We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated, rustic, quaint”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outdated, rustic, quaint”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Do not get room 28 - it's a handicapped room - smells, dark, depressing. I was given another (more expensive) room. The sliding glass door in that room did not lock until I had them fix it. It's very cute when you drive in, quiet, but I think it is very outdated and not well maintained. I won't be back. Had Internet service but my iPad couldnt pick up wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margob1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    141
    39
    21
    12
See reviews for
96
274
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The allure of the Mission Ranch is its location and its rescue by Clint Eastwood. The location is both quiet and beautiful - on the south side of Carmel, isolated from the activity of the town. One can gaze onto the Pacific from any number of vantage points. Of course, the heard of sheep provide a sense of serenity. To be honest, the rooms could stand to be upgraded. For the money, the Mission Ranch is a good value for Carmel, but I expected a bit more. Our room was large, but the fixtures - beds, chairs, bath - were a bit dated. A continental breakfast is included and is served at the Tennis Club. This was OK with us and the food selection was pretty good for a B&B type of establishment. By far, the hit of this property is the piano bar. The bar is frequented by locals from Carmel. When my wife and I went for a drink, I didn't think there were any guests from the B&B in attendance. The piano bar was dominated by locals who took turns singing their favorite songs. They were a hoot and really good singers! My wife and I felt fortunate to make an evening of this entertainment during one night of our stay. Bravo to Clint to provide a venue for his friends and Carmel residents to enjoy each others great company.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-Man-Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Good hotel in excellent surroundings.
Friendly reception on arrival.
Stayed in Bunkhouse. Reasonable accommodation. Good master room but other bedroom rather small with no clothes storage or TV.
At 3.00am awakened by loud humming noise from outside of building.

Would stay there again but not in the Bunkhouse.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Spent three nights at Mission Ranch. Great view room, (#20 looking out over the pasture and soccer field),the room was very comfortable with a great bed, fireplace, but has a strange "sewage" smell when its been closed up for awhile. The security lock was torn off the sliding door, but it could be locked but not secured. WiFI for internet access is spotty at best. I was able to connect one time with a laptop. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. We were disappointed with the restaurant. Of course the view is wonderful, but our food was way over cooked, and took at least 40 minutes to get the entrees. The halibut and scallops were salty and had the texture of food left under a heat lamp too long. Dinner cost $150 without drinks, which I'm willing to pay, but we decided to eat in other restaurants for the remaining days of the trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pipercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Mission Ranch and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The restaurant was the highlight for us...great dinners two nights in a row. We only wish we were staying longer to enjoy more great dinners. The picturesque setting of the ranch is relaxing. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRanchMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The ranch is very beatiful, the restaurant has an average food but a friendly and warm environment. The complimentary breakfast is nothing special (but was complimentary as I just said).

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edupc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We spent 1 night in the barn room. This very much reminded me of a cabin type accommodation that you might find in the Ozarks. The decor was very 'homespun' like someone's Grandmother decorated 40 years ago. Our cabin had 2 rooms, 1 with a queen and the other had 2 twins so it accommodated my husband, son and I. There was no internet connection in the room but one can go to the 'conference center' a few steps away. I heard they are working on wireless now. The location is breathtakingly beautiful. We arrived just in time for Sunday brunch which was quite good. The other buildings and rooms on the property may be nicer. Really could use some sprucing up.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank belisaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,641 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
847 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,202 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing