We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Carmel !!!! Lovely”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Myself and my husband stayed in the Mission Ranch for 2 nights which was perfect, just wished we could have stayed longer. We were drawn to Carmel-by-the-Sea as we knew Clint Eastwood lived there, we wanted to see the attraction of Carmel. We were not disappointed. Its not a typical American town, its so peaceful, laid back and relaxed.

We stayed in the "Farmhouse" which was lovely. We had 2 lovely meals in the restaurant, the service was excellent and the atmosphere in the bar was great.

It has lovely surroundings, its lovely to sit under the patio heaters on the evening and eat your meal.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed for 2 nights during the last week of June. We had a room on the second floor in the "Ranch Triplex". This building contains 3 rooms, 2 rooms on the first floor, and the room we occupied on the second floor. It was very comfortable with a very large room (my guess is 16 x 24) 2 queen beds, The bathroom was also very large with a deep tub and very good shower. The restaurant on site is EXCELLENT. Both the food and the service were some of the best we have had. All the staff were very attentive, but not annoying, as some restaurants can be. My wife and I found the clam chowder about the best we have had, and being native Massachusetts residents we have had alot. If we make it back to these parts, we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trip2goOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

From Paris, France and after 4 days in SF...we finally landed in Carmel on a Tuesday nigh (8:00pm) and did target on purpose Clint Eastwood place for lodging first. Had no idea about the pricing...positively surprised by the affordability, the right balance between comfort and cozy room (while not being at all bourgeois or snobbish). Finally had diner at the restaurant...another good surprise (but the wine prices...a little bit too much expensive for what is it. But you know we are french so very strict and knowledgable here ;-)

Good spot overall. To be visited

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulslide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

This place is perfection in Carmel and we would not want to stay anywhere else. We stayed in "The Barn" and the only downside was that it backs up to a school that's loud during school hours. If you can afford it spring for the rooms that overlook the sheep pasture they will be very quiet. The patio is the PERFECT place to relax and have a drink while the sun starts to set. It overlooks the sheep pasture and you can see the waves crashing in the distance. It's a very short walk to Carmel Mission and the Carmel River Beach - both are beautiful. It's also an easy walk to downtown Carmel and I would 100% recommend staying at this little slice of paradise instead of the expensive B&B's you find in downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrumbyGully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We had a cabin with a porch - very private, with a fireplace. The porch included two rocking chairs and overlooked the sheep meadow and then the ocean and surf just beyond that. It was tucked into a busy neighborhood so at first we were not sure what to expect - but after we arrived, we felt so secluded. We ate dinner twice at the restaurant on site because the food and the service was great. We enjoyed the grounds and walked around quite a few times.

The drives south down the coast to Big Sur, Point Lobas and more were much better than Monterey or Pebble Beach drives - I wanted to spend more time in Big Sur but we were exhausted from shopping in Carmel, visting Point Lobas and left Big Sur for last - should have switched that around.

This is a nice place - but quite pricey. Their service is first class and welcoming and the whole mystic of staying at "Clint's Place" was super.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess_software
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We admit it - we wanted to stay at "Clint's place." It was worth every penny. It's not a budget accomodation; it's a beautiful, peaceful ranch setting set back just a bit from the bay. Sheep in the pasture during the day, and lots of deer between the pasture and the bay at dusk. The room was very spacious, decor and amenities were excellent. Only downside was the jetted tub worked for a short time then stopped.

We ate dinner at the restaurant onsite; excellent food, ambience and service. The complimentary breakfast the next day was just enough; it was very pleasant to sit on the verandah near the tennis courts and enjoy the morning.

Highly, highly recommend this spot for anyone. It's not cheap - but it's SO worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gardenmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

They say you shouldn't go back, but we did and the Mission Ranch is just as good as ever. First night was in the Homestead (sister hotel) right in Carmel, and it too was excellent, then moved to Mission Ranch for the rest of the stay.
Rooms are outstanding, staff could not be more helpful, great atmosphere in bar and on the terrace and it is just the best. (infinitely better than the T Pink - accommodation and value - and its also actually in Carmel unlike the T Pink).
Plenty to do - Carmel is a delight, wine tasting up the Carmel Valley, Monterey, and lunch at Pebble Beach looking down the 18th has got to be one of the best bargains around.
Only minor grouse - whoever moved breakfast from the main building to the tennis club - it's wrong! Get it back to where it belongs!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.8 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.7 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 24 in Carmel
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £79 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing