We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in August. Totally agree with all the other glowing reviews. Huge bed, huge room, immaculately clean,fabulous fireplace (even in August the evenings were cool enough to allow ourselves to turn it on!), lovely breakfast, really pretty grounds- all great!The lay out of the hotel- with gardens and over different levels and seemingly in different sections, gives such a lovely feeling of privacy- and a really warm , welcoming character. The location is superb - so central.We had an upstairs room with a balcony looking at Ocean Avenue and towards the beach(even though there are cars going by to the beach- the traffic is Not a problem, its going very slowly and its not really a through route as such- this is coming from someone with a total aversion to traffic disturbance!)Sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was a real pleasure-and for watching The Dogs go by!!- Carmel really is a paradise for dog lovers! We had a fabulous stay in this gorgeous hotel in this amazing town- thank you to all and we would love to come back!Would strongly recommend Lobos Lodge!

Room Tip: we had an upstairs room with a balcony looking at Ocean Avenue- fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    153
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
76
279
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lindfield, West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Stayed two night in August, over a busy weekend. Staff were extremely helpful. The room was spacious, almost the size of a suite, which made the price extremely reasonable for Carmel. Breakfast delivered to the room each morning - basic, but nicely presented and leaves you enough room to visit the wonderful Carmel bakery. Highly recommended

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jacquiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is really good. The location is in the middle of the main street of Carmel, you can walk all day through Carmel and come back easily. We parked the car and took it just to go to Big Sur.
You can see a hotel by his towells, and those from Lobos Lodge were good quality and new.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abtrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here a few nights in Oct. on a week-long coastal trip and we loved it. The location is outstanding, the value is incredible, the rooms are large and clean, the bed was great, we had a nice fireplace if we needed warming, The room has a great little sofa and sitting area and the bathroom area is huge. Nice touches include breakfast delivered to your room in the morning and a great little patio area to enjoy outside if you'd like. Folks at the desk were extremely nice and it seems like there's always fresh cookies around to enjoy if you're in the mood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvisinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have been staying at Lobos Lodge since the 70s and it has never failed to disappoint. It is quite simply the best hotel in northern California that I have ever encountered. It is incredibly quaint, layed out among beautiful gardens, about a 3 minute walk to the beach on Ocean Avenue, and a 1 minute walk to the center of incredibly beautiful Carmel, one of the world's true treats. About a 45 minute ride along the windy and heartbreakingly beautiful Pacific Coast Highway to Big Sur, great restaurants abound for all tastes. The rooms have been redone and are amazing, with comfortable beds, fireplaces, desks for work and beautifully appointed bathrooms with no useless accoutrements. It is a stunning place, great for lovers and just for hanging out and it is the only place I stay in that part of the world. The attendants are wonderful and exude class, just like the rest of the town. The complimentary breakfast is to die for and the little snack and read area next to the reception desk is outstanding, with wonderful coffee and snack treats, everything one would want after a rough week in San Francisco or San Jose on business. The Monterey Fisherman's Wharf is 15 minutes away and John Steinbeck's Salinas about 45 minutes.. It is a wonderful place - I guarantee you will love it!!!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful and park your car in the lot and leave it there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We booked Lobos based on TA and asked for room 44 at the time of booking. We were delighted with the room, very spacious, airy. It was a little hot in the room but after opening the slide door to the balcony it cooled right down. There is a fan also in the room. There are stairs up to 44 just so you know if you have heavy luggage.

The hotel is close to everything on main street carmel and the beach and the 17 mile drive.

Breakfast is included but is small, enough to get started though!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish_captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have been here before. As happened on our previous visit, the receptionist could not find our reservation (albeit we had paid, 7 months earlier, a one-night's deposit for each room). This was rectified when a colleague came to her assistance. We requested suite 37, as on our previous visit, but it was not available. Our double room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the property is generally well maintained. Lobos Lodge's location is ideal and we will happily return, again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlighWestVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing