We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our first time vacation to Carmel and area was everything we hoped it to be! Lobos Lodge proved to be a real gem with spacious room (#17), excellent location with a view of the ocean from our patio. The only negative would be that the high wall on the patio required one to stand to see this great view, and not enjoy while seated, but still was delightful. It was a very short drive on 17 mile road to Pebble Beach, where we seemed to gravitate to frequently. Back in town, it was located such that you could walk to most of the restaurants and shops without too much trouble. Just a lovely vacation, and one that insured that we will be back, and without hesitation, to the Lobos Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    157
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
78
282
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Ludlow, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was such a pleasant surprise! We arrived in a downpour but were so pleased with our warm and inviting spacious room. Our room was what was called the "basement level" but it was light-filled and we had a lovely private patio. Comfortable bed, large bathroom, quality construction. Someone really cared about designing and building this hotel. It was so quiet and it didn't feel like we were in a basement at all. The staff was helpful and kind. The continental breakfast was delivered every morning and the pastries were "French bakery quality". Location was an easy walk to the beach past lovely residences and was just across the street from the shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a "basement" room which I believe was less expensive but it was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My delightful experience with Lobos Lodge in Carmel begun with the check in. I was impressed when, after having just opened the door to the lobby from the parking lot, I was warmly welcomed by the front desk employee, who promptly called me by my family name. He was very kind and made us feel at home right away. The suite was beautiful and cozy. Everything was carefully arranged, neat and clean. We were worried at first with the fact that our suite was maybe too close to the main street and would be probably be noisy. However, we did not know Carmel. We had the most wonderful night’s sleep and when we went out to dine next evening, we realized that the town was quiet and peaceful. Room for improvement: maybe only with breakfast. They could offer a greater quantity and variety of the delicious breads, pastries and juices they served daily. It would be perfect!

Room Tip: If you're carrying heavy luggage, be sure to choose a room close to your parking spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoPittella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Close to a "five" in many ways but not quite there. We very much like the location, amenities, decor, quietness, cleanliness, size, gas fireplace and the balcony/deck of the deluxe king rooms (particularly one!). The grounds are very attractive . . . brick walks through beautifully maintained landscaping--brilliant flowers and attractive trees. Coffee, cookies and fruit in the lobby is always good. Parking is very close to the rooms. You can walk to almost any restaurant in town in less than five minutes (which means no driving to those of us who enjoy a glass of wine in the room and at dinner).

It is our experience that you can't beat this fine lodge for the price in central Carmel. Period.

A few small negatives, that as "regulars" as opposed to first time and rightfully impressionable visitors, cause us to withhold the fifth "circle" (call it a star). There are quite a few stairs and very narrow passageways to some of the room . . . which can make dragging a large wheeled suite case to the room a real drag. The delivered continental breakfast is always a disappointment--poor pastry and no fresh coffee (the coffee in the room is less than enjoyable--we tend to got out to one of the local coffee shops for a latte and a good pastry) And, the "service area" of the bathrooms could be larger--single sink and somewhat limited place for personal toiletries. These are very petty concerns. Last stay 2/27-28.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

besides the architecture that is so beautiful, the reception and the room were great. a new experience, the room is apart from the office and other rooms. the fireplace is awesome too. very romantic place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUIMARX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We (3 adults – 1 couple and a friend) arrived late in Carmel without a booking and after looking at a few different hotels stumbled across the Lobos Lodge.
We had previously looked at the Cyprus Inn mainly because it is partly owned by Doris Day. The room we were shown there by the snooty concierge who obviously didn’t like walks in, was tiny with only just enough room to get around the two ugly floral bedspread be-decked double beds. The room was sandwiched between the hall to the busy entrance foyer and a window to a well frequented pedestrian walkway – zero chance of quiet or privacy. There were also a lot of dogs in the foyer – not good for my husband who has allergies.

So not surprisingly we didn’t stay there (!) and continued looking at hotels not too far from the main shopping street of Ocean Ave.
When we enquired at Lobos Lodge we were greeted with a smile and then given the key to have a look at the proposed room. What a difference right from the start. When we opened the door to the room we were very pleased to find a very large room with two double beds, a sitting area, tv, little breakfast table, balcony and a spacious bathroom with plenty of bench space. The décor was light and airy and fitted well with the beachside location of Carmel-by-the-sea.

And it was cheaper.

And it was in a better location.

And it included onsite parking and a continental breakfast!

Some others have written that the breakfast was sparse. It’s true that it was on the small side but after eating far too much at every meal for the previous few weeks of our trip it was actually nice to just have a light breakfast of fruit, juice and a muffin – plus it was delivered to our room. Coffee is also available at the front office.

We were very glad we stumbled across the Lobos Lodge and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SherrySparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Terrace, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a great hotel (not part of a chain!) in a great location. The room was very comfortable with everything you would expect and more. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants in one direction and the beach in the other. Light breakfast is delivered to the room. Bathtub is great! We definitely plan to return to this spot. Price is very reasonable considering the prime location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing