We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THe place to stay in Carmel--to die for!”
Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My husband and I decided to get away for a weekend and decided to stay near the coast. We had heard about Tickle Pink Inn during one of our trips to the Pebble Beach Food & Wine Festival, and were very pleased with our experience there. The price was a little more than you would pay for a room down near Ocean Avenue, but there was a far superior view, more privacy and added amenities. The bedding was an absolute dream! It was like falling into a cloud—I am going to try and find out where they get all of their bedding because I want to sleep in that luxury every night! We stayed in room 23, which had a large bedroom and a separate living suite, both with floor-to-ceiling windows looking out to the beautiful ocean view. The location was a nice bonus, since we were close to the terrace lounge and the deck but had our own private entrance. One of the best things about this hotel is that you have absolute privacy—without having to sacrifice luxury. All day we kept our doors slightly open so that all we could hear was the sound of the ocean--just pure waves on the rocks. The staff was also excellent; the first morning we had slept in (due to the amazing bedding) and missed the breakfast by 20 minutes, but one of the staff saw us walk into the lounge and said that if we wouldn’t mind waiting, she would bake us some croissants and strudel and bring it out to the deck. Very accommodating! The croissants and strudel were fabulous, by the way. We were shocked to read the previous reviewer’s abundant complaints about the “smoke” at the hotel. On the contrary, we never saw any smoke, and certainly never had any blow into or permeate our room. In fact, we thought the fireplaces in the rooms were a nice touch—how often do you get to have a room with a real fireplace anymore? I found that they lent the hotel a nostalgic charm and were not bothersome at all. We had a wonderful experience at the Inn, and already booked again for early 2011 when the rates are even better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russellandmaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2010

My wife and I spent one night at Tickle Pink on our 10-year anniversary after honeymooning in the area and although our trip is over, we can't wait to go back. At $350/night, we got an incredible bargain. The room was worth $150-200 anywhere else but what makes this hotel so special are the MILLION $$$ views with the ocean lulling us to sleep. Unlike anything I've ever seen up close, and I've traveled quite a bit... Great staff, plush beds, plasma/LCD TVs, a super wine hour and a tasty breakfast. Oh yeah - and the views!!!! Can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

I am very surprised there are so many favorable Trip-A reviews for this property. We recently spent 3 nights at Tickle Pink and were very disapointed.

For the record, we paid $494.00 a night for a very standard, stuffy (no fans), smelly, fireplace room and $583 a night for the suite. (incl tax).

Booked two rooms and moved from one to the other as neither of these rooms were available for our entire stay. Side note: we have no complaint w/regards to moving rooms and it certainly was not a problem for us to so, staff took care of that quite well!

Suite was very large w/sweeping ocean views BUT it was impossible to enjoy the views from the deck due to the constant smell of smoke blowing directly into your face/room. If one wanted to get a little sun or read a bit on the deck it was misery. Smoke blows into your face or room from many different directions including the Highlands Inn which, is located just below. But Highlands Inn is not the only culprit that should be held accountable for this terrible air pollution. Tickle allows their guests to burn those awful smelly/waxy logs all day long too! This is a burn- baby- burn neighborhood like I have never seen! And to be sure there is enough smoke in the air every deck has an ash-tray just in case one needs to light up!

Bottom line there was just no escaping the wretched smell of burning smoke. The smell hung heavy in the air, to the curtains in the room and made for a most unpleasant stay.

Another mention, Tickle is located just above Highlands Drive which is a busy/noisy road. Although traffic quiets a bit at night it remains noisy until well after sunset.

One quick word on the breakfast options: They need help!
They should do away w/sugar sweeten yogurt and offer plain greek yogurt instead. Throw out the instant oatmeal and cook some whole oats, it's just water and oats!
Get rid of that bowl of tired apples & over ripe bananas and offer some fresh berries.
Eliminate the cheese thingies you call quiche and just bring in some fresh/real croissants.

All and all a very disapointing stay at the Tickle me smoke inn.
Next time I will try another place or go back to Ventana Inn in Big Sur which BTW was about the same price for oh so much more!





The Pro's
Excellent Staff

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Went with Mom on this trip, but would definitely want to return here with my husband. We LOVED our view. It was a cove view since it's less expensive, but the ocean is there and actually the cove shows the famous coastline, so I might want this room again.

We didn't want to leave the first night, so you can order in from the Highlands Inn next door. We weren't expecting that and it was a nice treat. The next night we ate at Highlands Inn and I learned my lesson that the view seating is first come, first serve, so we were there early at about 5:30 pm. It's in walking distance, right next door, so no worry about cocktails and wine with dinner.

We visit the area often, so if it's your first visit, you may want to stay closer to town because you will need to drive everywhere and it's a twisty two lane road. Don't take a chance on drinking and driving. I wanted to stay in a place this visit with a view of the water, so for that reason, it is one of the best choices.

Breakfast and afternoon wine is included; it's not fancy, but it's OK. I usually would prefer to stay in Carmel or PG, but for a relaxing trip with the best views, this place is a good choice and will return with my husband.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViaggiatoreSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We had a wonderful weekend here, however there was one major drawback that was quite unexpected. As the hotel sits up on a hill, down below are the rooms of the adjacent hotel. Since all are equipped with fireplaces, and it was a chilly weekend, several people were using their fireplace, and the smoke wafted directly onto our balcony and into our room! Consequently, we had to retreat inside and close the doors, and sleep with it all closed up, which made it stuffy. So, this is something to be aware of, if you go in the cooler season. Other than that, we loved it, but it was a big drawback , reminding me too much of going camping, and set my allergies off, so we would not go back unless we knew for sure there would be no fireplaces in use.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We had a fantastic time at Tickle Pink! We booked a room with both a fireplace and hot tub, which included a super-huge balcony with a wonderful view. The bed was among the most comfortable ever! The food was delicious, and the inn was a short drive to everywhere in Carmel and Monterrey we wanted to go. I definitely recommend the aquarium, and flying fish for a terrific dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toriastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We flew into Monetery and decided we wanted beauty and views and we certainly made the right choice. LOVED the Tickle Pink and cannot wait to return. The views from the room were the best you could ever ask for! We had the jacuzzi suite and it was incredibly romantic. Delicious breakfast every day and wonderful evening happy hour . It was a perfect stay ! The town of Carmel is lovely with unique shops and dining. We spent three nights and could have stayed for a week easily. We did eat at Pacific Edge next door. It was good food, GREAT views but a tad overpriced. Ideal location that you can walk to from Tickle Pink made it a great choice for us. From here we went to Cambria and went to Hearst Castle which was amazing. Then we headed to Santa Barbara for three nights and stayed at the Simpson House Inn. Check that review as well. It was also a prefect choice in a prime location ! Wonderful vacation! Want to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greekchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
906 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
713 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £175 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing