We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mission Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$244
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$722
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$578
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$528
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
330
153
40
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
153
40
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barclint eastwoodtennis clubsheep grazingmeadowview triplexmeadow viewrocking chairsfarm houseprime ribhoneymoon cottagecarmel river beachpoint lobosgrounds are beautifulthree nightsthe pacific oceangas fireplacepastries
Filter
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Mission Ranch on Christmas and the 26th on our way to Post Ranch. The rooms are not fancy but well equipped and comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms so we got a good idea overall. Beautiful grounds and the view of the ocean is amazing. Sheep were grazing right out our door. Nice restaurant. It is situated right in the middle of a wealthy neighborhood so it is very quiet away from the town. The employees were terrific and very friendly. We would definitely stay again. We really like the fact that Mr. Eastwood preserved this amazing spot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patriceberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The property is gorgeous - absolutely gorgeous. Thank goodness for GPS, as the property would have been difficult to find in the dark for the first time - but what a find.

From our cottage deck - you could see a panoramic view of the sheeps' meadow and Pebble Beach in the background. Speaking of the grounds, they are impeccably gorgeous - really the pictures do not do it justice. The room decor in the cottage was indeed a little dated, but clean and very comfortable with a large fireplace.

It is very easy to see why the onsite restaurant is so popular. Although the live music and ambiance indoors was very appealing, we elected to sit outside on the patio, next to the large outdoor fireplace. We took our time to enjoy the evening - what an exquisite meal!

Nearby - The city and beach of Carmel are only minutes away. The 16mile drive around Pebble Beach is incredible and worth the price of admission..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bkgs1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at Mission Ranch during our trip to the Monterey peninsula in November. I could not have been more satisfied with our stay. Our room was in the Main Barn with a king bed. The rate was very reasonable for Carmel. The location appealed to me because it feels like it is out in the country with the meadow and the ocean with Point Lobos in the distance. Yet it is within five minutes from Ocean Avenue in downtown Carmel.

The place has a relaxing ambiance about it. The history is very interesting as well. The old white buildings with the green trim just have a clean look. Their continental breakfast is in the tennis center a short walk from the rooms. The breakfast selections were adequate and met our needs.

There is no other place that I would consider staying in Carmel than Mission Ranch. Carmel has a unique atmosphere and to me Mission Ranch offers a relaxing feel that just adds that much more to the experience of Carmel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was our second visit to Mission Ranch, the first being about six years ago. Hoping nothing had changed, we weren't disappointed. We stayed again in the Meadowview Triplex with a great view of the sheep and Point Lobos. Our schedule made it a one night stand, regrettably, since we love the place and wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Monterey Peninsula. This time we had dinner with friends on the patio. The food and service were just as inviting as the accommodations. If you like boring, cookie-cutter hotels, stay somewhere else. This one is unique!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m20j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Have stay here many times and have been able to sample the different rooming options that are available.
I always look forward to a visit to the Mission Ranch when and if I am able to travel to the Monterey/Carmel peninsula.
I note that there have been comments in the past relating to the quality of accomodation and ,while this may be based on comparisons with other hotels one can't compare this unique property with it's old world ambiance and extraordinary location and outlook.
The restaurant never disappoints whether it be for dinner or the great Sunday brunch and who doesn't enjoy the impromptu piano bar after dinner vocalists.
The continental breakfast is generous don served down at the tennis courts and there's nothing like a late afternoon sitting on the restaurant deck with a drink in hand looking out over the meadow with the worlds most pampered sheep and hearing the waves breaking on the beach in the distance.
If you can only stay once you'll understand.

Room Tip: They don't take on line reservations.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggesttrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews