We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming, but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We added a stay in Carmel at end of a business trip for my husband. This was our first stay in Carmel. The hotel was charming and very unique. It had a similar feel to a bed and breakfast. Although the room and bathroom were small, the bed was very, very comfortable. The main problem was the noise level - we were on the 2nd level above a shop. We could hear full conversations from the street below (not a problem at night since everything is closed). We could also hear conversations from the next room (and the room above) with a loud TV and noisy kids. Apparently the TV for the next room was right behind our headboard.

The breakfast (which is complimentary Mon - Fri) was very good. Hotel service was also very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    203
    102
    30
    18
See reviews for
65
364
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Pine Inn offers a wonderful location on Ocean Avenue from which to explore Carmel's many attractions on foot - close to the beach, shopping & a multitude of excellent restaurants. Unfortunately for us, two of the advertised main reasons we chose to stay there were not available - Free parking & free WiFi in the room. Our initial encounter with check-in desk set the tone - "Free parking lot is full. 20 parking spaces, 49 rooms. Now do you want to keep your reservation, or not?" No other explanation, no I'm so sorry for your inconvenience. The 2nd area of disappointment was the absence of the advertised free WiFi in the room. "The system has been undergoing repairs. So sorry, it is not working at present." Carmel is a mere 2 hour drive from San Jose, the tech capital of the universe, and they cannot get wireless routers to provide WiFi for 49 rooms? The rooms are quite spacious, reasonably clean and certainly conveniently located, but there remains much room for improvement in the hospitality training of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasrancher4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Good Morning,

I wanted to respond to this review by saying that our current wireless system will be upgraded on June 6th. There is new technology available and we will be one of the first hotels in Carmel to have this system. As we are in the process of changing out our old wireless system, we placed a letter in each guestroom explaining this process. The letter explained that the wireless reception was spotty in areas but that any guest could use the computer in the reservation office to access the Internet 24/7.

Regarding the parking, it is true that we only have limited free parking in our lot. This is explained on our website and at check-in. There is free parking in and around the hotel on the side streets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

With out having to break the band when traveling, We try to find rooms with Queen beds so we aren't forced to get two room. My husband wanted FREE WiFi , and we thought for convinence free breakfast and parking would be an added bonus, but not necessary. The Pine Inn had it all. It was right smack in the middle to Ocean Ave. Carmels main street, with their private parking lot. Free American Breakfast and High Speed Internet. We had a lovely traditional room just like what is pictured on their web site, so no suprises when we got there. The bathroom was luxurious with a tv, and the teen boy and girl both fought over who would bathe and watch tv in the deep jetted bathtub. Our room did not have an indoor corridor, which I was concerned would be noisey, but was actually more quiet than other hotels we stayed. Attached to the hotel is El Fornaio italian resturant, which is pricey, but good and also serves the breakfast for Pine Inn guests, they also have a bakery and coffee counter. We paid $289, which is more than we normally spend, but considering the location, we will never stay any place else next time we visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marleymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

As a native of Northern California, having visited Carmel a hundred or more times, I had always wanted to stay at the Pine Inn, so on this visit we did. We loved it! Exceptional staff (thank you, Karla). Comfortable room (standard king) with a nice firm bed. Very nice marble tub/shower with a big dressing area with ironing board, iron, hair dryer. Good amenities. Great view over the treetops to the Pacific. Lovely old-timey decor. The hotel restaurant is Il Fornaio, and the food was very very good, service was excellent. Perfect location. No elevators, but the stairs were carpeted with big handrails. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking Ocean Avenue, and was very quiet (Carmel is a quiet town at night). Will stay there again but would upgrade to a King Superior just for a little more space.

Room Tip: Book months earlier than your intended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verona2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
341 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

I booked this hotel through the visitors service in Monterey, Resort2Me.com. The room rate included a deluxe two bedded room, free bottled water, refrigerator in room, $20 per person voucher for dinner at on site restaurant, free breakfast, turndown service, robes and free parking. I thought the deal was terrific and so was the hotel. Staff are friendly, courteous and quite helpful. The location was terrific. We could walk to and enjoy dinners out without concern about driving back after a little wine. It was a short drive to the beach, the Monterey aquarium and coastal hikes.
The only disappointments were very slow internet connection and breakfast. The food was fine on day one, but there was a change in personnel and a woman took on the management of the buffet on the second two days of our stay. She was very slow to get all the items out (for example she might have coffee ready by opening, but water and juice might come out significantly later in the morning), the oatmeal was cold, watery and generally not tasty, very limited fruit and it didn't appear to be fresh. Eat breakfast elsewhere, but otherwise our stay at the Pine Inn was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We loved the Pine Inn. We reserved a ocean view king and truly enjoyed the ocean view. We loved the quaint and antique feel of the hotel. As other reviews have noted, they do not have an elevator but we knew that and were fine. The location was perfect. You can walk to all the shops and restaurants as well as the beach. We also enjoyed Il Fornaio. The breakfast (included on weekdays) was also very tasty. We highly recommend the Pine Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

I was there on a business and the hotel was just so beautiful. You are right downtown in the middle of everything. I got up in the morning and took a walk to the beach which was just blocks away. The staff was so accommodating. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggystardust10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing