We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view alone is worth every penny!”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The view alone is worth every penny!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's a great hotel with an amazing view. The staff was very welcoming, friendly and prepared. The check in process was very fast and simple. Upon check in, they provide you with a bottle of champagne and some fancy chocolate (or you can request a non-alcoholic sparkling cider). The first two nights were in room #5, which probably was the smallest room they have, but it was a very nice room with high quality amenities (the ones that matter anyway). The bed was super comfortable, and they use high end sheets and pillows. The bathroom was small, but again, the amenities were of high quality. The highlight is the amazing view of the ocean from the room. It's really breath taking and very relaxing. The balcony was fairly large and has two lounge chairs you relax and enjoy the view in. Our last night was spent in room #6, which had a bedroom, living room, fireplace and a huge balcony. It was the corner room, so it had an expanded view. It's worth the extra cost. They provide the firewood, so you can use the real wood fireplace, which was very pleasant. My wife commented that the water was very soft, and I agree. Rooms 5 and 6 didn't have the jacuzzi tub, so we used the outdoor jacuzzi (which I actually prefer). We used it around 7pm, and had it to ourselves, because everyone was out to dinner. The breakfast wasn't anything elaborate, but we really enjoyed it, and everything was really fresh, tasty and good quality. The parking can be a little tight, but due to the cliff side location, this is expected, and it's not that bad. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dan90638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    185
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
72
848
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

As a couple, We have been coming to this area for the last 20 years, plus I was stationed at Fort Ord 40 years ago so I am very familiar with the area and great places to stay. Our most recent favorite place has been Seven Gable in Pacific Grove. Look at the tripadvisor reviews-nice accommodations, view, location and delightful breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese.

Having driven by Tickle Pink, we decided to read tripadvisor and were impressed enough to make reservations. Our room reservation was for #33. The web site was not helpful in figuring out where this room or any other room was located in relation to direction, but again since I was intimately familiar with the area I asked for a southern "cove" view. Here is a hint- they do have an excellent map of the inn showing the complex and the diagram of the room locations. I recommend that you ask the staff to scan and email this to you before choosing your room to avoid any disappointment on room location. Rooms 30, 31,32,33,34 and 35 are the nicest most expense rooms with absolutely unobstructed views. Room 33, 34 and 35 are lower level and 30, 31 and 32 are upper level, but in my opinion the level makes no difference. Rooms 33 and 30 have fabulous cove views and bay view, 31 and 34 bay and cove view and 32 and 35 mostly bay view.

Our room and view were EXACTLY what we hoped for. No disappointment at all. One complete wall of floor to ceiling windows and wonderful deck. I can't imagine anyone being unhappy with the room and view.

Now for the disappointment and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. You will read the same comments from other tripadvisor reviews. Breakfast, for those that have stayed at great bed and breakfast places like Seven Gables in PG, is simply disappointing. I suspect the "kitchen" here consists of a microwave or warming device. We stayed 5 nights and had breakfast here 1 time. Another reviewer compared breakfast to business hotels like La Quinta, Holiday Inn Express, Comfort Inn, Courtyard, you know the type. That is exactly what you will get at Tickle Pink. Warmed up frozen pre-shaped sausage, tiny scrambled eggs shaped and sized like a Reese's peanut butter cup,cold cereal, bagels, some fruit and some pastries from a grocery store. So forewarned is forearmed. If that appeals to you and is ok with you when you are paying $400 more or less a night, then you will not be disappointed- we were. We looked at the breakfast offering the second day just to make sure that we weren't missing something then drove to Carmel for breakfast for the next 4 mornings.

The afternoon wine and cheese was uninspired also. They had the same wine, same label, Shiraz and Pinot, every day. They were good and am not complaining about the quality, but we were simply disappointed that they never changed the labels during our 5 day stay. The deck where you will have breakfast and afternoon wine is very, very nice.

In summary, we got exactly what we hoped for in the room and we extremely disappointed in breakfast and afternoon wine. We will return because of the room and location in the area, but will alternate our stays with Seven Gables.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank rocky1Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
While we are grateful that this guest did enjoy their accommodations, we are saddened that they did not appreciate our complimentary breakfast and evening food services.
Our dedicated staff works diligently to do their best in our modest kitchen; they bake every item fresh each morning and are proud of their efforts to provide breakfast foods that are well balanced and come with a personal touch. And while we do not offer a full breakfast, we vary it daily with selections that include a multitude of different breads, cereals, pastries, meats, proteins, juices, fresh fruits and various accompaniments and toppings. Our staff will even deliver the breakfast to your room, upon your request...at no extra charge.

Our afternoon wine and cheese reception is a welcoming time to relax with other guests on our comfortable Cliffside Deck or in our lounge (complete with a warming fireplace). And yes, it is true that we vary our wines only occasionally, but they always include a red and white wine of good quality...and most of our guests enjoy them. Complimenting these selections, we offer sparkling cider, several selections of hot tea, seven different cheeses, crackers, baguettes, olives, peperoncinis, cornichons, sweets, and fresh fruits.

We regret that we fell short and disappointed this guest, but we truly try to do our best to provide fresh foods of high quality. Typically, most of our guests quite love the selection and quality of what we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed here for one night on a 3 week trip around California. We had a very welcome greeting and our room was beautiful. The view was just amazing and I really could have sat on that balcony all day! The terrace area was lovely too, and we enjoyed the free cheese and wine in the evening very much. Breakfast was also good - quite basic, but that's what we like for breakfast anyway. I do think this hotel is a little overpriced, but with a vista that wonderful, I'd happily return.

Room Tip: We chose the slightly cheaper Cove view (rather than Ocean view) and still had a lovely view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I take advantage of the Tickle Pink's winter specials every year. The views are just spectacular; the rooms are so comfortable; the breakfasts and social hours are delightful. The staff makes you feel welcome. What's not to like? Best of all is the location: you are already on your way to Big Sur but you are close to Carmel and Monterey. It really is ideal.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the upper level. The reservationist can steer you the right way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stay here as an extended family--we had a room, a suite, and the Senator's Cottage. My sister and husband I were lucky enough to stay in the cottage. It was a wonderful experience. We had called ahead and alerted the staff to my down allergy, so they had our room hypo-allergenic and down-free when we checked in. The views from all the rooms were amazing, and we particularly enjoyed the private terrace that went with the cottage.

We loved that we were able to borrow binoculars from the front desk, and the staff were very accommodating with special requests and with helping us book dining and tourist reservations. We also especially appreciated breakfast on the terrace every morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueHorizon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Location, location, location and some very thoughtful details to make your romantic stay unforgettable! Breathtaking views of the ocean waves crashing on the cliffs from your very own spacious balcony. The VIP room was big with great fireplace, jet tub, wall to wall huge windows and the most impressive thing was the quality of the bed, linens and the BEST feather blanket. Parking was tight. for the very expensive price some furniture should be updated (like coffee table and night stands)

Room Tip: Be ready to drive to eat out. They do not have a restaurant in the walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 121Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed here on my first wedding anniversary. The views of the rocky coastline and ocean from my rooms private patio were incredible! If you are in the area with a significant other, this hotel is a must!

I loved the guest book in each room that lets you write about your stay and where you are from. It was a very unique, nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing