We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful inn for one night. It's expensive. But everything is luxurious, the views are spectacular.
I was not impressed with breakfast.
The staff is very friendly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 27maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    185
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
72
848
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A friend recommended the Tickle Pink Inn and we stayed there one night as we celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary. It was spendy compared to most hotels we stay at, but I am very glad we made the choice to stay here one night. as part of our week long trip from MN to California.

The hotel is high on a bluff with gorgeous views of the ocean. We had a room overlooking the ocean and a private deck. There is a highway that runs down below the hotel but it was quiet. The rooms were nice, very comfortable, and attention to detail was evident everywhere.The Tickle Pink Hotel is outside of Carmel town but enjoyed being away from it all and it is a quick, few minute drive into town for dinner, etc. It was hard to heave here!

Enjoyed the wine and cheese happy hour and breakfasts in the morning. Very relaxing, quiet.
Would love to stay here again.

We were also delighted that the hotel surprised us with some chocolates, a rose and a bottle of champagne for our annivesary. This was not expected and very much appreciated.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and liked it. I thik all the rooms have ocean views. The best views might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everest0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We just returned from our third trip to the Tickle Pink, and as always, it was all we could hope for. We go here with plans to do nothing but relax, watch the surf, eat, and whatever else pops to mind ! The rooms have the most wonderful view of the rocky coastline, and we can sit for hours and enjoy the view from high above. The seagulls are always ready to entertain you on your balcony, if you will offer a hand-out for their efforts. The daily breakfast and afternoon happy hour are great, and shouldn't be missed. The staff is always very helpful with ideas about where to have dinner in Carmel or one of the other areas. A day drive south into Big Sur is an easy trip and should be on your agenda.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAUL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you are in the Carmel area, you owe it to your self to try the Tickle Pink Inn. Elegant rooms and suites with breathtaking views and service second to none.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonvile, Fl
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Loved the Tickle Pink Inn. The flowers and trellises immediately make you feel like you are in an adorable little enclave. The cookies in the afternoon, wine and cheese, and breakfasts were a delight.

Only complaint really is that the room was much smaller than it looked in the pictures online (had I known that, I would have paid the extra $100 for the bigger room. I thought the only difference was the jacuzzi and knew I wouldn't be using that.) Also, the furnishings in the room were a bit dated (oak wicker back chairs). Don't stay here if you want more space. The cliffside deck and breakfast room are quite small and there is a lot of talking (that we could unfortunately hear in our room) going on. If you don't like a small, casual environment of people making friends with strangers, this isn't the place for you. Also, after reading all the reviews about how perfect everything was, I was a bit surprised to see scuff marks on the walls and very old light plates, an uncomfortable old mattress, etc.

The views are amazing! Overall, the Inn is lovely and charming.

Beware: There is no air conditioning, which is fine if you're from California but I'm from Florida and really missed it.

Room Tip: Pay for the bigger room even if you don't want a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I spent 3 quiet and cozy nights in Room 21 early in June. What a nice Inn! The location is just south of downtown Carmel on Rte1/Cabrillo Hwy, out of the way of the hustle and bustle but close enough for a quick dart into town for shopping and dining. Our room w/fireplace was extremely well appointed, comfy, and clean and the view of the Pacific and its magnificent sunsets can't be beat. The Continental breakfast was just enough: high quality food in a very peaceful setting. We had the choice to eat outdoors on the deck (with heat lamps) or inside on the cafe tables. Just perfect for a quick start-your-day meal before heading out to Big Sur and the surrounding area. The staff was terrific and always helpful. We especially want to thank Janet for correcting our MapQuest directions to Yosemite Nat'l Park; she gave us a much better route. In the lobby you'll find an excellent, hand crafted resturant guide which recommended to us "Little Napoli" in Carmel - it was excellent! We will definitely stay here again and recommend The Tickle Pink Inn to anyone who is visiting that part of California. We are SO GLAD to have stayed at this cozy and comfortable Inn. Well done!

Room Tip: Room 21, King Bed with fireplace and balcony was very roomy and comfortable. It's on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraAndGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowood, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I would highly recommend the Tickle Pink Inn. We stayed in the Senators Cottage and I must say the view was out of this world. It isn't inexpensive but it is definitely worth every penny. Very romantic - my husband and I would like to come back without the kids.
There is a very nice wine and cheese reception offered in the afternoons - even my children enjoyed the cheese and crackers. Also, the breakfast offered each morning is exceptional - all this extra is "included".
The only thing I would advise against, while staying in the Senators Cottage (and they told this when we made the reservations), there are many steps to navigate so it would not be the perfect cottage for someone with knee/hip problems. However, all the other rooms would be very comfortable for someone with these issues.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lamissgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing