We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel in the heart of Carmel.”
Review of Pine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pine Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

For location and history, this place cannot be beat. Also, one of the best hotel breakfasts period. Bar none. Whenever we stay at a hotel we always choose properties that include breakfast, and Pine Inn's breakfast, served in the dining room of their on-site restaurant, Il Fornaio, was head and shoulders above the rest. Eggs, gourmet bacon, French toast, an assortment of croissants and pastries, fruit and yogurt, delicious granola, and all the coffee and juice you can drink. Situated on Ocean Avenue, just a couple blocks up from the beach, this is one of the best located hotels in Carmel, in the heart of the shopping district. We parked our car in the hotel's adjacent lot, and easily walked everywhere we wanted to go. One of the first hotels in Carmel, it's big on charm and the decor captures the spirit of bygone day.

There were a few drawbacks. The parking lot did not have enough space for all the guests, and street parking wasn't convenient. Some rooms are a bit on the small side depending on which you reserve, and a fresh renovation couldn't hurt. Some of the appointments and furnishings do seem a little tired. No food or drink in the lobby area is definitely a drag. Overall, the Pine Inn is a quirky, quaint, and thoroughly enjoyable place to visit. I would recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank MrsBrashier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed several times at the Pine Inn.
You can't beat the location, right on the main drag close to everything in Carmel.
The hotel is a relic, but a fun one, of a bygone era. It keeps its historic charm. That means that, though the rooms have modern conveniences and are decorated in period styles, you won't find the latest style of decor. That's not why you go here anyway; it's for the charm
Nice romantic getaway.
Breakfasts are very good and usually included.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is centrally located on Ocean Avenue, the main street of Carmel-by-the-Sea. One can easily walk to the beach or visit the shops and galleries. The staff is friendly and the rooms, although not luxurious, are quite comfortable. A full breakfast buffet is included in the connecting Il Fornaio Restaurant on weekdays, and breakfast can be purchased on weekends. A big benefit in this town of limited off-street parking is the free parking provided in the inn's lot across the street. The inn does not allow pets, so I will not be staying there the next time I take my dogs, but I would stay here again when traveling without them.

Room Tip: Rooms in the east wing are away from the restaurant exhaust fan. Our room # 33 had twin beds, a pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for a night and found it a pleasant hotel with slightly dated decor but very friendly staff, free Wi Fi is available and there is a separate coffee shop and restaurant on site.
Parking in Carmel is not so easy but if you can get a space in the car park it is very close to the hotel.
Carmel buildings have no numbers in the address so keep you eyes peeled or you may drive past the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bearsdenbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Frequent traveller totally charmed in this hotel, very special atmosphere in perfect location. Old but still going strong. Stylish breakfast area, and in house italien restaurant. Open terrace and room w a view. Highly recommended, we will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Odd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the last stop on an amazing trip up the CA coast to San Francisco, Napa and Carmel. We were very excited to stay in this cute beach town of adorable cottages and shops.

When we arrived, we had to trust the Navigation to find as anything in Carmel there is no street addresses. Just locations like "Between 6th and Ocean Ave." Once we finally found it, we checked in and was a little surprised at the lack of service. We gave up on waiting for the Bell man to help carry our bags to the Room.

The room itself was dated, not the type of furniture you would expect to see in a beach town. The worst part, the room had poor ventilation and only the bedroom had a window to allow fresh air inside. Never felt comfortable...Felt like I was staying in a museum. They also gave us a silly coupon ($5) to use for breakfast. Passed on that!

Loved Carmel and the town, hated the Pine Inn...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ixeyeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Pine Inn is right in the heart of Carmel. Authentic, historic but immaculate. The buffet breakfast had lots of variety. Parking was convenient. There is a restaurant and a breakfast/ lunch bistro that is great if you want to take a picnic lunch with you for a day heading down the coast to Big Sur, one of the most spectacular drives I have ever taken.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NME828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Inn

Address: Ocean Avenue between Lincoln St. and Monte Verde St., Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#16 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £159 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Inn is a boutique, full-service hotel, boasting the most elegant rooms in Carmel and all the amenities you expect. Our custom-furnished rooms feature Aireloom Pillow-Top mattresses for the best night’s sleep. We are located in the heart of Carmel, California surrounded by quaint shops, art galleries, and hidden courtyards—only four blocks from Carmel’s sandy white beach (breathtaking views of Pebble Beach and Point Lobos!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing