We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Came here to celebrate my fiancee's birthday. Have eaten at the restaurant a few times which is excellent. Our stay was quite nice. Had the bunkhouse, built in 1852 and the oldest building on the property. It has the character of an older building yet has been remodeled with sacrificing the charm. The king bed was very comfortable and having the fireplace was very nice. Watching the sunset from the porch was a delight. Great view and the complimentary continental breakfast is very adequate. Bagels, pastries, donuts, fresh fruit, juice, milk, yogurt, coffee, cereal, and hard boiled eggs can satisfy many.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    138
    37
    19
    11
See reviews for
90
254
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I loved this place, so quaint and cute, i have nothing bad to say except i didnt get to see Clint Eastwood, the people were very friendly and the accomodation was very clean and comfortable. The town itself is great to visit and my friends and i thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSHea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We absolutely loved Carmel, and The Mission Ranch. What a beautiful place, and actually getting to meet Mr. Eastwood made the experience complete. Wonderful restaurant, as well. Service, food quality, and ambience was all top notch. Amazing prime rib! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We had the 'honeymoon cottage' and it was gorgeous! Loved our stay at Mission Ranch such a beautiful place, we will be back again! Close to the town which is one if the most beautiful places we have been! This place is such a treasure! A must stay, the price is worth the experience!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDRJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Fall in Carmel is the best. Great weather. Fewer people. And Mission Ranch is in a great location. Out of the downtown crowds. With both ocean views to Point Lobos and views up the Carmel Valley. Comfortable rooms, friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was treated to a stay at The Mission Ranch for my birthday, and it was a wonderful time. Kudos to Clint Eastwood for saving this gorgeous property from becoming only a memory - may it create memories for years to come. The property is a sprawling old ranch that works very well as a hotel. The rooms range from small and inexpensive (for the area) to large enough for a family. We stayed in one of the Meadow Triplexes and thoroughly enjoyed the room. It doesn't have ultra modern amenities, but they would not fit with the atmosphere of the place. The room was large and comfortable, well lighted, cozy with the gas fireplace, and the view from the balcony was great. We watched the sheep in the daytime and saw lots of deer and turkeys at night. You can also see the waves crashing over at Point Lobos, and you get to watch both a sunrise and a sunset. There is a school next door, but the kids really didn't make all that much noise. As for a previous comment about the TV being too small, well, we never even turned it on. There is simply too much else to do in Carmel than to be stuck to a TV. The Ranch is in a great location for scenic walks. You can head around the corner to the Mission San Carlos Borroméo del río Carmelo, or go the other direction and walk along the ocean into town. You do have a bit of an uphill at the end, though. The restaurant is great, although only open for dinner and a fabulous Sunday Brunch. We sampled both, and the food and service were top notch. The only disappointment we had was not running into Mr. Eastwood at the piano bar. We will definitely be returning to the Mission Ranch in the future.

Room Tip: Meadowview Triplex upstairs. there is no elevator but the view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imawino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaville
Level Contributor
169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at The Ranch one evening and were we sold. We would love to come back and stay longer. The room was super, the view was fantastic. We had dinner in the restaurant and thought the food was probably the best we had on our entire trip. The desk staff were excellent and very accommodating. The wait staff in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed and enjoyed the piano bar after dinner and had a neat time. Complimentary breakfast was more than sufficient and tasty. But the road calls and off we were wishing we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing