We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tickle Pink”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed in an Ocean View suite (room 34) and it was just wonderful. The room was very large with a sitting area and woodburning stove. The balcolny was large with fantastic views over the ocean. The room was clean and fully equiped.

Carmel is a lovely town, very quaint with lots of shops and galleries and plenty of restaurants.

A drive down to the Big Sur is a must, the scenery is spectacular.

Tickle Pink Inn is a lovely hotel and a great base for exploring the surrounding areas. we will definately stay there again the next time we visit Carmel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane5600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2008

$395.76 got us 1 night in Room 8 (we could not stand another night).
The hotel advertises rooms with views of the Pacific, log fires, jacuzzis etc.
What we got (for our $395.76) when we arrived at room 8 was a pile of the hotels dirty laundry that made getting through the door a challenge, a room that was bijou in size, a view of a 'cove', armchairs that faced away from the TV (and we couldn't move them), and little sign of much else.
$395.76 did get you the 'champagne' in a bucket. This turned out to be cava, and sickly sweet, flat, and with an aftertaste that reminded you of vegetables you were forced to eat as a child. We poured it down the wc.
$395.76 does however, get you a level of intimacy with your neighbours to either side, and spectacularly, in the room above. We can tell you their taste in music and tv, and for the room above exactly during the night when they made use of the facilties (and what they did!).
$395.76 does not appear to include ear plugs (perhaps this could be reviewed by management?), so it would be wise to take your own.
After a sleepless (and endless) night I asked reception if I could speak to the Manager (this was about 7.30am). I was told he would not be in until 10am, and when I asked to speak on his mobile was told this was not possible, I was also told a room change was not possible.
I was also told that in the circumstances the charge for taxes would be waived - comes as little surprise to discover they have been charged to my CC.
So, after a memorable 15 hour ($26.38 per hour!) stay we headed back in to Carmel where we found a great hotel - much nicer room, great people and much less cost. (It's the Homestead).
Our travel tip? When on Route 1 and you see the sign for the Tickle Pink - drive on! There's much better value in Carmel than this pretentious establishment.
Before writing this review I tried faxing the manager for his comments - the fax did not work, so I emailed him - still awaiting a response.
We stayed in a total of 8 hotels during our trip - all were vastly superior to the Tickle Pink.
D&M, Windsor, UK

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank DavidK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtoff, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2008

We are very sorry that this guest did not find anything positive to say about his experience with us. Regretfully, management only became fully aware of this situation upon the receipt of an email from the guest on October 27. A response was immediately sent out, but as of yet, we have not received a reply. It is our policy that, on a daily basis, whether the manager is on site or not, he is made available (by cell phone if need be) to all guests and for whatever reason. It is disappointing for us to learn that this guest experienced something different from our standard policy. We have since provided him with an appropriately generous discount in consideration of the hardships he endured.

Addressing these hardships, it was unfortunate that a laundry cart was inadvertently left near the entrance of his room during the time of his arrival. We have taken the appropriate steps to prevent this occurrence from happening again. It is equally unfortunate that he did not enjoy our complimentary bottle of sparkling wine (and chocolate truffles), as the great majority of our guests enjoy both its consistent body and flavor. While noise is a common complaint for many hotels, we make every effort to control and alleviate any disturbance when notified. Our resident night manager is also available after closing hours to respond to any complaints.

We apologize for the disappointing experience of this guest, and we would certainly hope that future potential Tickle Pink Inn visitors will take into consideration the overwhelming number of positive reviews and experiences shared by other previous guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

My wife and I stayed there for a week on our honeymoon and absolutely LOVED it! We were in room 4, which had a fireplace and a beautiful view from the patio. We had daily visits from the seagulls, enjoyed the complimentary wine & cheese (there was a wonderful Pinot Grigio from Chateau Julien), and made a point of exploring the area. Simply amazing. We'll go back for an anniversary for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottb211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed for one night over the 4th July weekend,we got the last room,which had a 'partial' ocean view.
The setting is wonderful with beautiful views over the sea.
Our room was lovely and the bed superb.
Lovely fresh coffee making equipment.
We went for complimentary cheese and wine and met some very interesting people.Then we were brought an iced bottle of sparkling pink cava and a fresh rose.............what a nice touch!
Dinner was in the hotel next door (they booked it for us),and was lovely.
In the morning we sat in the jaccuzi before a delicious breakfast and then set off on the rest of our 2 week tour of California.
We chose the hotel (or B&B) as it's called ,from previous recommendations on tripadvisor and my thanks to all those people.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsnBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We stayed at the Tickle Pink Inn from 23 to 26 September. We had the very last room available - a suite. This was spacious but a bit bland in soft furnishings and decor. Nearly everything (cushions, bed quilt, couch) was olive green (including the sunken bath) or brown! Having stayed at quite a few modern "designer" hotels, we liked the charm of Tickle Pink, but felt an injection of colour in the decor was required and the brown carpet did not give me that luxurious feel! I now rather dislike gold taps and shower cubicles, and my taste would lean towards updating to limestone and modern frameless showers and chrome taps. Any bath that is not white now seems very dated!
The views from our balcony were amazing and although there was some noise from the road, this was more than compensated for by what we could see.
Breakfast, however, was a problem. It is served in a small space in the corner of the lounge and it is too small an area for the number of guests wishing to use it, hence people are jostling for the toaster, coffee, pastries and muffins. I was disappointed by the pastries and the hot dish was rather unappetizing - it was the same every day. Fresh fruit salads and an improved choice of cereals would be appreciated.
Having said all of this, we enjoyed our stay here. The reception staff were helpful and everything worked as it should. The beds are large and comfortable, and judging by the size of the standard rooms, a suite is worth the extra money. It is just that the "interior decorator" in me came to the fore!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BindiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

This is by far the most romantic setting we have visited. We booked #33 with a fabulous view, wonderful deck overlooking the cliffs, ocean and stunning sunset. The room had a jacuzzi tub in the suite with an unrestricted view overlooking the coastline. The bathroom was gorgeous, the room large and very comfortable. In keeping with the romantic atmosphere, we elected to eat in - champagne and chocolates were delivered to augment our brought in feast. They will also deliver continental breakfast. Freshly ground Starbucks coffee. It is no wonder that it is a favorite for newlyweds and anniversery celebrations (although it has been 47 years since we were newlyweds, we still are romantics).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deaconzeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Our experience at the Tickle Pink was mixed so I understand the range of opinions expressed in the posted reviews. My husband and I appreciated some of the Inn's special touches including a complimentary bottle of champagne at the beginning of our stay. The ocean views are fantastic, however the room itself was small and I think the walls in the hotel are thin because we did hear a lot of noise from above in the early mornings. I agree with the reviews that indicate the hotel is a dressed up motel. The ownership has done a nice job updating the exterior, but the bathroom in our room (I believe it was #24) could use some attention. A deep soaking tub is fun and romantic, but a shower would also be useful.

We found the breakfast buffet to offer a good variety - nothing particularly special, but good. The patio where you eat breakfast and where, I believe, the hotel provides wine and cheese in the afternoons, offers more of the same great views and features heaters - very nice on cool mornings.

Overall, we enjoyed Tickle Pink for the two nights we stayed in Carmel, but I would not recommend it for a much longer visit. I would recommend requesting a room on the top floor or in the few rooms separated from the main building as I think these rooms are likely less affected by noise and offer better views than our room. From Room 24, you see the roof of the separate building and then the ocean beyond it. You may want to avoid the terrace rooms, including 24, as they are on the same level as the dining area and may be even noisier as a result.

Also, please note that there are not many spaces from which to enjoy the view. You'll have the seating area on the balcony outside your room. There is an outdoor hot tub, but the area where it is situated is small and is the only common outdoor area at the Inn other than the dining area. There is no pool.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ihatelayover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
917 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
626 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
722 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#22 of 25 in Carmel
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £168 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing