We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 26 September 2008

This is by far the most romantic setting we have visited. We booked #33 with a fabulous view, wonderful deck overlooking the cliffs, ocean and stunning sunset. The room had a jacuzzi tub in the suite with an unrestricted view overlooking the coastline. The bathroom was gorgeous, the room large and very comfortable. In keeping with the romantic atmosphere, we elected to eat in - champagne and chocolates were delivered to augment our brought in feast. They will also deliver continental breakfast. Freshly ground Starbucks coffee. It is no wonder that it is a favorite for newlyweds and anniversery celebrations (although it has been 47 years since we were newlyweds, we still are romantics).

  • Liked — View, privacy
  • Disliked — two flights of stairs to reach this room, although there are rooms with no stairs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deaconzeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    187
    61
    28
    12
See reviews for
74
862
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Our experience at the Tickle Pink was mixed so I understand the range of opinions expressed in the posted reviews. My husband and I appreciated some of the Inn's special touches including a complimentary bottle of champagne at the beginning of our stay. The ocean views are fantastic, however the room itself was small and I think the walls in the hotel are thin because we did hear a lot of noise from above in the early mornings. I agree with the reviews that indicate the hotel is a dressed up motel. The ownership has done a nice job updating the exterior, but the bathroom in our room (I believe it was #24) could use some attention. A deep soaking tub is fun and romantic, but a shower would also be useful.

We found the breakfast buffet to offer a good variety - nothing particularly special, but good. The patio where you eat breakfast and where, I believe, the hotel provides wine and cheese in the afternoons, offers more of the same great views and features heaters - very nice on cool mornings.

Overall, we enjoyed Tickle Pink for the two nights we stayed in Carmel, but I would not recommend it for a much longer visit. I would recommend requesting a room on the top floor or in the few rooms separated from the main building as I think these rooms are likely less affected by noise and offer better views than our room. From Room 24, you see the roof of the separate building and then the ocean beyond it. You may want to avoid the terrace rooms, including 24, as they are on the same level as the dining area and may be even noisier as a result.

Also, please note that there are not many spaces from which to enjoy the view. You'll have the seating area on the balcony outside your room. There is an outdoor hot tub, but the area where it is situated is small and is the only common outdoor area at the Inn other than the dining area. There is no pool.

  • Liked — Champagne, views
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ihatelayover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

This place is so absolutely fabulous. It is truly a little slice of heaven as you sit on your porch perched on top of a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Our room (the crow's nest #28) was very comfortable, updated, and very romantic with a fireplace and hearth as well as a sitting area and two flat screen tv's. We had dinner reservations in Carmel that night but could not bring ourselves to leave the inn. The wine and cheese party was lovely and the staff brought us a lovely bottle of champagne to drink while watching the sunset. The views are outstanding! We ordered a delicious carry-out meal from the neighboring restaurant, built a fire in the fireplace, and borrowed a movie from the front desk. The linens are superb as well. We really wished we could have stayed longer but it was the last night of our California stay and truly a highlight of our trip. Please treat yourself and visit the Tickle Pink Inn.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank defran29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Summary of our stay at tickle pink inn:

- a lot of noise comes from the terrace at the end of afternoon
- the hotel is very far from Carmel city center (restaurants)
- get up at 7:30 because the room was extremely noisy
- the breakfast wasn't good
- when we check out, we spoke about the noise and the receptionist said "OK sorry, have a good day"

We spent 15 days in California, it was the most expensive hotel and the worst!

The view on the Pacific Ocean is the only good point of our stay at tickle pink inn.

  • Liked — The Pacific Ocean view
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Alexandre35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I picked the TPI based on the good reviews I read on Trip Advisor. We had a great time and really enjoyed this property. The comments about highway noise surprise me because we left our door open whenever we were in the room and I never heard highway noise. Yes, the ocean is across the highway, but we could not see the highway from our ocean view room - just lots of lush trees and then the ocean. And you could hear the ocean all the time - lovely. The property is old, but our room was in good condition - new carpet, great linens on the bed etc. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. Nice amenities include a large dvd library (no charge, check them out at the desk), a bottle of champagne and some chocolates in our room the first night when we returned from dinner, fresh ground Starbucks coffee in the room, so you could make your own, a nice wine and cheese bar every afternoon, and a decent breakfast each morning. Yes, it's a little pricey, but hey folks this is Carmel - any nice place here is going to be expensive. I heartily recommend Tickle Pink based on our experience there in Aug 2008.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cateyesinthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

The Tickle Pink Inn was our last location of our two week holiday in California. We stayed in room 17 and had a lovely view from our balcony. The room and bathroom was spotlessly clean, the staff friendly and welcoming.

The only negative comment we have is that ordering breakfast over the telephone was a little difficult as we had problems in understanding the kitchen staff, however we just had everything on offer on the breakfast menu and left what we did not require.
The extra touch on arrival of sparkling wine, chocolates and a rose was lovely.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — The room guest book
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

This is a great place! We toured the California Coast and SF region...this is by far the best placed we stayed. If you are looking for overwhelming luxury, this is not the place. It is, however, super clean with an amazing view. Simply sitting on the balcony overlooking the waves crashing was enough. Nice free wine and appetizer hours and great service top it off. We considered staying in Carmel. Do NOT make that mistake. A 5-10 minute drive and you can enjoy all Carmel has to offer.

Don't be discouraged by the name....this is a quality place with a view that you will remember forever!

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank expertreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing