We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lobos Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lobos Lodge
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
dover
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

My wife and I stayed for 3 days for our 35th Anniversary. We couldn't have been more pleased. I had ordered their flower package and champangne(sp). My wife was so surprised. The flowers were unbelievable. Lobos is right on the main street EASY access to everywhere. Right down the hill is the ocean. We could hear it through the window next to the bed. The room was so big(room 16). The ONLY drawback was the TV. It was small so when you laid in bed it was hard to see. Continental breakfast was good. Parking was great. The hotel across the street had happy hour and pizza for$5.00 great for our first night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melsieDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    153
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
76
279
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at the Lobos Lodge in Carmel for one night during our trek from San Francisco down to San Simeon. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will definately return to stay at this cute hotel in the future. Here is why I recommend it: Friendly staff, nice amenities, including the in-room breakfast, large comforable beds, nicely decorated rooms, great shower and bathroom, great location in a neat little town. There weren't any negatives from our stay at this place and I would highly recommend it to anyone!! I really didn't like the in-room coffee, just because my personal preference. But no worries...the Carmel Valley Coffee Co is just a few doors up the street for affordably prices java!! The staff were all friendly at this hotel and you could really tell that the owner/manager cares about the place and does an excellent job with it! We will return to Lobos Lodge on our family trip next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVMtnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. You can see that the decor of the rooms are not the latest trends but honestly, that suited the place and our room was spotless and the furniture was well maintained. From the outside Room #51 looked small but once inside it was huge with high ceilings. The window placement was a bit odd (one really high one) and another facing a courtyard. The place is built on all sorts of levels, with stairs here and there and there was a gift shop and beauty salon just outside of our door. I felt like I was somewhere in Europe especially when the fresh fruit, juice and croissants arrived for breakfast. The beach is a short walk down the road. There was no air-conditioning but the ceiling and floor stand fans were fine for us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Toptraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

"The Owner Pours Her Heart Into This Place". That's what the desk clerk said to me as I complimented him upon check out. You've read the other reviews; they're fairly accurate. We tend to stay in antiseptic, predictable hotels (e.g., Hyatt) but that doesn't exist in Carmel-by-the Sea. At Lobos Lodge you get a large, clean room with sitting area. The property itself is where the proprietor's creativity is evidenced. It is designed to have the feel of a retreat despite it's postage stamp size (plenty of parking, though). Well done.
Last thing: you've probably noticed people writing about the "make your own coffee" with the breakfast delivered to your room. Skip it. You can't walk a block in Carmel without coming upon a good coffee shop. Throw on a pair of pants, grab a cup and bring it back to your room ;-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intlbnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

This small hotel is on the main street in Carmel , Ocean Blvd. Big room , remodeled bath, king bed , continental breakfast delivered to your room at no extra charge. Free Wi/Fi. Very quiet and near restaurants, shop, etc and free parking. All in all very, very nice.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank keltic95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

The Lobos Lodge in Carmel was lovely! It is one of the closest lodging choices to the Carmel beach. We felt the location - close to shops & restaurants as well - was perfect!!
The people at the Lobos were friendly & nice. Check in was smooth and quick. Parking was convenient & hassle free.
Our room was fabulous! Room #16 was huge! We loved our little balcony, the bed was comfortable, bathroom spacious, lovely sitting area.
The Lobos office has free coffee available all day long, with cookies and brownie bites and fresh fruit as well. They also deliver a continental breakfast to your room each morning. We stayed 2 nights at the end of a ten day California road trip and were so happy that we chose the Lobos Lodge. :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

For what would be considered a 3 star property in the 3-star category, I would give this an A+.
Location = Excellent. A few blocks closer to the beach than other inns/lodges but still in the main village and walking distance (within 4-5 blocks) of all the shops and restaurants.
Off street private parking = excellent.
Size of room (room# 21) = EXCELLENT! Biggest room (I would call it a suite or studio) so far of the 3 other places we've stayed in within the Carmel Village.
Room was very clean so no complaints on that side.
Property was very well kept, staff were very pleasant and helpful, cookies in the office were outstanding, etc etc ...
Now granted the decor was very quaint (dated) ... but unless you are willing to drop 400$+ a night, that is what you are going to get will all the Inns, Lodges, and B&Bs in the Village.
All in all a very very good stay. And am much inclined to book this place again when we visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#19 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobos Lodge

Property: Lobos Lodge
Address: Monte Verde Street And Ocean Avenue, PO Box L-1, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 Thoughtfully appointed spacious rooms with fireplaces and seating area and large bathroom, garden setting in Carmel-by-the-Sea, just 4 blocks to beach, shops and restaurants. Room Rate Includes: • Continental breakfast of juice, fresh fruit,or yogurt,pastry, and newspaper • Afternoon cookies, coffee & tea in Lobby • In room coffee maker • Small refrigerator • Hair dryer • Flat screen televisions • Free wireless Internet access • Iron and boards available upon request • Onsite guest parking available (one car per reservation) • Most rooms have a private patio or balcony overlooking our gardens or Ocean Avenue. All rooms have fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lobos Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing