We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets all expectations”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This Inn was recommended to me by someone who stayed here on their honeymoon close to 40 years ago. I checked it out online and determined that the next time we traveled through California I would put it on our itinerary. This is our first stay in Carmel and we can see that there are many attractive accommodation choices, but we are very pleased with our selection. We arrived after dark on our first night. The next morning we awoke to a magnificent view. I should point out that we are staying in their least expensive room. The room is very well appointed. We have stayed in top hotels the world over and this definitely stands among them. I don't know why anyone would stay in a chain hotel when there are lovely personable Inns like this available. Their extended continental breakfast is phenomenal. We were also here for their wine and cheese tasting yesterday. We do not drink alcohol, so we were pleased to see that sparkling cranberry and apple juice was available. The room where this and breakfast are served is comfortably and beautifully decorated. There was a fire in the fireplace. This is heaven! After breakfast yesterday morning I asked the front desk if they could help with a dinner reservation. They were very happy to do this. We planned to spend most of the day out and about. Several hours later my husband's mobile phone rang. It was the person from the Inn calling to tell us that they had made the reservation and giving us the name of the restaurant. What makes this so remarkable to us is that they had to call an overseas mobile number. The bed in our room is better than what we have at home. The room has good lighting, a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, a desk, two comfortable chairs, and a large balcony with low reclining wood chairs. The closet is big and there are lots of hangers. The bathroom is up-to-date and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisterandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to partake in, and enjoy, all the extra amenities that we offer. The sparkling cider is one of my favorites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

499 - 505 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed at TPI for three nights between Christmas and New Years 2013. Our room was on the top floor with no fire place (at our request). TPI is right next door to the Hyatt highlands Inn. The location is spectacular. We were able to use our balcony extensively because or record high temperatures in the area. The balcony chairs are very comfortable indeed. Don't miss the nightly wine and cheese in the lounge. The snacks are very good and the occasion draws interesting and friendly patrons. Breakfast is also a highlight. If weather permits, have it delivered to your room and enjoy on the balcony. Room service is limited but adequate and the wine prices are very fair. There were a few items that needed attention. The sink drain ran VERY slowly and the faucet leaked. There were some holes in the sheets and the bed spread had been mended. These are really not acceptable for a hotel at these prices.

Make a point to have lunch at California Market at Carmel Highlands ( next door to TPI)

We look forward to returning to enjoy TPI again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank seatinthebalcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the beautiful weather we have been having. Thank you for pointing out the problems that you had regarding the room. We assure you that this is not typical, and we have taken the appropriate actions to remedy the situation.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We, my ex husband, stayed at the tickle pink on October 25, 1981. The first night of our honeymoon was spent at the SF Hyatt and it was no comparison. The tickle pink was magnifisant. It was second choice to the Highlands Inn, but was certainly the best view of serenity and romance. I later found two framed wall pictures of the cypress trees swaying ovet the black rocks with the splashing waves of the ocean. I cherish these memories and still attain the frames.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flieslikeabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

It was very nice of you to take the time to write this review, considering the time that has passed since you have stayed with us. Hopefully you can come back soon to see the many positive changes and added amenities that have taken place at the Inn over the years. The natural beauty of the area is still the same...Beautiful!
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Tickle Pink Inn is by far the best romantic getaway. We came here to celebrate our late anniversary. We were impressed by the breathtaking cove view, private balcony, courteous staff, and the enjoyment of complimentary wine and cheese served while whisk away by the sunset of the ocean. We visited this weekend the weather is just perfect. Having the delicious breakfast on our balcony and while admiring the sunrise from our balcony is beyond our expectation. Every step you take on this premise is surrounded by magnificent ocean views, beautiful landscape that's well kept and the tuscany charm it exhibits. We were so grateful to be able to enjoy the ocean view from our bed while listening to the wave crashing against the rocks and hearing the seagulls chirp. We will definitely return again. Thank you Tickle Pink for making this visit such a memorable experience. We couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: love room #10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. Hopefully you will be able to come back soon and have just as
memorable of an experience as the first time. Room #10 is a favorite for many people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My husband knows that I love the Tickle Pink Inn and he surprised me with a get away here for my birthday. From the minute you arrive you're doing a mental "ahhh" as your body starts to relax and let go. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was perfect.

If the cookies at check in don't get you or the champagne and chocolates while you're taking in the view from your room will. Not enough, enjoy the sunset while enjoying the daily complimentary wine and cheese offering. Honestly, The staff is friendly, professional and responsive to your needs. Tickle Pink is everything they advertise and more, trust me I am VERY picky.

This is a special place that delivers on all points and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2marcopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

So glad you were able to get away for your birthday and partake in the wine and cheese reception (and the other amenities as well). It is a nice way to unwind , relax and get to know some of the other guests. Here is to many more happy birthdays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We recently did the PCH and stopped at this hotel. In making reservations, the staff was exceptionally friendly. We were put in room 34 which overlooks the bay just south of Carmel. There is a large balcony and the view is gorgeous. Also, the room is long with picture windows to take advantage of the view. However, the room is like a Hilton. There is a heavy old time steel entry door. It is one large room. There is a fireplace with a firelog instead of real wood. The living area is pleasantly decorated but the couch is uncomfortable and cheaply covered. There is a flat screen tv and an ipod docking station. The front desk has some dvd's. There is a small desk and small closet. The bed and pillows were comfortable. For some reason they put a jacuzzi in the middle of the room. The bathroom glass shower was nicely done. Apparantly the room is taken by many honeymooners- it is definitely Pocono kitschy if that is your thing. The hotel is partially under construction. There was a small room for a minor continental buffet breakfast but the items were definitely store bought. You can walk next door to the Hyatt for restaurant meals and the hotels are so close to one another it is no big deal. If upscale is your thing, I would not stay here. If you love views and don't mind kitsch, it is okay.

Room Tip: It is only worth staying here if you have a nice view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank cbreezedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

While we are happy that this guest enjoyed many aspects of our property, such as the views and our friendly staff, we are saddened that some were not to their liking. The rooms were recently renovated and appointed by a local designer and most of our guests seem to like the style and enjoy the accouterments provided in them. The breakfast items are in fact baked on-site, except for the specialty bread loaves that are delivered from a local bakery. We are hopeful that this guest might consider staying with us again, and perhaps choose a different type of room that is more to their liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

What a wonderful find in the Carmel Highlands, just south of Carmel-by-the-Sea and overlooking the sea near Point Lobos. The staff could not have been more welcoming, and they had Cava and chocolates in our room upon arrival. We enjoyed wine and cheese at sunset with other guests. Breakfast was ample. Our room was spacious, well-appointed, and clean. I would have given the sleep quality a five rating, but we could hear a bit of noise from Highway 1, certainly nothing to worry about. Truly loved the views and the sunsets. Will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
902 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
595 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
622 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £175 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing