We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

This Inn was magnificent. My wife and I were overwhelmed by the view we had from our balcony. Withing 10 minutes of our arrival the staff delivered a bottle of champagne, chocolates, and a rose to welcome us to the Inn. There are a lot of complimentary items and perks included with our stay which was much appreciated. Overall the view, the staff, and the perks were great. The only downfall, which is minor, is the noises you hear from the guests next door to you. Like I said, it was minor, my wife and I will definately be back for another week. Thanks Tickle Pink for a dream vacation.

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — Thin walls and limited parking.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwcarlstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    183
    60
    27
    12
See reviews for
71
829
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london,england
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2008

Carmel is at the end of the Big Sur area with a stunning coast line and the Tickle Pink Inn sits on high ground over looking a beautiful rocky bay. The hotel owners have paid a lot of attention to detail with a wellcoming complementary bottle of sparking wine in your room on arrival to the high quality bed linen and bathroom toiletries. Each evening there is wine and cheese served between 16.30-18.30 enabling guests to meet and chat about there day All rooms have an ocean view and its an ideal hotel for a luxury adult break or a romantic weekend.
I would not recommend this hotel for a family with small children.

  • Liked — it's an up market small hotel
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clarkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

The Tickle Pink Inn is a fabulouse place to stay. We stopped off on our honeymoon for 2 nights and found it a great place to stay on our west coast trip of California. The room and bed was luxurious. The fizz on arrival was also a nice touch. You definately need a car to stay here, although the restaurant next door just down the road has a great restaurant if you fancy a glass of wine or 2! Carmel is a pretty little place to visit, the scenery is breathtaking, but not as great as the view outside the balcony of the Tickle Pink Inn,

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate.holdsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2008

This review is only for the Spa rooms. This room was fantastic for a romantic getaway. The view is incredible but the best part is that it is totally private. The room has about 25-30 ft of glass walls looking out over the ocean. There was absolutely no need to close the curtains since no one could look in. My wife and I spent much of time naked (and in the tub) with this great view. We only closed the curtains to keep the room dark. Even most of the outside deck was private. We later compared this room to the next-door Highlands Inn and were very grateful that we chose the Tickle Pink Inn. The Highlands Inn Spa room is on two levels, neither of which were private. In addition, the Highlands Inn was $300 more per night!

My (very minor) complaints (I am nitpicking here folks!):

I will admit the Tickle Pink Inn is not as modern as it could be and it could use a small microwave. It did have a nice flat panel TV and DVD player. The morning breakfast and the afternoon wine/cheese were nice, but could use some variety. The wireless connection was a bit tenuous from our room (#32). Still, we had a perfect 2nd honeymoon.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Lack of microwave
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caesarval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

The Tickle Pink Inn has an amazing wesite, and you think that you are getting something very special. You are not! Our room was run down and was showing wear-and-tear. There is no air conditioning. We hit a hot spell and ended up sleeping on the balcony. We checked out after one night and found a wonderful hotel in Carmel Valley. The Inn is really a motel that they have tried very hard to look like something special. For $350 a night(for the basic room), you can do much better.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — It was just a motel.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank teachme2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed at the Tickle PInk from June 15th through June 18th and were very impressd. The Inn is very relaxing from the minute you check in. We were greeted with champagne & chocolates that we consumed on our patio that evening. The breakfast is more than adequate with several hot entrees and freshly baked strudel and croisants every morning, your choice of cereals fresh fruit juices and coffee & tea. In the evening there is a wine & cheese with many types of cheeses crackers fruit and several types of local wines. The Inn is centrally located so that you may enjoy going south to Big Sur or north to Monterey Carmel Pacific Grove. All within driving distance and doable for a day trip. If we return to the area again we will definitely return to Tickle Pink Inn for some spoiling.

  • Liked — The view and the Food!
  • Disliked — No Gym
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ono ono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

We stayed at the Tickle Pink for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We reserved a Jacuzzi room and got room 34 which is one of the larger rooms and offers wonderful views of the ocean. The tickle pink is at the top of a small cliff like mountain. I really enjoyed this hotel for it’s serenity. The wine and cheese every day from 4:30 to 6 p.m. can be enjoyed on the outdoor patio while taking in the views. The wine selection and cheeses were very nice. The breakfast is a continental with a few hot items added and overall a very nice and peaceful atmosphere. It’s hard to not feel relaxed here!

I think the Tickle Pink is definitely worth a try but Carmel-by-the-Sea (about 5 minutes away) has wonderful Inns and B&B’s with more amenities. The downside at Tickle Pink is there is no restaurant and a very limited room service menu. The room service menu offers popcorn and wine and cheese..etc.. which they offer anyway from 4:30 to 6 in the lounge. Maybe not a problem for most but in our opinion it’s nice to know there’s the option of ordering a meal in your room. One other thing -there is many stairs to climb up and down to get to your room and not much help with your luggage so difficult dragging your bags. Not a huge deal but I think worth mentioning.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — limited room service menu-no restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing