We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in California”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in California”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Tickle Pink Inn was a three-night stop along our two week honeymoon traveling California. We enjoyed our stay. The location of the Inn is impressive, the views from every hotel room are breathtaking and the wine reception/breakfast area provides 360 degree, panoramic views of The Pacific. The room was spacious and very well kept.
The staff were inviting and helpful. As we arrived to the Inn we were greeted with a bottle champagne!
The Inn is about a 5 minute drive from Carmel by the Sea.
This Inn is located in a very affluent area, however I feel a bit over priced. The room did not have air conditioning which was a bit uncomfortable in the evenings. Carmel by the Sea itself is a quiet town that does not have much nightlife after 10pm. (worth noting) we were unaware of this when booking. Watch out for the cheeky seagulls if dining on your balcony!!!
All in all a very impressive Inn and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. Please think of us when planning an anniversary trip. Hope to see you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    188
    62
    28
    12
See reviews for
77
873
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the lobby and smelled home baked cookies and then walked into our room and saw the balcony overlooking the Pacific, we knew we were in a piece of paradise. We borrowed binoculars to watch all the whales passing by, enjoyed wonderful cheese assortment with great wines while visiting with other guests in the afternoon, were surprised by the delivery of champagne because they heard we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. There was no detail that the staff had not thought of. This place is just fantastic and I am so happy we were able to get a reservation!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ohsouthernlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
The whales have been putting on quite a show as of late. I am happy you enjoyed your special anniversary celebration with us. Hope to see you for many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Tickled Pink is a very special place where the innkeepers treat you as if you were guests in their home. The rooms are extremely cozy and comfortable. The views of the sea are simply astounding. We had plans to go out to dinner but instead luxuriated in the room with a call to room service for a most enjoyable dinner. In a world with lots of hyped overpriced hotels, the Tickled Pink offers extreme comfort and super value. Bravo.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acl1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Mission accomplished! So glad you relaxed and enjoyed. Come see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

From the moment you arrive here you are made to feel special, like you are the only guests here. We checked in with ease and it was a nice touch to have freshly baked cookies! All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Our room was 31 a beautiful King room with a fireplace, whirlpool bath, fantastic terrace with amazing views. We were still looking around the room when complimentary Champange and chocolates were delivered!

Robes and Slippers are provided - great for going to the hot tub just a few steps away.
Complimentary Wine & Cheese reception everyday was lovely. Breakfast is included - a good selection to suit everyone. Free Wifi and Free Parking.

We asked when checking in for recommendations for eating out, they have a very large file of nearly all menus in Carmel and surrounding areas in reception for you to look at. the Hotel does not have a restaurant on site, however does offer room service from the restaurant located at the hotel next door.

We chose to walk to the Hotel next door at eat there for dinner the first night. Lovely atmosphere and lovely food.

The second night we were recommended to go to Misson Ranch in Carmel - Clint Eastwoods Restaurant. Lovely again.

Everything was perfect, more than expected and would without doubt stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 31 fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ad4nad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion. We hope to see you for many more anniversary trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent our two year anniversary at the Tickle Pink Inn. I found it online and the pictures looked beautiful which is often deceiving, but not in this case. They allowed us an early check in and gave us a beautiful room w/a gorgeous view. We had our own patio and a big tub with jacuzzi jets AND a real woodburning fireplace. They surprised us w/a bottle of champagne and chocolates for our anniversary. The wine and cheese served in the afternoon exceeded expectations. The buffet breakfast is stocked with tasty food and a beautiful location, the same as the wine and cheese happy hour. We look forward to going back many more times. The only regret is that we stayed only one night! It really is a special place and we were treated like we were special. The price was reasonable for what we received. I would have expected to pay much more for all we got. No nickel and diming either, an overall fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the room w/a private patio and a view. You pay a little more but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am so glad we met and exceeded your expectations! We hope to see you for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were looking for something different and unique for our 20th anniversary weekend away, and I was really hesitant to steer away from the national chain type hotels. We read the reviews and decided to take the leap. I am so glad that we did!
We arrived on a Friday afternoon. The check in staff was helping another guest, so we were invited to the wine and cheese event on the back deck. When we turned the corner and found the view, we knew we made the right choice. Check in was so easy. And the rooms work with actual keys!
We splurged on the room, and I am so happy that we did. Our view was stunning. Previous reviews complained about the road noise. Yes, you could hear cars pass below, but you could also hear the ocean, so to me it was a win. The view in every direction was amazing, even with some cloud cover.
As far as the room, it definitely had everything we could need - small fridge, microwave, fireplace (used it simply because we could), huge bathroom, bathtub and a really really comfortable bed. Waking up and seeing That View was the greatest.
Breakfast was perfect for us. There was enough to eat before heading out on our day, and the staff was so helpful and attentive.
The only semi complaint is that we went to the concierge on Saturday afternoon to ask about the need for dinner reservations in Monterrey. The woman on staff was not all that helpful. We asked for recommendations and she didn't have anything much to offer. We found a place to eat and were able to walk up and get a table, but for a place that it all about the personal touch, we lost it on that one. But that was one person, once over the course of a weekend, so it didn't rock our world.
Check out was just as pleasant as check in.... the staff was truly lovely and we pulled away feeling great about our choice.
Three weeks later, it feels like the trip was forever ago, but it was a fabulous weekend and a really great experience. I'm glad we took the risk and stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary trip! I am disheartened to hear of your interaction with our Concierge and will certainly ascertain and rectify the situation. I do appreciate your input.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

From the moment you arrive here it just feels special. The views just set the scene and give it that special feeling. We had room 31 a room with a whirlpool bath , private terrace and the best views you will probably ever encounter. The room felt homely whilst still being special. From everywhere in the room the view was breathtaking. Breakfast was also very good and the views from the terrace are just as amazing as from the room. Perfect romantic location. Worth the money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krysty P, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
One of the best compliments we can receive is when guests say that we made them
" feel at home". We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing