We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Treat”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Anniversary Treat”
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Stayed at this hotel for one, all too brief, night on August 4th 2008. We were celebrating our Pearl Wedding Anniversary and went with our sister and brother in law who were celebrating their Silver Wedding. We had the Senator's Cottage situated just below the main hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The Cottage was well appointed with two excellent bedrooms and the shared bathroom was well stocked with good quality towels and complimentary toiletries.

We went to Roy's restaurant in Pebble Beach for our Anniversary meal (which was another wonderful experience) and, on our return to the room later that evening, found champagne and chocolates waiting for us. We enjoyed these in front of the log fire in the room while watching a dvd provided by the hotel.

It was a bit of a hike up several flights of steps to breakfast next morning but it was well worth it. There was a good choice of pastries and fruit which we enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the ocean.

Overall, a very good experience. We all felt that the hotel deserved the positive Trip Advisor reviews

  • Liked — The fantastic views
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mustgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    185
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
72
848
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

My husband and I just stayed at the Inn for a pre-baby arrival vacation. We stayed in room 10 which we were told had a cove view so we were pleasantly surprised that we can see the ocean very well from part of room and the balcony. We stayed on a higher floor so traffic noise mentioned by others was not an issue. Since it is an older, but upgraded and quaint property, the walls are a little thin but we had no issues with our neighbors.

We also liked the staff and service. Yes, it is a small hotel so you should not expect Four Seasons service. What it lacks for in big hotel chain it makes up for in charm and attentiveness. Since I was pregnant they offered to bring up cider instead of champagne. There was a nice fire going in the Terrace Boardroom when we went down for breakfast. The pastries are freshly baked. (They will bring up the breakfast to your room free of charge if you call them). On that early morning, the hotel provided a unique, refreshing and secluded experience which is what we sought.

For those wanting Hyatt or Westin or Four Seasons experience but with an ocean view, they should expect to pay more than the $500 (for ocean view) charged by Tickle Pink, whose rooms there start at $270 or so. Walking by the Hyatt's Highland Inn which actually is situated lower than Tickle Pink and therefore has more noise and less view, I was not impressed by Highland Inn's rooms or the overly high prices. Tickle Pink is not perfect but offers great value.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TwinMom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

After all the positive reviews here, perhaps my expectations were too high. We stayed in room #18 which had an ocean view for two nights and were disappointed. The room is in desperate need of being updated - paint, carpets, etc. The white socks I wore were black from the dirty floors by the time we left... yuk! While there are pretty views of the ocean, what is not clear from the website is that you are looking across PCH to see it... so, it's not like you are ocean side. There is no air conditioning, so you have to leave the patio door open to get any breeze. Unfortunately, it was cool in the evenings while we were there, so there were many wood burning fireplaces going which filled the room with wood smoke. So, we had a smoky room, listened to the traffic go by on PCH, and had a view that was on the other side of the highway. The breakfast was pretty limited - no variety, just the basics each morning. For the price we paid, I was expecting more, but instead, you are paying just for the view with a very low quality room.

  • Liked — The limited ocean view
  • Disliked — Dirty, outdated room.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank MplsTravelKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The good reviews this hotel gets are well-deserved. The views are amazing. The bottle of Spanish cava and the rose and chocolates delivered to the room upon arrival were a very romantic touch. And the wine and cheese reception every afternoon was very generously done. The only flaw, to enjoy the view from our room, you really wanted to be out on the balcony. Although large, it included only one very splintery/ rustic lounge and one chair and a small table. And the balcony for our room was not private, with only a partial divider half way up between our balcony and our neighbors'. Our neighbors could look directly into our room from their balcony. Make sure to get ALL of the details of your room before you book.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miller041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Very Nice Stay- World class views; the only two negatives are: No A/C units on property, even we are close to ocean, etc. We and another couple were using their table tops room fans to cool down; etc, and there is highway noise for Roue 1; we had to close sliding glass door at night to cut off the noise. Also no screen on glass door to keep the bugs out; I was told there are no bugs; etc,

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — No A/c and road noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WATCHFULEYESTODAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

This Inn was magnificent. My wife and I were overwhelmed by the view we had from our balcony. Withing 10 minutes of our arrival the staff delivered a bottle of champagne, chocolates, and a rose to welcome us to the Inn. There are a lot of complimentary items and perks included with our stay which was much appreciated. Overall the view, the staff, and the perks were great. The only downfall, which is minor, is the noises you hear from the guests next door to you. Like I said, it was minor, my wife and I will definately be back for another week. Thanks Tickle Pink for a dream vacation.

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — Thin walls and limited parking.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwcarlstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,england
Level Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Carmel is at the end of the Big Sur area with a stunning coast line and the Tickle Pink Inn sits on high ground over looking a beautiful rocky bay. The hotel owners have paid a lot of attention to detail with a wellcoming complementary bottle of sparking wine in your room on arrival to the high quality bed linen and bathroom toiletries. Each evening there is wine and cheese served between 16.30-18.30 enabling guests to meet and chat about there day All rooms have an ocean view and its an ideal hotel for a luxury adult break or a romantic weekend.
I would not recommend this hotel for a family with small children.

  • Liked — it's an up market small hotel
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clarkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing