels.com
    £232
0.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£238
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    £205
  • Vio.com
    £157
  • Expedia.com
    £205
1.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£169
  • Expedia.com
    £203
  • Agoda.com
    £136
  • Hotels.com
    £203
0.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £175
  • Expedia.com
    £175
  • Priceline
    £175
1.2 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
£380
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £380
  • Hyatt.com
    £371
  • Vio.com
    £380
3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£303
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £324
  • Hotels.com
    £324
  • Priceline
    £327
4.1 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pergola and Fire Pit Area with our Beautiful Garden
Booking.com
£124
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £131
  • Hotels.com
    £124
  • Vio.com
    £124
0.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£163
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £202
  • Agoda.com
    £145
  • Hotels.com
    £167
0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Site
£452
    3.7 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £507
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      £507
    • Official Hotel
      £431
    • Hotels.com
      £457
    0.3 miles from Carriage House Inn
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    View more hotels in Carmel
    Reviews (654)
    Filter reviews
    654 results
    Traveller rating
    544
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    544
    72
    29
    8
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews quiche charcuterie tray vaulted ceilings wine and cheese each morning complimentary snacks breakfast delivered to the room each evening carmel plaza other guests within walking distance beautiful room carmel by the sea a wonderful stay cookies a nice touch quiet location
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    397 - 402 of 654 reviews
    Reviewed 16 April 2017

    This hotel is clean, quiet, quaint, friendly - first time in Carmel and could not ask for a nicer staff or better accommodations. So peaceful and friendly here. Had a robe waiting for me and have never felt such soft towels in my life. Breakfast was an unexpected bonus. Highly recommend!

    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Denise S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

    Dear Denise,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post such a nice review, we appreciate all the kind comments. The towels are new, so glad you enjoyed them! Our staff appreciates being singled out, they do try very hard. Our breakfast being delivered to the rooms allows our guests a little extra special time in the morning. And of course, we have parking, always a plus in Carmel!
    We hope to see you again soon!
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 April 2017

    Perfect location in the heart of Carmel. Spotless and quiet rooms benefitting from recent renovations. Staff is pleasant and helpful. What's needed is that extra something that moves this to a really exemplary experience...maybe flowers in the room...some special goodies from Carmel itself (not just bagged snacks). Breakfast was suprisingly good and brought promptly to our room...good job! Parking is tight but good for Carmel. Rooms are spacious and have nice views.

    Room tip: Upstairs rooms have nice views with car park under
    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Mark A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for posting a review. We appreciate that you mentioned the staff, I know we all try to make each guest's experience the best that it can be. Thank you also for the suggestions of how to upgrade our services even more. We do provide fresh flowers on the breakfast trays in the morning, however a snack that is indicative or made in Carmel is an intriguing idea.
    Hope to see you again,
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 March 2017

    Beautifully appointed rooms with very comfortable beds...Very clean and upgraded bathrooms.

    Having a breakfast delivered to our room was such a nice luxury! They have a lovely late afternoon wine, cheese, veggies, and treats social set up in the front office. It was the perfect way to tide us over from lunch until dinner, and there were enough options that everyone was satisfied.

    The back staircase to Mission Street made it quick and easy to walk into the shopping, beach, or residential areas.

    It was nice to be able to park our car on the Inn's property.

    Date of stay: March 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank robertadP5843HG
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

    Dear Robert,
    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed not only the daily delivery of breakfast, but also the afternoon wine and cheese social. We find that it is a great opportunity for guests to share with others not only dining suggestions, but sightseeing ones as well.
    Our location is so central that it is convenient to park and walk the whole time of your stay. We are fortunate that we have enough off street parking for each of our rooms.
    We hope that you will continue to think of us and will consider us for your next trip to the west coast.
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 March 2017

    We like this place with it's good location , good service, good breakfast, and nice furnishings and have been customers for a number of years.
    We commented after their remodeling last year , that the bathroom needed towel rails on which to put wet towels and/or clothes. These are inexpensive, but still have not been installed, so towels have to be thrown on the floor, rather than being reused!
    The WiFi is very weak and cuts out from time to time. You also have to re-sign in , for no apparent reason, sometimes in the middle of composing.
    The heating system works well, as does the TV.

    Room tip: Beware of busy woodpecker waking you at 7AM , Room 11 !
    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank nepenthium
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. We apologize for the woodpecker, he/she comes and goes. We have a lot of trees in Carmel, hence a lot of birds, we wish, as you do, that they would not confuse our building with a tree!
    We appreciate your comments regarding the towel bars. Our hope was that once the robes hung there were in use, the hooks could be utilized for the towels. The situation with the WiFi, having to re-sign in after connecting, is a safety measure to protect your privacy. We've never had the complaint that it occurred during composing, and for that we apologize.
    We appreciate your mentioning all the good things; location, service, breakfast and ambiance. We hope that you will continue to consider the Carriage House Inn as your home away from home when visiting Carmel.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 February 2017

    Stayed for one night driving through and it was absolutely amazing. The room felt like a mini cottage with the fireplace and high ceilings. The towels were so soft and wonderful, the sheets were super soft and the pillows were just amazing. Breakfast is included and is delivered to your room. Warm pastries, quiche, coffee and juice. Can't say enough great things about this place. I'll definitely be back.

    Date of stay: February 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Sawa55
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    DawnDull, Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review! We just switched to those new towels and are glad to see that they're noticed and already making an impact. We always appreciate guest feedback and view it as a way to stay on top of things and make changes quickly when needed.
    Now that you've found us, we hope that you will return soon and often!
    Best wishes, Dawn

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews