We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place for Us”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We stayed here in mid-October last Fall. I had debated over several seemingly attractive places for our 3-night, first-time visit to Carmel ..... and finally settled on Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch -- and I'm very glad we did. It is a beautiful place, with flowers everywhere, and all the farm buildings and property still so well manicured.

In the end, of course, it's your own room that really counts -- and we had a nice, well-appointed, spacious room in a Meadowview Triplex unit, with fireplace and a bay window. Very good bathroom facilities, with a mini-fridge in it that came in very handy. The only possible complaint for us (and not much of one) was that our deck was completely uncovered, and since it faced south, was in the sun at all times. There are two rooms on the bottom of each triplex unit, and the other one had a completely covered deck in the corner of the building (just the design of each unit).

The property consists of many different types of units and rooms to choose from: our type, the Meadowview Four-plexes, the Ranch Triplexes, the farm house, bunk house, hay barn, etc. -- all very different. I would not have changed our selection -- it was newer, in a good location, with a nice view of the meadow and ocean in the distance. But I'm sure other rooms were neat and cozy in other ways as well. One note of caution for the first-timer: the Ranch triplex units have no view, and face directly toward the neighboring elementary school (and could be noisy at certain times of the day during the school year).

We did not eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner, but it must be good, because it was very crowded every night we were there ......... a very popular place in its own right -- even to the point of causing some parking problems one night. They do serve a free continental breakfast for their guests, in the same dining room. It was okay, did the job for us, but nothing special -- no hot items beyond a toaster.

The Ranch is located just behind the Carmel Mission (hence the name), a splendid attraction in itself that should not be missed. There are other much more expensive, luxurious alternatives to consider when going to Carmel, but for this price range, I didn't see anything else while we were in Carmel that I wished we had stayed at. We would definitely go back to Mission Ranch ......... and we met several people there that said they were "regulars" -- returning year after year. That speaks for itself.

Thank you Clint for saving this wonderful place for others to come and enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2009

Stayed three nights in one of the meadow view suites (# 40) and we were right over a meadow with sheep grazing and newborn lambs playing. In the distance was the beach and ocean...a magic view. Played dominoes in the bar by the fire before dinner....good food, warm service...just what we were looking for. Great weekend get away..short drive to Carmel village and Big Sur.....this place will become a favorite

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

I stay at the Mission Ranch one week each year with a group of friends. We stay in the farm house. It's not the most luxurious place I have ever stayed, and its rooms are in need of a little updating, but you can't beat the atmosphere of the place. It feels like you are at grandma's house when you visit. The rooms are decorated in a minimal country decor. The beds are comfortable but the heaters make a lot of noise when they kick in. The bathrooms are small, but serviceable. Room 31, downstairs, is the only room with a bathtub, the rest have showers. Room 32 is actually two rooms- a bedroom and sitting room. Room 36 has the nicest view.
The restaurant is very good and gets a very active happy hour crowd from the neighborhood nighly.
It's a nice place to relax and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SoCalTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

During July4,2008, we spent 5 days at MissionRanch in Carmel,California..We stayed in the Meadow Rooms and were so happy with everything there...The Room itself was equivalent,on a higher level, to a warm, cozy "ranch cabin"...We had a terrace that overlooked the Meadows, the Beach and Ocean in the distance ,and some beautiful and well taken care of Sheep, headed by Sissy the Matriarch of the Herd.. The Restaurant was just lovely and the food excellent...Every morning, as part of our stay there, we were provided with a very extensive breakfast which included cereals, fresh fruit, muffins,juices, etc........Our experience was excellent and we recommend Mission Ranch highly!!!!

3  Thank nyaz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We arrived at the mission ranch hotel just as the sun started coming out, after what had been a dreary morning on the 17 mile drive. We were efficiently helped by the hotel staff and give our room, locate in one of the triplex buildings.

It was nice and spacious, with a veranda overlooking the meadow behind the buildings. It was perfect to relax there, and take in the views. In the evening we booked a table at the restaurant (guests only need to book one hour in advance).

The breakfast the next morning was good as well. I would have loved to stay a few more nights here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed at the Mission Ranch over the July 4th weekend and our room was connect to the main office. Around 11:30 pm there was an incredible racket coming from the adjoining hall, sounded like chairs being stacked or thrown against the wall. We called the office and they took care of the problem. The problem with our accomodation was the walls were paper thin, hearing the couple next door in the heat of passion was a bit much. The room & grounds were beautiful, the insulation was terrible. A great place if you are hard of hearing, if not - find another hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugemaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Fortunately we only stayed here for 1 night. The ranch is very beautiful on the outside and a lot of TLC has been given to the gardens, however we were terribly disappointed with the room we'd been given. The room, although large, was dark, dismal, very tired and smelt of damp. We couldn't wait to leave in the morning!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Louisa7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
636 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
619 reviews
4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £82 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing