We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were tickled pink!”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“We were tickled pink!”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed one night in Carmel driving from SF down Big Sur. Loved the TPI! Bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in - beautiful view & private room (Crow's Nest).

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    185
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
72
858
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The good: Beautiful location & great view; comfortable bed and linens; large soaking tub and marble bath; nice bath amenities; very clean; warm cookies, champagne and chocolates on arrival; large closet for suitcases and clothes; beautiful terrace for watching the sunset with good wine, cheese and friends!

The bad: the water in the bathroom smelled and tasted bad; the champagne was a nice touch but unfortunately, unlike the wine served at evening reception, it was the worst we'd ever drank - we're not wine snobs and didn't expect Dom Perignon, but for the price we paid for the room, a couple of steps up the quality ladder would have made a better impression; the first morning we asked for breakfast to be delivered to our room and it was not as ordered (thereafter we decided to eat on the terrace); breakfast is the exact same offering every morning - fine if you're staying one night but gets old if you're there several days - it was good but nothing outstanding - about what you'd get at an Embassy Suites; there's no a/c so we had to leave the balcony door open to keep from getting hot - imagine the lack of privacy when you have neighbors on their balconies!!!; with regard to the balconies themselves, they offer very little privacy - just a small piece of see-through lattice that only extends part-way down the side - we could plainly see and hear our neighbors (even at 1 am!); we tried to print boarding passes the day before our departure - first we had to wait about 10 min in the office for someone to get the key to open the Board Room for us - once there, we tried to print and the printer was out of ink (another guest had the same problem the day before and it was still left unaddressed when we got there) - we waited for the staff to go and look for a printer cartridge but none was to be found (no replacement cartridges in stock?) - finally we returned to the office where we had to wait again before finally being offered a computer station that worked - frustrating and time consuming!

This lack of service at every turn left us scratching our heads at the other reviews of good service - if it had been an isolated incident, we'd have looked the other way. To be fair, there were times that we got adequate service (though never outstanding), but too many times it was less than adequate. As for the price, we weren't initially bothered by it or we wouldn't have stayed to begin with, but at this price point, we definitely expected better privacy, service and quality. Tickle Pink would be a WONDERFUL place at $100 less per night, but at the current rate it is by no means worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Websurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at Tickle Pink based on tripadvisor recommendations of it being the top hotel in Carmel. We both liked it a lot, but I expected a little more for the price and tripadvisor rating. Upon arriving, we did receive complimentary champagne and chocolates which was nice.

My only complaints: 1) It was very hot in the room and I tried to cool it down by turning on the AC. That didn't work, it only pumped out hotter air. We opened the windows and turned on a fan and quickly cooled down. 2) Privacy - We were on the first floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the terrace where everyone had breakfast and cocktails in the evening. It felt like they were in the room with us.

But overall, it was a really nice stay. The view is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwebdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Tickle Pink upon recommendation from a friend who has been going there for over ten years. All I can say is that the Inn is beautiful, the service impeccable, and the location is very picturesque and romantic. We stayed there one night on a trip up the coast of California, and it was by far our favorite hotel. We had warm cookies upon arrival, and then headed to the deck for a great wine and cheese reception. As we had been on the road for several days and were looking for a laid back place to eat dinner, the hotel booked dinner for us at the Rio Grill, which was perfect. We came back to our room with a complimentary bottle of champagne chilling for us. A perfect end to the evening.

The beds in this hotel are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and even though we were there for only one night, it was very memorable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apriljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

My husband and I arrived in Carmel after a beautiful five hour drive along the coast from Santa Barbara, CA for our honeymoon. We had decided we wanted a place to go that we could get to by car, avoiding airlines and such, and choose Carmel. We wanted to splurge on a hotel that would offer amenities like a fireplace, jacuzzi tub, etc. Upon arrival, I was slightly surprised at how much more rustic the Inn was than I had expected...it would have been something good to know for me - but not necessarily something that would have kept me from staying there.
My favorite things about this hotel included the daily continental breakfast that is included in the room cost, and can either be enjoyed on a terrace overlooking the ocean or in the privacy of your own room - at NO extra cost! We took advantage of this almost every morning. Frankly, it's way too quiet at the breakfast on the terrace. Just make sure you go down to see what they have the first day. They'll bring you anything they have, but they don't always offer it on the phone. We didn't even know they had certain things until we went down!
The staff does a remarkable job at keeping your room clean and towels refreshed. And if you have the luxury of having a wood-burning fireplace, they keep you well-stocked with wood to burn and also clean up the fireplace each time after you use it.
Parking was easy and convenient, access to Carmel-by-the-Sea, Carmel Valley (wineries) and Monterey were all very close and easy too.
The weather is another story. And that's not the fault of Tickle Pink Inn - but just as a word to the wise - we were so disappointed in the cooler temperatures and almost constant cloudiness near the bay/ocean. Beware that the beautiful ocean view room you pay for may not give you much of a view. But the privacy is wonderful!
Enjoyed our stay very much.
Oh and p.s. the BEST champagne we've ever had (and we are certainly not strangers to champagne) was brought to our room within minutes of arrival - compliments of the staff. Delicious and the PERFECT way to start our honeymoon!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butlersje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon night and the one after that before flying out to Hawaii…It did not disappoint, but rather exceeded my expectations! As we made our way up the private drive to this charming escape nestled in the cliffs, I could already smell the ocean and the flowers surrounding the balconies at the inn. Very romantic! The view was absolutely breathtaking; we sat out on the balcony in the morning with our (delicious) continental breakfast and watched the waves crashing out on the rocks.
This was the perfect retreat, and being from Las Vegas, we were able to appreciate the unique privacy and unpretentious luxury. The staff was gracious and very helpful; they gave us a recommendation for dinner at Anton & Michel’s, an elegant restaurant near Ocean Avenue with French-American fare. We thought it was an equally romantic spot and would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in Carmel. I only wish we could have stayed a few more days…Of course, we are already talking about coming back next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromVegas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The reviews of this hotel are something of a mixed bag and I can see why. I really wanted to like this hotel and to a large extent I did. Our room was nicely done out and an OK size. Reception were helpful. The views from the balcony were lovely (when the fog wasn't in). They have a few nice touches such as chocolates (lovely) and "champagne" (the American definition ie sparkling wine - wasn't pleasant stuff and really gassy) on arrival plus wine and cheese in the afternoon (nice).

So why I have I only rated this three stars? Well really it has to come down to value. It's not a cheap place and whilst I appreciate that Carmel is not a cheap resort, we paid $339 plus tax for a basic room. For this I expect things to be reasonably good across the board to make the grade and sadly the standard was not consistent. So for instance in the room there were a number of basics missing - no air con, no fan in bathroom, no safe (no safety deposit box available either - concerning given reports of thefts on this site). The breakfast was also pretty basic and below what I'd expect with a pretty limited selection. Cleaning and maintenance staff were miserable and tended to leave their equipment wherever they wanted. There was no bar to relax in (although there was a lounge used for the wine in afternoon and breakfast). The views are good but there is also a lot of road noise - not something they exactly highlight on their website. Its also a good hike to the main part of Carmel so to go out for dinner you have to drive or get a $15-20 taxi as only one restaurant is within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank armarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtoff, General Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2009
We are very sorry to have not lived up to this guest’s perceived standard of value. While we appreciate the positive aspects of this review (nicely done room, lovely views, appreciation of our wine and cheese reception, etc.), we would like to comment on a few of the points mentioned.

While this guest did not enjoy the complimentary “sparkling wine” that we deliver to our guests upon arrival (a cava from Spain), it is readily enjoyed by most and recently scored 88 points (“good value, well recommended”) in Wine Enthusiast Magazine.

We must also comment on the “given reports of theft on this site.” It is our understanding, in contrast to this remark, that there has been but one report of a theft (or missing property) on our premises in the last ten years.

The Tickle Pink Inn is situated in the Carmel Highlands, about four miles south of Carmel-by-the Sea. Our valued guests typically appreciate the remoteness and privacy of our location, away from the downtown area. We are also located on a hill above Highway 1, a two-lane road leading into Big Sur. While usually not a busy stretch, especially in the evenings, we do not normally receive comments or concern about noise from it.

We are appreciative of the great number of positive experiences and reviews that the Tickle Pink Inn inspires, and are hopeful that someday the reader will visit our special and unique Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing