We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful get away for a romantic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful get away for a romantic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked the Tickle Pink Inn for 1 night before Christmas for 2 families. The location is breathtaking, a wonderful view over the ocean! We had the cheese and wine reception on the terrace and sipped our wine enjoying the excepcional view. Sitting on the terrace is very romantic with great scenery. The rooms were cozy and with a chimnea. One night was just not enough to enjoy the hotel and surrounding to the fullest! The next morning we ordered a breakfast in the suite we had booked and it was delivered without extra cost at the time we wanted it, fresh fruits, pastry, hot chocolate and coffee etc., it was more than enough!
The suite was just amazing in space and cozyness, big bathroom, big fluffy beds and a nice chimnea with a great view.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites, it's definitely worth it considering the extra space and the great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
There is definitely plenty to see in the area. We are glad you chose to spend part of your family vacation with us. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    184
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
71
839
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We travelled from Scotland to California for my wifes 50th birthday. We did not have a good start as the airline lost my bag ending up in a trip to the airport to collect the following day this upset our plans to arrive in Carmel and take our time to look at hotels to stay ..... along the way we also got lost and did not arrive until 10pm. We ended up phoning Tickle Pink which was our first choice and George saved the day booking us into a sea view room (no 2). He was pleasant and courteous and arranged for a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates to be delivered to the room we had missed dinner however we ordered room service which was excellent. In the morning my wife opened her cards and we had the most wonderful breakfast you have to experience it for yourself words cannot describe we have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world but this breakfast beats them all. Thank you everyone at Tickle Pink for a wonderful experience and to George for your assistance and thoughtfulness thankfully the trip improved from this point and we had a wonderful time in California .... why did we leave it so long.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
After what sounds like a hectic start to your vacation, I am glad we were able to accommodate you. I hope you were relaxed and rejuvenated after your stay so you could continue on your journey. Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Having driven from LA to Tickle Pink Inn, we arrived just before sunset. We were pleasantly surprised when the reception staff gave us a warm welcome and invited our group of 7 to watch the sunset with champagne.

We booked 3 units, and 2 of which was interconnecting rooms. (Suite #14 interconnected with Room #12) . All the rooms are very beautifully furnished, and a balcony facing the Pacific Ocean. Simply awesome.

This Inn does not have a restaurant within their premises, but they have turn it to become an advantage for them. 1st, we were informed that we can dine at the next hotel, or drive to Carmel, or we can order for delivery to our rooms. We had pastas and pizzas delivered, where the reception made the delivery order for us. Breakfast was served in our suite, and we had a heartening and sumptuous breakfast. It also gave a bottle of champagne and a bottle of sparkling juice for this children as complementary.

I would recommend the suite as it has a big hall for great conversation and enjoyment of the ambience!

Though the rate in Tickle Pink Inn is much higher as compare to those hotels in Carmel, it is very value for money. The scenery from the room/ balcony, to the ambience of the room, and the great breakfast, and last but not the least, the superb service from the staff rendered gave us a wonderful experience and beautiful moments as well.

Simply Awesome, Simple the Best!

Room Tip: Get a Suite with interconnecting room if you have children with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-SCH-World-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It is difficult to get away with the family sometimes. We are glad you found us and were able to enjoy the Inn and the surrounding area together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This Inn was recommended to me by someone who stayed here on their honeymoon close to 40 years ago. I checked it out online and determined that the next time we traveled through California I would put it on our itinerary. This is our first stay in Carmel and we can see that there are many attractive accommodation choices, but we are very pleased with our selection. We arrived after dark on our first night. The next morning we awoke to a magnificent view. I should point out that we are staying in their least expensive room. The room is very well appointed. We have stayed in top hotels the world over and this definitely stands among them. I don't know why anyone would stay in a chain hotel when there are lovely personable Inns like this available. Their extended continental breakfast is phenomenal. We were also here for their wine and cheese tasting yesterday. We do not drink alcohol, so we were pleased to see that sparkling cranberry and apple juice was available. The room where this and breakfast are served is comfortably and beautifully decorated. There was a fire in the fireplace. This is heaven! After breakfast yesterday morning I asked the front desk if they could help with a dinner reservation. They were very happy to do this. We planned to spend most of the day out and about. Several hours later my husband's mobile phone rang. It was the person from the Inn calling to tell us that they had made the reservation and giving us the name of the restaurant. What makes this so remarkable to us is that they had to call an overseas mobile number. The bed in our room is better than what we have at home. The room has good lighting, a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, a desk, two comfortable chairs, and a large balcony with low reclining wood chairs. The closet is big and there are lots of hangers. The bathroom is up-to-date and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sisterandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to partake in, and enjoy, all the extra amenities that we offer. The sparkling cider is one of my favorites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at TPI for three nights between Christmas and New Years 2013. Our room was on the top floor with no fire place (at our request). TPI is right next door to the Hyatt highlands Inn. The location is spectacular. We were able to use our balcony extensively because or record high temperatures in the area. The balcony chairs are very comfortable indeed. Don't miss the nightly wine and cheese in the lounge. The snacks are very good and the occasion draws interesting and friendly patrons. Breakfast is also a highlight. If weather permits, have it delivered to your room and enjoy on the balcony. Room service is limited but adequate and the wine prices are very fair. There were a few items that needed attention. The sink drain ran VERY slowly and the faucet leaked. There were some holes in the sheets and the bed spread had been mended. These are really not acceptable for a hotel at these prices.

Make a point to have lunch at California Market at Carmel Highlands ( next door to TPI)

We look forward to returning to enjoy TPI again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seatinthebalcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the beautiful weather we have been having. Thank you for pointing out the problems that you had regarding the room. We assure you that this is not typical, and we have taken the appropriate actions to remedy the situation.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We, my ex husband, stayed at the tickle pink on October 25, 1981. The first night of our honeymoon was spent at the SF Hyatt and it was no comparison. The tickle pink was magnifisant. It was second choice to the Highlands Inn, but was certainly the best view of serenity and romance. I later found two framed wall pictures of the cypress trees swaying ovet the black rocks with the splashing waves of the ocean. I cherish these memories and still attain the frames.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flieslikeabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
It was very nice of you to take the time to write this review, considering the time that has passed since you have stayed with us. Hopefully you can come back soon to see the many positive changes and added amenities that have taken place at the Inn over the years. The natural beauty of the area is still the same...Beautiful!
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Tickle Pink Inn is by far the best romantic getaway. We came here to celebrate our late anniversary. We were impressed by the breathtaking cove view, private balcony, courteous staff, and the enjoyment of complimentary wine and cheese served while whisk away by the sunset of the ocean. We visited this weekend the weather is just perfect. Having the delicious breakfast on our balcony and while admiring the sunrise from our balcony is beyond our expectation. Every step you take on this premise is surrounded by magnificent ocean views, beautiful landscape that's well kept and the tuscany charm it exhibits. We were so grateful to be able to enjoy the ocean view from our bed while listening to the wave crashing against the rocks and hearing the seagulls chirp. We will definitely return again. Thank you Tickle Pink for making this visit such a memorable experience. We couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: love room #10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Hopefully you will be able to come back soon and have just as
memorable of an experience as the first time. Room #10 is a favorite for many people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing