We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adding my praise to the other voices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tickle Pink Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tickle Pink Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adding my praise to the other voices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

This inn is everything that people have said. It's charming, relaxed, friendly and convenient to Big Sur and Monterey activities (we went hiking and whale watching -- and yes, there were a lot of whales!). The view of the ocean from our room was spectacular. The breakfasts were good -- not fancy, but we didn't expect fancy. And the staff made every effort to make certain we were enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bk1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    803
    184
    61
    27
    12
See reviews for
71
837
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Tickle Pink Inn and have enjoyed our stay immensely every time. The Inn is located in the most beautiful area over looking the ocean and cliffs in the Carmel Highlands. The rooms are incredibly charming and thoughtfully acquainted with a very comfortable bed and lovely furnishings. The balcony - each room has impeccable views - has a chaise for your lounging pleasure and is the perfect place to spend an afternoon reading - just before the wine and cheese hour in the lobby where you can socialize with fellow guests before heading out to dinner.

The location is perfect - far away enough from the crowds of Carmel/Pebble Beach but close enough to spend your afternoon exploring.

This is truly our favorite place to stay on California's Central Coast, and we try to head back as much as frequently as possible.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachy7933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

After reading reviews, my husband and I decided on a trip to Carmel staying at the Tickle Pink Inn to celebrate our 15th Anniversary. We made a fantastic decision! When you pull up to the Inn, it's reasonably unimpressive from the outside. We checked in; the service was outstanding. They made sure from the moment we walked in that we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. When we opened the door of our room, we were blown away. A huge living room with a wood-burning fireplace (they will deliver firewood to your room!) and a great bedroom with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The view out the living room and bedroom are beyond description! As the other reviewers said, the wine and cheese time in the afternoons and the breakfast are fantastic. There is always soothing music playing... it's one of the most peaceful places I've ever been. We didn't want to leave! If you're looking for a romantic getaway, this cannot be beat. Unbelievable!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osunut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Our only regret is that we only stayed one night. Beautifully appointed rooms, comfortable bed, and the view is stunning. Hwy 1 does run below the hotel, so during the day you can hear cars drive by, but at night the cars were so few and far between it didn't matter, and the sounds of the surf overshadowed it. The evening reception is wonderful, as is breakfast. There is a container with fresh ground starbucks coffee in the room, my wife loved the soaking tub, robe, and slippers.

Guests who negatively commented on the room decorations don't get the "style"...there is a retro look to the rooms, but everything was newer and very high quality. If you are expecting a cold, impersonal, modern decor go stay at the Hotel Intercontinental in Monterey (we stayed there this stay too, and this was clear step down for us). But for a romantic couples getaway the Tickle Pink is the only way to go.

While all the rooms are nice, top floor rooms will have a little better view. Ocean view suites are worth the extra price, especially if staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dulacdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Do it. You will not regret. With the amazing views, lovely rooms, breakfast, nice wine and cheese, and perfect location, you will wish you could stay longer. It's a prize!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Carmel Highlands (where Tickle Pink Inn is located) is a beautiful area, with picturesque views, landscapes, etc. The Inn does a great job of utilizing those views in their rooms, and the fixtures and rooms themselves are very nice. However, the Inn itself is very old (although, again, the rooms are updated nicely) and the walls are paper thin. Please understand that I really mean, 'paper thin'. YOU WILL HEAR EVERYTHING, including the maid service and their cart rolling up and down the sidewalk outside; or every time the unit next to you flushes their toilet; or every time a truck drives by on the road below; or every time your neighbor coughs, laughs or talks in anything more than a whisper!

After one night's stay, we called around immediately and found another hotel (the Intercontinental in Monterey). Though I prefer the town of Carmel, we couldn't dare spend another sleepless night at Tickle Pink.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexnMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel has amazing views from everywhere and the service could not be more gracious. That said the decor is a bit tired and worn. Would go back but they should update to 2010. Beds very comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
3.6 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
3.8 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tickle Pink Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tickle Pink Inn

Property: Tickle Pink Inn
Address: 155 Highland Drive, Carmel, CA 93923-9601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Carmel oceanfront hotel dramatically situated above the rocky coastline that stands at the gateway to world-famous Big Sur. Let yourself be pampered with every amenity…from cozy European bedding and private decks with sweeping views to homemade breakfast pastries and an evening wine & cheese reception with soothing classical music. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tickle Pink Carmel
Tickle Pink Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing