We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you plan to visit Carmel then you have to stay here at least once!”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Once again we looked at many options for our stay in Carmel so we decided on the Mission Ranch for a few days and then move into downtown ( 12 minutes walk:) ) for a couple of days.
The Mission Ranch is a real joy, we booked one of the Meadowview Fourplex rooms ,39 , facing the meadow with the legendary Mission Ranch sheep. The whole experience here is amazing , we could sit on our deck and observe the meadow with the beach and ocean beyond . Initially we thought we could walk directly to the beach but we were told that there is a bird sanctuary between the ranch and the beach so if you wish to walk then it is a nice stroll around Dolores St and on to 15th which will take you to the beach. We actually walked to Clint's old saloon the Hog's Breath Bar for the early bird and then strolled down Ocean Avenue to the beach and watched a glorious sunset and then carried on back to the Carmel River and up to Mission
Ranch.....The continental breakfast in the tennis club is mediocre so we walked the 12 minutes down Dolores , be careful as there are no sidewalks for most of the way, to the wonderful Tuck Box cafe for breakfast , great eggs Benedict in a fantasy setting!
The wonderful thing about staying here is the access to all the interesting places around Carmel e.g. the Carmel Mission is 5 minutes walk.
We will be back here again!

Room Tip: The Meadowview Fourplex rooms are wonderful , we stayed in room 39 with a deck overlooking the meado...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

I don't want to mess with Clint Eastwood, and this is his ranch. The buildings are very charming from the outside, but we found them to be very dated on the inside and in need of updating. The sheep meadow with the lagoon in the background is a pretty backdrop. The ranch's bar was hopping with a crowd of older entertainers, and it felt a bit like a regulars' bar. In terms of location, the ranch is on the edge of town. It means you are going to be driving to meals and likely driving to the beach. Next time, we would likely try to stay in town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Deplorable hospitality. Agree with prior reviewer. Employees here are holier than thou. Seem to think the customer / guest is lucky to be in their presence. Excessive stodgy snotty attitudes with obvious undeserved claims to "real class".

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Westpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel purely as a homage to Clint Eastwood for one night. We wanted to extend for a second night but they were fully booked. However they happily accommodated us at the sister hotel Homestead Inn for the second night.

The grounds, restaurant and outside buildings are stunning. We were in the barn with a private parking space. The room itself was a disappointment for the money paid. The room was quite rustic and to be honest had an odour I couldn't but my finger on. The carpet had scene better days. There was a red light in the room that we couldn't figure out how to turn off, that was odd.

The tv had a great selection of tv channels and the staff were great. The wifi was quite poor, the only time I managed to load more than one web page was at 2am, when everyones asleep.

I am sure all the rooms are different, so best to judge for yourself. It was worth it for the Clint experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Staying at Mission Ranch is like going back in time. The physical attraction of an old local ranch, tremendous natural aspects and views, dated yet extremely comfortable rooms and great location all contribute in making the very special place to visit for a few days. But its the people there that make it special. Everyone is friendly, helpful in making sure you enjoy your visit, focusing on cleanliness and fun! We had a minor electrical problem with our room on our last stay. It was fixed quickly and management made certain we were satisfied…that type of service is lacking in many other places today. We will return for sure!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtq_quist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at Mission Ranch with friends whilst travelling down the Coast Road from San Francisco to Los Angeles in March 2014. One of the attractions of Mission Ranch was that it was only about 5 minutes from Pebble Beach Golf Course, where we were booked for a round the next day. Our room was in the "main barn" area of the Ranch, and whilst old, had been nicely renovated. My only complaint was the beds were not very comfortable. However after we left I completed a satisfaction Survey and made a comment about the beds. I was most pleasantly surprised to receive a return email from Mission Ranch thanking me for my comments and advising that new bedding was on order. I think this will even further improve a wonderful experience. After checking in, we went to the restaurant for dinner on site. Although they don't take reseravtions, guests are given preference for tables and this was no problem. After a quick drink we were escorted to our table in the quieter part of the restaurant, away from the piano. It was a wonderful meal, and 3 of us had the fillet steak with lobster tail - delicious. I would highly recommend a stay at the Mission Ranch to anyone in this part of the world, even though we didn't see the owner, Clint Eastwood.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thebigman255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is our favorite place on Earth...always feels like we are coming home. Gorgeous scenery out over the meadow (complete with sheep), all the way out to the Pacific...Low keyed and relaxing....Staff is always nice and friendly. I understand that It's an old farm ranch, saved by the very famous "former mayor" from being knocked down and converted into condos. All the buildings were converted into hotel rooms which are decorated with the country "flavor". They are spacious and always clean and well maintained. It's a wonderful place to stay, or simply just have dinner &/or drinks. The restaurant offers great food, great service and atmosphere. We love coming here and always make it part of our stay whenever we travel all the way over to that coast (We live in FL). The only thing we'd like to see is a bigger breakfast as opposed to the limited continental one, but I am certainly not complaining. Definitely worth the 3 hour drive as a side-trip from San Francisco (take the scenic route along the ocean) or a quick flight into Monterrey. A must see.

Room Tip: We love the end unit rooms in fourplex or triplex buildings overlooking the meadow, complete with fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ImTheTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
621 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £83 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing