We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very comfortable, spacious and relaxed room. We spent two nights there and it was very pleasant. Close to everything in town and to the beach. We also found it a great launching point for Big Sur cruising. Staff was friendly and knowledgable....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenton g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    49
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
146
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Tally Ho Inn has a good location in Carmel but that's about it. The view was of the ocean but a very small view. Beds were not comfortable and room seemed dated. The staff was friendly. However, it just wasn't worth the money for us. Also, we were there on a Saturday night and a wedding across the street was very loud.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arkansastiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have stayed a few times at the Tally Ho. The rooms are spacious, include jacuzzi bathtubs, most have really great ocean views and the complimentary morning continental and evening cheese hour are a really nice touch. One of my favorite things about this inn is that it is so centrally located in Carmel: two (or three?) blocks from Carmel beach, and a half-block from the main shopping street and all of it amenities. It's quite affordable for all that it offers. Front desk staff are charming and helpful. There are a few outdoors common areas with seating so you can enjoy fellow guests, the ocean air and the view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a lovely 2 nights here. We stayed in the suite and as we walked in, our six year old asked if we were staying in a five star hotel! It certainly had the feel of luxury. Our youngest daughter spotted the beds and announced they were for kings and queens. We had 2 bathrooms, one with a large jacuzzi bath, which we all loved. We loved the overall cozy feel of the place - the log fire outside and our living room. The staff were welcoming and the location was fantastic - a five minute stroll down to the beach and just around the corner from the shops of Ocean Avenue. Breakfast across the road in Il Fornaio restaurant was very good, although the same both days, so I guess if you stayed much longer you might get fed up of it! Underground parking was useful and we were offered the chance to leave the car there for another hour or so after check-out, if we so wished, which was kind.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KatB307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The inn is in an excellent location-just blocks from all the shopping and dining that Carmel has to offer and just a little further the other way was Carmel beach which is lovely. Parking was included and that was nice as street parking was mainly limited to 2 hours. The
staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent five nights at the Tally Ho Inn in Carmel. The Inn was delightful. We were fortunate to have the large suite, #110 with a large deck. We especially liked the on site parking which is not to be found everywhere in Carmel. The place is less than a block off Ocean Ave. so it is close to shops and restaurants. The help was friendly and accomodating. We go to Carmel ever year and will be planning to return to the Tally Ho.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cagABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I just returned from 2 weeks at Tally Ho. I have been blessed to travel all over the world as well as all 50 states. The Tally Ho experience is the best total experience ever. Are you looking for ocean views, ideal weather, great restaurants, scenic views, warmest of hospitality, cleanliness, great staff? Tally Ho has it all! Carmel, in our opinion, is the best small town in the United States. You can walk everywhere in town from your hotel. How wonderful is it to leave your fireplace burning all night with the doors left wide open. The doors can be left open because you have a private deck looking out at the Pacific Ocean. Art galleries galore and a wonderful cultural experience is always available. I could go on and on but surely you get the picture! This is my single favorite place to stay on earth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyLimbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 26 in Carmel
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Property: Tally Ho Inn
Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tally Ho Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing