We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spectacular...one very cool place to stay.”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular...one very cool place to stay.”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We had a cabin with a porch - very private, with a fireplace. The porch included two rocking chairs and overlooked the sheep meadow and then the ocean and surf just beyond that. It was tucked into a busy neighborhood so at first we were not sure what to expect - but after we arrived, we felt so secluded. We ate dinner twice at the restaurant on site because the food and the service was great. We enjoyed the grounds and walked around quite a few times.

The drives south down the coast to Big Sur, Point Lobas and more were much better than Monterey or Pebble Beach drives - I wanted to spend more time in Big Sur but we were exhausted from shopping in Carmel, visting Point Lobas and left Big Sur for last - should have switched that around.

This is a nice place - but quite pricey. Their service is first class and welcoming and the whole mystic of staying at "Clint's Place" was super.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess_software
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    142
    40
    22
    12
See reviews for
97
280
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We admit it - we wanted to stay at "Clint's place." It was worth every penny. It's not a budget accomodation; it's a beautiful, peaceful ranch setting set back just a bit from the bay. Sheep in the pasture during the day, and lots of deer between the pasture and the bay at dusk. The room was very spacious, decor and amenities were excellent. Only downside was the jetted tub worked for a short time then stopped.

We ate dinner at the restaurant onsite; excellent food, ambience and service. The complimentary breakfast the next day was just enough; it was very pleasant to sit on the verandah near the tennis courts and enjoy the morning.

Highly, highly recommend this spot for anyone. It's not cheap - but it's SO worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gardenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

They say you shouldn't go back, but we did and the Mission Ranch is just as good as ever. First night was in the Homestead (sister hotel) right in Carmel, and it too was excellent, then moved to Mission Ranch for the rest of the stay.
Rooms are outstanding, staff could not be more helpful, great atmosphere in bar and on the terrace and it is just the best. (infinitely better than the T Pink - accommodation and value - and its also actually in Carmel unlike the T Pink).
Plenty to do - Carmel is a delight, wine tasting up the Carmel Valley, Monterey, and lunch at Pebble Beach looking down the 18th has got to be one of the best bargains around.
Only minor grouse - whoever moved breakfast from the main building to the tennis club - it's wrong! Get it back to where it belongs!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We had a glass of wine and watched sunset from the deck of the dining room. Had already planned to dine elsewhere in Carmel. Great setting, nice ambiance, but server never returned once he brought wine. We had to go inside dining room to pay for wine. Seemed to be lots of staff around and maybe their focus is more on diners.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sbswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilroy, Ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed in room 26 for 2 nights. A beautiful view from our small deck with 2 rocking chairs. Sunday morning we had coffee and pastry on our deck while watching the sheep - relaxing and amusing to watch the antics of a new lamb.
The room was very clean with the decor matching the farmhouse bedroom look.
The bed was comfortable as I have back problems, but didnot affect it those nights.
Sunday brunch was second to not very many. You must try it. Waiters are a little slow but acceptable. Dinner was also very good.
One drawback was a wedding reception each night with music clearly heard until 10:00.
So we slept in.
The TV remote was not working so had to get up to adjust.
Upon checking out I felt the staff would have been a little more friendly and said thank you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oopsperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We enjoyed our one nightstay here while exploring Big Sur and Point Lobos State Reserve. The restuarant on site served a nice variety of seafood and steak. Our cottage looked out over the bay and the hotels heard of fuzzy sheep. The night was quiet and the fireplace in our room kept us nice and cozy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Was expecting more from a speciality property in Carmel. Rooms are average, and like others have said, needs updating. We stayed in the farmhouse on the 2nd floor for one night. Although you can see a beach, you cannot get there from the property. Requires a 30 minute walk or 5 minute drive.
The breakfast is fine and includes various cereals, fruits, yogurt, bagels/toast--the standard continental, cold breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagamamawonderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
592 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Property: Mission Ranch
Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing