We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly old fashioned but nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Slightly old fashioned but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night and found it a pleasant hotel with slightly dated decor but very friendly staff, free Wi Fi is available and there is a separate coffee shop and restaurant on site.
Parking in Carmel is not so easy but if you can get a space in the car park it is very close to the hotel.
Carmel buildings have no numbers in the address so keep you eyes peeled or you may drive past the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearsdenbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    202
    101
    29
    17
See reviews for
64
359
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Frequent traveller totally charmed in this hotel, very special atmosphere in perfect location. Old but still going strong. Stylish breakfast area, and in house italien restaurant. Open terrace and room w a view. Highly recommended, we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Odd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the last stop on an amazing trip up the CA coast to San Francisco, Napa and Carmel. We were very excited to stay in this cute beach town of adorable cottages and shops.

When we arrived, we had to trust the Navigation to find as anything in Carmel there is no street addresses. Just locations like "Between 6th and Ocean Ave." Once we finally found it, we checked in and was a little surprised at the lack of service. We gave up on waiting for the Bell man to help carry our bags to the Room.

The room itself was dated, not the type of furniture you would expect to see in a beach town. The worst part, the room had poor ventilation and only the bedroom had a window to allow fresh air inside. Never felt comfortable...Felt like I was staying in a museum. They also gave us a silly coupon ($5) to use for breakfast. Passed on that!

Loved Carmel and the town, hated the Pine Inn...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ixeyeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Pine Inn is right in the heart of Carmel. Authentic, historic but immaculate. The buffet breakfast had lots of variety. Parking was convenient. There is a restaurant and a breakfast/ lunch bistro that is great if you want to take a picnic lunch with you for a day heading down the coast to Big Sur, one of the most spectacular drives I have ever taken.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NME828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben Lomond, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently spent a night in a corner bay-view room at Carmel's Pine Inn. We were there for a special dinner so staying there made sense. Our room was spacious with a wonderful period-piece king bed. Our only problem was a nonfunctioning outlet in the bathroom. I'm sure it will be fixed by the next time we stay there. If stairs are a problem, this is not your place to stay. All rooms are on the 2nd or 3rd floors with indoor stairs. It was not a problem with us, especially with the cheerful helpful porters. Having a restaurant on the premises made for a convenient breakfast, which was very good. The dinner at our event was excellent. We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pine Inn in May. Great location. Really nice staff especially Tom who was super friendly and gave us great restaurant suggestions. They also provide complimentary bottles of water in the room which is nice. In addition you can park in their hotel lot (if space available)! Only negative for me personally is that since it is an older historic hotel it doesn't have that renovated, modern, crisp feel, it feels slightly aged. It also seemed that a lot of the rooms were different sizes since historic building, I wonder how they big who gets the bigger 1 bedrooms versus the smaller ones.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Historic Pine Inn is a lovely facility with the ambiance of a by-gone era. The lobby is charmingly Victorian and the rooms with the ocean view are well-sized, clean, and well-appointed. The hotel's location is great for walking all over downtown Carmel. However, on both the Friday and Saturday nights we were at Pine Inn in mid-May, there were loud, music-driven, outdoor parties on the patio below that went on till after 10pm. It was annoying enough to suggest that guests in rooms facing the ocean might want to inquire ahead of arrival about parties on the nights they plan, then ask for different rooms. Other than that, the hotel is worth a visit!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank wwalleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#16 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#12 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Property: Pine Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing