We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Perfect Location, perfect room, excellent breakfast and good service. Just perfect. This is one to revisit. Carmel is a delight with great restaurants and shops. The beach is beautiful and we watched a school of dolphin come close to shore

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    202
    101
    29
    16
See reviews for
64
358
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Pine Inn couldn't be better positioned - walk out the front door and you're smack in the centre of Carmel and 5 minutes from the beach. The building is old and has bags of character - a real old fashioned hotel experience with great service. The age does have one or two disadvantages, the main one from our perspective being the very noisy air conditioning unit which seemed to be on the roof above our 3rd floor room at the back of the building. It did disturb our sleep, especially as we were still getting over jet lag. The room itself was perfect for our needs and the breakfasts were also very good (choice of tea not great if you like normal breakfast tea, but this seemed to be a problem in California generally, not exclusive to the Pine Inn). Parking is limited in the lot behind the hotel, but it didn't affect us and there is plenty of street parking in Carmel.
Carmel itself is a beautiful little town with a fabulous beach. Nice relaxed feel to the place in spite of its celebrity status and we wished we had stayed longer. Great choice of restaurants - we ate in La Bicyclette which was very high quality, and The Grill, where the food was also of a good standard.
Carmel Mission is worth a visit and of course the scenery on Big Sur is a highlight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in October. Our room had a great view of the bay and the room was nice and clean and big. The service was good except for the second evening; the maid came to turn down the bed at 7pm when I had just come out of the shower. I asked her to come back in 10 minutes, but she said she had another hotel to service. That was weird. But generally the people were nice and the service good. Nice hotel. A couple of bones to pick:
1. The breakfast was free on Friday morning and it was a great meal, all you could eat. On Saturday however, they give you $5 vouchers for the restaurant attached to the hotel. Really? You can't splurge $10-$15 with the prices you charge?
2. You had to jiggle the toilet handle sometimes.
3. The window wouldn't stay open.
That said, the place is nice, great location, and a nice room. For $260/night I didn't expect the problems and probably would stay at a different place next time for less money.

Room Tip: Good views on the third floor, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joethejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Pine Inn! The decor was very fitting for the style of hotel. However, our room was not air conditioned and we only had one functioning window in the bathroom. It got quite warm during the day, but the staff did bring fans to better accommodate us. The location was great and the hotel restaurant was amazing!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MKT578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The Pine Inn is a charming old hotel in the center of Carmel. It does have its quirks, but it is old and beautiful and that just added to its charm. Our room was clean had a fantastic view of the town. We were on the third floor and didn't feel the lack of an elevator was a problem. However, if stairs are a problem for you, this probably would not be a good choice. The staff was fantastic. Everyone we spoke with was friendly and helpful- making suggestions for restaurants, giving directions and even returning an earring I lost the first night there. Breakfast in the restaurant was good- both from the menu on the weekend and the buffet during the week. I was very impressed with the buffet as hotel breakfast buffets are usually unremarkable, but everything was fresh and hot and the selection was good. We only did dinner one night in the restaurant, but it was very good and we regretted not eating there again. Parking on the weekend was a little bit of a pain, but from Sunday on we had no problem finding a spot in the lot. The location is on the lower edge of the shopping/restaurants and only a few blocks from the beach. It is an easy walk down, but uphill coming back-a very refreshing early morning walk. If we return to Carmel I would not hesitate to stay at The charming Pine Inn. My only complaint (which has nothing to do with the inn) is that ALL the shops and galleries in Carmel close early (5-6 pm). There is literally nothing open except the restaurants and bars after that time. I really wanted to visit the shops and galleries but I had too many other things planned during the day.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RRMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KC-MO
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

So we start with a third floor room- oh did I say no elevators and narrow - oh yes historic and charming staircase. But then--oops the card doesn't work-- you know the drill.
So then the toilet is plugged--and yes plugged the second day too--no we only used it appropriately. Then the windows don't open and frankly I don't know what I would have done I. A fire!! No sign in the room.
Then the Internet didn't connect x 2 days. Donna at the front desk said her GMs iPhone connected so the problem was mine--indeed it was -ugh
So was it terrible no!
What about the buffet breakfast.
For many non-Americans I can only apologize - the spread was meager, the bread scraps left over from their Italian restaurant
Carmel is expensive so if you get here cheap know what you're getting.
Frankly a disappointment- needs some infrastructure, some better caring management a better food service- besides that great

Room Tip: Shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breathdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Potential Guests,

I am somewhat at a loss on how to respond to this guest.

Let me first say that I (we) am very sorry that the accommodations were not up to this guests' expectations. I sincerely wish that this guest would have contacted the front desk or me during his stay. By doing so, we could have listened to the issues and made the necessary repairs or simply moved the guest to another room.

With regard to life safety issues, there is an evacuation plan located in the Guest Directory as mandated by Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Lastly, the full American breakfast buffet that is complimentary to the guests serves freshly cooked food each morning. We have a bakery on property where the breads and pastries are freshly made each morning as well. Our restaurant, Il Fornaio translates to "The Baker" in English, hence the freshly made breads and pastries.

Sincerely,

John Lloyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place. The room was comfortable and having windows that opened to let in the sea breeze yet remained quite was the best. Breakfast was served in the adjoining restaurant in a beautiful, sunny glass enclosed porch. The entire experience was very romantic and relaxing.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing