We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location, a very bad parking”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great location, a very bad parking”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed there only one night (Saturday to Sunday). Our room was on the 2nd floor, facing the main street - no issues. The bathroom was huge, with shower and bathtub jacuzzi. It was clean. The bedroom had a funky/dated flower decor feel but it was OK. It was a bit noisy as our room was close to the entrance to the hotel rooms. For a b-fast we got 2 voucher $10/each (if I remember correctly) to the Il Fornaio restaurant that is in the courtyard. It was OK. The only issue we had with the place is parking. The parking in Carmel is not easy anyway but if you are staying overnight, you better get a place with a guaranteed parking. We arrived after 6 PM and the small hotel parking lot was fool - it cannot hold all guests cars! The staff actually doesn't care about your parking issue and tells you to park on the street, which you cannot since there are time restrictions on almost all streets.... We ended up parking at the library parking spot but had to re-park our car early Sunday morning. Overall - OK hotel with a great location but get there early to grab a spot and then just walk through the town.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbt_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    207
    102
    33
    19
See reviews for
65
373
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This little Inn is very quaint and very welcoming. Although the rooms are a bit small they were very clean and the bed was very comfty. The staff was extremely friendly, especially our waiter in the restaurant, Carlos. He was very efficient and very friendly! We loved the town and our stay in Carmel by the Sea!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie4009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Lovely welcome on arrival, only stayed here for 1 night, the reception area is really oldey worldey with with log fires burning, the oldey wordey continues through the hotel but it is one of the oldest buildings in Carmel, we enjoyed the breakfast, great locaation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended Inn. Beautifully presented albeit the bathroom was very small other than that we loved our very short sty and wished we had longer. The reception design makes you feel like you're transported back in time and the staff were very pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank swampykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Spent 3 wonderful nights at this charming inn located just 3-4 blocks from the ocean. (Breakfast which was included) was quite ample and very tasty though the same every morning. The staff is more than hospitable and though they had met us only upon checking, they remembered our name and room number each time we approached the reception desk. The room was small but ample and very nicely appointed. Most important of all, it was clean -- and I am PICKY about that. The location is the best as far as we were concerned -- being close to the beautiful ocean and in the midst of quaint shopping. Not going to find run of the mill shops in this area. Only negative factor here is that there is no elevator as it is the oldest inn in Carmel. Assistance with luggage is available.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is in a great location but doesn't have any air conditioning so you need to open your windows to get air into the room.

That's not too bad until the restaurant takes out the trash at 1am or people start blowing the street down at 7 am. Then there is the trash truck at 8, all 10 feet below our open windows. It actually sounds as if they are in the room. For over $200 a night I hope to get a good night's sleep.

If I had it to do again I'd stay away from the Main Street in a quieter area and drive or walk into town.

This isn't so much a knock on the hotel, it is over 100 years old and with no ventilation, I should have known what to expect. If you don't mind stuffy, no worries.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that overlooks the back street, the noise will wake you throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yoxall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Only spent 1 night he in Carmel and regretted not have more time . The hotel is fairly historic and is a very nice place to stay . Room was very nice with good views . The breakfast was plentiful and tasty although atmosphere a little stuffy. Most staff were friendly. Didn't have a room safe and not all features worked on the TV - minor irritations but the place of Carmel made up for everything

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,655 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing