We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and Restful in Carmel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Elegant and Restful in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Clint Eastwood's Ranch has to be the location to stay in Carmel. It looks over towards Point Lobos with sheep grazing in the grass nearby. We rented the "Hayloft" which was spacious and very private with a nice view. It had a gas fireplace which was a nice feature, because the nights can get cold in spring and early summer.

The restaurant was disappointingly noisy. It attracts paparazzi, anxious to catch glimpse of Clint, whom I was told, comes in two or three times a week. A better bet is a patio table outside which serve a bar menu and has great views towards Point Lobos. Each table has a heater. The hamburger was excellent.

Room Tip: We loved the Hayloft
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheersfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    138
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
90
254
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed there with my wife coming from Big Sur and on our way to SF. The hotel is very well situated for gentle walks on the shore line. It is also close walking distance to Carmel by the Sea town Center where many good restaurants are situated. The mission is also a few steps away and worth a visit. The restaurant is also good and you may see the owner of the place one evening as we did... Look him up and enjoy the place! Something of a family feel as many staff have been there over a decade a d sometimes two.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josselin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Located just outside the town center, on a sheep meadow, with hills and ocean views, this rustically charming inn has a special sense of time and place. Although the rooms have an older, quasi Western feel to them, they're updated enough to be very comfortable and appealing. We were lucky enough to get one of the bigger rooms that feel more like a private cottage overlooking the meadow/sheeps and this made for a truly special experience. Also on the property are tennis courts and a fitness center and you're just a few blocks away to a somewhat secluded section of the beachfront and a nature preserve.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the meadow view rooms/cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Makeshift room in converted barn with old worn furniture and dirty bedding. Bathroom has mold and old fixtures that do not work. Do yourself a favor and stay in town. Much nicer and less expensive accomadations

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tallpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have both stayed here and enjoyed the restaurants. The meadow view cottages are wonderful with fireplaces and rocking chairs on the porches. I love the Sunday brunch here as well. It's just a wonderful spot for a day or a weekend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatLakes
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

A wonderful place to stay in the Carmel area.

The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. Price range from moderate to expensive. Our trip allowed for one night in Carmel and we choose Mission Ranch (MR) based on TA reviews which we found to be accurate. We stayed in a modest priced smaller room in the sheep barn. It was spotless, cozy and comfortable. Front desk personnel were pleasant and professional. Mr. Eastwood has an excellent staff managing his property. Convenient location for having dinner at the restaurant; all we had to do was walk across the parking lot. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner and view of pasture. Should we return to Carmel, the MR is our choice.

Room Tip: Check out their website for pictures of all rooms so you know what to expect. Some rooms are modera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julymystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Whoa, before you unsaddle and settle in at this ranch, know that the setting can be enjoyed for a good meal, and then escape before you spend $300 for rundown, noisy accommodation, and a totally dishonest staff who assure you of quiet, and wifi when neither could be more untrue. The school on the adjoining property runs athletic practices LOUDLY with blaring music in the early mornings and afternoons- 5 days a week, yet the ranch check in staff assure guests of quiet. Our room needed its bathroom recleaned, its windows were seized shut, and the patio door lock was rusted and broken. Wifi was only available in a cold, dingy structure away from any comfort or convenience in spite of assurances that it worked throughout the property. GM Carota when contacted showed no interest in improvements, and we fled to an alternate hotel for comfort, and quiet. Such a shame because the setting is truly lovely. I think Mr. Eastwood would be unhappy to know how badly some of his guests' experiences are after he rescued this special property from being condominiumized. Too many guests come hoping to spot Clint, but those who want peace and reliability should seek it elsewhere. Lastly, the ranch's good morning greeting to guests is to corral them for a very ordinary cold breakfast served in a rundown wooden room without views, with sweatshirts and t shirts hanging on the walls for sale, 2 washroom doors for community tennis players 12 feet across from the breakfast tables, and a woman on cash whose idea of entertainment was a too loud, early morning TV , cosmetic makeover. Why is the scenic dining room locked up until dinnertime while guests huddle in this undecorated shack? Stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing