We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Noisy”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice But Noisy”
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed at the Mission Ranch over the July 4th weekend and our room was connect to the main office. Around 11:30 pm there was an incredible racket coming from the adjoining hall, sounded like chairs being stacked or thrown against the wall. We called the office and they took care of the problem. The problem with our accomodation was the walls were paper thin, hearing the couple next door in the heat of passion was a bit much. The room & grounds were beautiful, the insulation was terrible. A great place if you are hard of hearing, if not - find another hotel...

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds, very nicely appointed rooms.
  • Disliked — Terrible accoustics - noisy
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugemaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    142
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
96
278
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Fortunately we only stayed here for 1 night. The ranch is very beautiful on the outside and a lot of TLC has been given to the gardens, however we were terribly disappointed with the room we'd been given. The room, although large, was dark, dismal, very tired and smelt of damp. We couldn't wait to leave in the morning!

  • Liked — The beautiful exterior
  • Disliked — The accommodation
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Our one-night stay at the Mission Ranch was just perfect. The room -- a cottage with a view of the water over a lovely sheep meadow -- was charming, immaculate and boasted a porch with rockers and a fireplace. Flowers everywhere, light morning fog coming down over the mountains, peace and quiet. I'd love to stay here for a week some time.

Particulars: helpful staff even mailed a pair of pants I left in the closet, excellent restaurant, good breakfast included.

  • Liked — Charm, comfort, cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scribblewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the ranch for 3 nights. We stayed in one of the Mainbarn rooms. It was very nice. The restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was wonderful. Sunday brunch was the best and the piano bar at night was so much fun. As a matter of fact when we get away for just an overnighter or two we always hit the piano bar at night, no matter where we are staying, or however long we are in town. We love this place and Kudos to the staff both for housekeeping and the servers.
The Carmel Mission is just steps away, what a treat that is.
We will always be back. Thank you Clint for saving this lovely place for all to enjoy. :)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Alwayslovinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the ranch several times on our travels in California and its always been a pleasure to check in. We love to be left alone but have found the staff very helpful when needed. Good value, clean, different and a nice food. We will return on our next visit to the west coast without a doubt. I can recomend The Hayloft a beautiful room.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank James086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

The Mission Ranch is located on a beautiful piece of property, but the room itself didn't really WOW us. It wasn't that it was bad, but we had just come from a really cute, homey hotel/B&B in San Francisco, and the Mission Ranch felt a little more impersonal. This is not to say that it was bad in any way--our room was clean, the bathroom was big (and included a coffee maker and refrigerator) and we enjoyed the breakfast that was provided in the restaurant in the morning. It did feel like we were staying in a ranch of sorts, which is suppose was the intention.

  • Liked — the beautiful property
  • Disliked — the room was very impersonal
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsofsprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

The Mission Ranch was a wonderful place to stay and we really do wish that we could have stayed for longer. We had a meadow view room in one of the triplex buildings that was perfect for the type of accommodation we were looking for. The staff were friendly and the rooms were spotless - always a good sign. The restaurant provided a good selection and excellent quality of food at a reasonable price, what more can you ask....

  • Liked — Simple and very comfortable living - total relaxation
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Twobucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
856 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,216 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing