We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!! Nothing like it!”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!! Nothing like it!”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We went to the Tickle Pink for my wife and my anniversary. I had the responsibility to find a place for us to stay as we toured the coast. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and based the hotel I chose on them, which led me to the Tickle Pink. When we arrived we were greeted at the front desk and were brought to our room. We had the Jacuzzi suite. WOW!! We were amazed at the view and the quality of the room. When I had booked with them I had let them know that it was for our anniversary and in the room they had a basket with champagne and cheese waiting for us. Since we had been driving for a while we just wanted to relax for a while so we went to sit down for a while on the bed and were amazed at the comfort of the bed! it felt like you were sleeping on a cloud! We were asleep in a matter of minutes!

Once we woke up an hour later we went out to our own private balcony which ran the entire length of the room, which is glass, facing the cove. As we enjoyed our view, we did notice the traffic driving below, but the noise was barely noticeable. And the ocean wave made up for it. We called room service, and within 5 minute they brought what we had ordered. Finally we filled the jacuzzi to enjoy a nice evening relaxing. Once done we slipped into the "o so soft" robes and watched a movie with the fireplace roaring in the background.

The next morning we asked if they could bring some of the items that they put out for breakfast to our room for us to enjoy while on the balcony. we were pleasantly surprised to have a platter overflowing with food and fruit, coffee and juices.

From staff, room service, quality of room, bedding, view, price, to just the whole experience, it was a perfect stay! We cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaumont-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    185
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
72
848
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We booked the Tickled Pink Inn as a treat at the end of our holiday & had 3 nights in a cove room. It exceeded our expectations immediately. The view was outstanding - the staff were lovely & the room perfect. We were so surprised when the door knocked & a bottle of champagne, chocolates & a rose arrived. The travel agent also told us it was room only - but we discovered breakfast (either delivered to your room at on extra cost or on the heated patio) was included everyday. The breakfast was excellent. As was the wine & cheese available every day. There were also non-alcoholic drinks & tea & coffee. There are lots of little extra touches which make the stay extra special. Starbucks coffee, bottled water, bathrobes & slippers, loofa - gilchrist & soames toiletries, fresh milk if required etc. There was also free wifi & a selection of dvd's to watch. We visited Point Lobos National Park & did the entire coast walk - can easily be done in a morning or turn it into a day out by relaxing on the beaches there. The scenery is stunning. We saw deer, seals, pelicans & were very lucky to see some sea otters. We also drove along the Big Sur Highway to Hearst Castle (worth a visit) - one of the best coastal drives ever. 17 mile drive is also great (toll road) It would be nice the next time to hire bicycles in Monteray & tour it that way. Carmel was lovely - some amazing houses there. All in all an excellent stay - will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, VA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Most reviewers have it right; nice place... great views... friendly service/staff, etc... We did not find the Inn to be in any way "tired"... matter of fact we found it to be nicely appointed, clean with a lovely wine reception in the evening and well rounded continental breakfast brought to the room (a nice touch)... the view from our Ocean View Suite made the extra $$ well worth it... just lovely... though we did have contend with "june gloom" and the view was not nearly as clear as it would have been any other time of the year... the Inn is situated a bit South of the town of Carmel and the traffic can be heavy... no matter... we'd recommend the Inn..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaTova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Tickle Pink clearly has an loyal fan base, and from the visitors book it is obvious that many customers return year after year - for peace and quiet overlooking the calm Pacific, the comfort of the balcony and the log fire in the room (for when it gets chilly, which it does) this place ticks the boxes. A modest DVD collection, complimentary cheese and wine in the evenings and chocolates and champagne on arrival are also lovely touches - I can see why people like it.

So there is nothing really wrong with it, but for the price I expected something a bit more plush - this place is a bit tired, in need of a refurb (esp the rather chintzy rooms).

Most disappointing of all was breakfast - for a boutique hotel, the breakfast was an unimaginative, uninspiring buffet - I expected better.

If I were to visit this area again I would probably find somewhere in Carmel, which is a very pleasant little town. A few small changes to Tickle Pink are required though to make it worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtoff, Manager at Tickle Pink Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2009
We truly appreciate the positive comments in this review. Indeed, many of our valued guests return year after year to re-experience the breathtaking views, plush accommodations, and complimentary amenities and services that we provide. It is always satisfying to listen to couples reminisce about honeymoons spent with us, and even more thrilling to help plan an engagement. We are fortunate to be in a position to create meaningful memories for our clientele.

We are disheartened and surprised to read that this guest found our property to be tired, and our rooms chintzy. We know of no other property that has done more in the last 12 months to update rooms, improve services, and enhance amenities. During this time, we have installed new carpets, drape assemblies, lamps, artwork, recessed lighting, and curved shower rods throughout. For our in-room amenities, we have added slippers, loofah sponges, Starbucks coffee, portable fans, free local telephone calls and free wireless Internet access. Additionally, we have not initiated any reductions to our complimentary services. While we continuously thrive to provide more for our guests, we encourage and welcome any comments and suggestions for improving our property.

We are very sorry that this guest did not enjoy our complimentary Expanded Continental Breakfast, as most of our guests do. Included are an array of freshly baked pastries (in our own kitchen - muffins, strudels, scones, croissants and bagels), cream cheese, peanut butter, jams, yogurt, cottage cheese, eggs Florentine, ham, granola, fresh fruit, Starbucks coffee, and a wide variety of juices and teas. We believe it is a generous display offering a balanced variety for all.

We are hopeful that anyone considering a visit to this beautiful part of California takes the opportunity to stay at our special and unique Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed one night in Carmel driving from SF down Big Sur. Loved the TPI! Bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in - beautiful view & private room (Crow's Nest).

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

The good: Beautiful location & great view; comfortable bed and linens; large soaking tub and marble bath; nice bath amenities; very clean; warm cookies, champagne and chocolates on arrival; large closet for suitcases and clothes; beautiful terrace for watching the sunset with good wine, cheese and friends!

The bad: the water in the bathroom smelled and tasted bad; the champagne was a nice touch but unfortunately, unlike the wine served at evening reception, it was the worst we'd ever drank - we're not wine snobs and didn't expect Dom Perignon, but for the price we paid for the room, a couple of steps up the quality ladder would have made a better impression; the first morning we asked for breakfast to be delivered to our room and it was not as ordered (thereafter we decided to eat on the terrace); breakfast is the exact same offering every morning - fine if you're staying one night but gets old if you're there several days - it was good but nothing outstanding - about what you'd get at an Embassy Suites; there's no a/c so we had to leave the balcony door open to keep from getting hot - imagine the lack of privacy when you have neighbors on their balconies!!!; with regard to the balconies themselves, they offer very little privacy - just a small piece of see-through lattice that only extends part-way down the side - we could plainly see and hear our neighbors (even at 1 am!); we tried to print boarding passes the day before our departure - first we had to wait about 10 min in the office for someone to get the key to open the Board Room for us - once there, we tried to print and the printer was out of ink (another guest had the same problem the day before and it was still left unaddressed when we got there) - we waited for the staff to go and look for a printer cartridge but none was to be found (no replacement cartridges in stock?) - finally we returned to the office where we had to wait again before finally being offered a computer station that worked - frustrating and time consuming!

This lack of service at every turn left us scratching our heads at the other reviews of good service - if it had been an isolated incident, we'd have looked the other way. To be fair, there were times that we got adequate service (though never outstanding), but too many times it was less than adequate. As for the price, we weren't initially bothered by it or we wouldn't have stayed to begin with, but at this price point, we definitely expected better privacy, service and quality. Tickle Pink would be a WONDERFUL place at $100 less per night, but at the current rate it is by no means worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Websurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at Tickle Pink based on tripadvisor recommendations of it being the top hotel in Carmel. We both liked it a lot, but I expected a little more for the price and tripadvisor rating. Upon arriving, we did receive complimentary champagne and chocolates which was nice.

My only complaints: 1) It was very hot in the room and I tried to cool it down by turning on the AC. That didn't work, it only pumped out hotter air. We opened the windows and turned on a fan and quickly cooled down. 2) Privacy - We were on the first floor and had a nice balcony overlooking the terrace where everyone had breakfast and cocktails in the evening. It felt like they were in the room with us.

But overall, it was a really nice stay. The view is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwebdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing