We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very special place”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Ynez, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a very special place”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Mission Ranch is a great find. Beautiful setting, very comfortable rooms and excellent value. It is a perfect location for visiting Carmel and Monterey -- or even heading south to Big Sur. Or you can just relax on the deck of your room -- particularly wonderful if you have one of the meadow/sea facing rooms. The restaurant is good though not great -- but there is excellent dining nearby so there are many options. The view of the sunset from the restaurant patio is spectacular and it opens at 4 in the afternoon for drinks.
Overall, a very special place. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We did not have one of the rooms with a view of the meadow and the sea. That would make a huge diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyenglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    142
    40
    21
    12
See reviews for
96
278
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband proposed to me at the Mission Ranch restaurant in 2001. We came back a few times for dinner but never stayed in the hotel until now. We came this time with our daughter and stayed at the farm house, which has a lot of character. Mission Ranch's location is unbeatable - you have the idyllic farm marshland with different shades of green and the occasional yellow, sheep grazing,
and the beautiful ocean waves breaking in the rocks. Makes Quite the subject matter for photographers and painters! The food in the restaurant was excellent and so was the service. They even managed to get us, last minute, the same table my husband proposed. It was a wonderful stay for us and I'm sure it will special for anyone else.

One last note: Clint Eastwood himself was at the bar drinking a beer when my husband proposed! I did not get his autograph (actually he was left alone all the time) and my mom never forgave me for that!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked a room at the Mission Ranch while traveling down the CA coast this fall. Such a nice environment, from the time we checked in to our sweet little room to the wonderful dinner we had at the property. I would suggest staying at the Mission Inn to anyone staying in Carmel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Came here to celebrate my fiancee's birthday. Have eaten at the restaurant a few times which is excellent. Our stay was quite nice. Had the bunkhouse, built in 1852 and the oldest building on the property. It has the character of an older building yet has been remodeled with sacrificing the charm. The king bed was very comfortable and having the fireplace was very nice. Watching the sunset from the porch was a delight. Great view and the complimentary continental breakfast is very adequate. Bagels, pastries, donuts, fresh fruit, juice, milk, yogurt, coffee, cereal, and hard boiled eggs can satisfy many.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I loved this place, so quaint and cute, i have nothing bad to say except i didnt get to see Clint Eastwood, the people were very friendly and the accomodation was very clean and comfortable. The town itself is great to visit and my friends and i thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireSHea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We absolutely loved Carmel, and The Mission Ranch. What a beautiful place, and actually getting to meet Mr. Eastwood made the experience complete. Wonderful restaurant, as well. Service, food quality, and ambience was all top notch. Amazing prime rib! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We had the 'honeymoon cottage' and it was gorgeous! Loved our stay at Mission Ranch such a beautiful place, we will be back again! Close to the town which is one if the most beautiful places we have been! This place is such a treasure! A must stay, the price is worth the experience!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SDRJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,216 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing