We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly overrated.”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly overrated.”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Let me start by saying the view is AMAZING and room balcony is large and very relaxing. If the view is worth the price to you, then stay here.

The average upstairs "deluxe" room is NOT deluxe at all. The rooms are small and badly in need of refurbishment. The carpets and furniture are quite worn out (at least in the room we had). And most of the furniture is covered by fabric to hide flaws. No A/C only heat. We had booked two nights but stayed only one.

The breakfast, which also receives rave reviews on Tripadvisor, is your basic continental store bought pastries, granola, yogurt (again w/ a lovely view) but no better than your average Hilton Garden Inn or Hampton Inn. Service was generally good but the place could really use some attention to detail in decor and housekeeping: for example, garbage can not emptied in our room when we checked in.

TIP: If you just want the view, go to Point Lobos Reserve just down the road and the view is yours for free. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthropologie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
We greatly appreciate the positive comments regarding our scenic location, but we are disappointed to find that this guest found us to be somewhat overrated. We would like to just add the following comments so as to assist future travelers. We have 34 rooms and suites, but there is only one type of accommodation that we describe as "deluxe"; and it is our large and spacious (fireplace, spa tub, 30 feet of windows) suites in the lower building. We regret that this guest was misled. Further to this, all of our case goods furniture in the rooms have been recently replaced... just but a year ago...and the only item that is covered by fabric is the desk, but it is done to enhance the room, not to hide any flaws (of which we are not aware).

As with most hotels in our area, we do not have air conditioning due to the cool ocean breezes and predominantly mild climate...with a year-round average temperature of 65 degrees. Our complimentary expanded continental breakfast does include a wide selection of pastries (among many other things), but all are baked each morning on-site (with the exception of Bagels, English Muffins and bread).

We are truly sorry that this guest found us falling short of his expectations...and our hope is that we can someday make it up to them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    188
    62
    28
    12
See reviews for
77
873
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This hotel is just amazing. Two couples had already booked this property for a getaway and we blindly called and tacked ourselves on to the trip. I tried several times before they had a room available for the three nights that I wanted. Once I arrived, I realized why. There are about 40 rooms and most people choose the exact location of their room when they book it. The rooms are decorated beautifully. After being in the room for ten minutes, there's a knock on the door and we're surprised with champagne and chocolates. The daily wine and cheese party is so nice. There is an assortment of wines, champagnes and ciders, as well as delicious cheeses. It's a great time to unwind, look at the spectacular views from the terrace, and talk to other guests. The breakfasts are delicious, and so are the freshly baked cookies when you arrive. The staff is so pleasant and helpful. It's just a fabulous intimate place to stay.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 26. We stayed there because it was literally the last room and we were lucky to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelleMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

What a find. Our room was in the Crow's nest right above the hotel lobby. A quaint corner unit with a fireplace and a private balcony facing north on the rugged Carmel coast. Loved it. We've stayed in technically "nicer" places....but the view, the sea air, the aroma of the smoke from the fireplaces....it was all spectacular.

Room Tip: upper floor, fireplace and jacuzzi tubs are all great things to consider
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14tidewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

The views from the room is absolutely breath taking! You have a private balcony with visiting seagulls! The bed is amazing and the TV has a huge range of channels! We had troubles with the TV but the maintenance man came straight out and was great! Check in was easy as well as check out! We received a bottle of champagne on arrival which doesn't happen often these days! We would love to go back and enjoy more than one night!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaitlynBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

"Wow" is the most appropriate word. We loved this place! We stayed in room 20, which is a top-floor fireplace unit. CHARMING from start to finish. Cozy, updated, nice bedding/mattress, gigantic balcony/deck overlooking the ocean, and the relaxing sound of waves crashing in the distance. I cannot think of another hotel where you can sit in your own room, in front of a blazing fire (real wood, not gas), and have a spectacular panoramic view of one of the most dramatic coastlines in the world. Yes please!!

It looked to me like all the rooms had great views, but the views to the southwest are the most dramatic and "Big-Sur-ish."

The Tickle Pink staff was friendly, helpful, and kind. Breakfast was even better than we were expecting. Highlights of the "expanded continental" were fresh strawberries and blueberries, scones, egg salad, and some really tasty sausage. The breakfast patio had windscreens, heaters, and jaw-dropping views, so we were able to sit and eat our breakfast outside, despite the cooler temperatures.

Tickle Pink exceeded our expectations and its own reviews. I can truly say that about only a handful of hotels. I consider it luxurious, but it is more of a cozy-homey-luxury than a butler-and-turn-down-service luxury. For us, it is about as close as we have come to perfection for a relaxing ocean-front getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlyingT-Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I just celebrated our 29th at this wonderful Inn.The Deluxe Ocean View Suite is the best of the best. Fireplace, jacuzzi in the room, and the best of all the gorgeous views. The furnishings were wonderful, the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in besides my own. Don't let the absence of a restaurant at this Inn steer you away from choosing to stay here, they offer room service from the restaurant next door, we enjoyed a delicious dinner all alone on our balcony watching the sunset, and the next morning a equally wonderful breakfast. This was our 1st time in Carmel and we will be returning to this wonderful area. We spent the 1st day exploring to the south, in Big Sur, if you don't know about the hidden Phiffer Beach, pack a picnic and find out how to get there, it is worth the trip. Also, right across the 1 from the inn is Point Lobos State park, a whole days worth of exploring awaits you there. We look forward to staying here on our next trip up the coast.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was the second time that my wife and I have been lucky enough to stay at the Tickle Pink Inn.
The place is simply stunning. The rooms are very comfortable, the wine and cheese reception in the afternoon is outstanding. The breakfast included in the morning is outstanding as well. One special thing that we did not do is they will offer the breakfast in your room as well. But I would say that the breakfast area has a view to die for.
Overall the prices including the above mentioned amenties are reasonable.
Sitting on the deck of our room was a view of the ocean crashing into the rocks below, very nice!!
Any time we would be in the vicinty of Carmel, we would choose to stay here.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room if possible. The views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing