We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pine Inn
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$443
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$649
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$611
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
267
243
116
41
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
243
116
41
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil fornaiono elevatoroldest hotelocean avenuehistoric propertythe main streetceiling fanhotel restaurantfew blocksbuffet breakfaststreet parkingcarmel by the seaperfect locationart galleriesroom rateshort walk to the beachdowntown carmel
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Highly recommended Inn. Beautifully presented albeit the bathroom was very small other than that we loved our very short sty and wished we had longer. The reception design makes you feel like you're transported back in time and the staff were very pleasant.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank swampykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spent 3 wonderful nights at this charming inn located just 3-4 blocks from the ocean. (Breakfast which was included) was quite ample and very tasty though the same every morning. The staff is more than hospitable and though they had met us only upon checking, they remembered our name and room number each time we approached the reception desk. The room was small but ample and very nicely appointed. Most important of all, it was clean -- and I am PICKY about that. The location is the best as far as we were concerned -- being close to the beautiful ocean and in the midst of quaint shopping. Not going to find run of the mill shops in this area. Only negative factor here is that there is no elevator as it is the oldest inn in Carmel. Assistance with luggage is available.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is in a great location but doesn't have any air conditioning so you need to open your windows to get air into the room.

That's not too bad until the restaurant takes out the trash at 1am or people start blowing the street down at 7 am. Then there is the trash truck at 8, all 10 feet below our open windows. It actually sounds as if they are in the room. For over $200 a night I hope to get a good night's sleep.

If I had it to do again I'd stay away from the Main Street in a quieter area and drive or walk into town.

This isn't so much a knock on the hotel, it is over 100 years old and with no ventilation, I should have known what to expect. If you don't mind stuffy, no worries.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that overlooks the back street, the noise will wake you throughout the night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Only spent 1 night he in Carmel and regretted not have more time . The hotel is fairly historic and is a very nice place to stay . Room was very nice with good views . The breakfast was plentiful and tasty although atmosphere a little stuffy. Most staff were friendly. Didn't have a room safe and not all features worked on the TV - minor irritations but the place of Carmel made up for everything

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel is located in the best possible place in Carmel, right on the main street and 2 blocks fom the beach. It was built in 1903 and it keeps it's charm! The interior seems old but in a great shape, very clean and cozy. Il Fornaio restaurant inside is a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews