We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
305
269
122
44
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
269
122
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews il fornaio no elevator oldest hotel ocean avenue historic property ceiling fan charming hotel the main street street parking buffet breakfast few blocks perfect location carmel by the sea art galleries turn down service short walk to the beach room rate
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Our first visit to carmel. The Pine Inn is in a great location and we would stay there again but just be aware of some of the challenges. They have no elevator so you will carry luggage up the stairs. Parking if you have a car can be challenging so don't stress about it. If you are on the side of the hotel on ocean drive it will be noisy especially on a weekend night with the party goers. Breakfast was poor. However room was charming and of a European quality and it was great to be staying in the heart of Carmel. We got a solid deal thru booking com so at that price will stay again. Service was solid and front desk very good. For a first visit and for a couple of nights it is just fine.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Pine Inn in Carmel looks like it would be great. It has I'll Fornaio , an excellent restaurant. The lobby is perhaps the most elegant in Carmel. But you can't have a drink in there or really use it. It's sad because it is so cozy with a fireplace. From there , it goes way downhill. It's almost bait-and-switch or not truth in advertising.

In fairness, the rooms are small but well thought out. Conspicuous absences: an in-room coffee maker, critical to me as I have to have coffee within 8 minutes of getting up. You can't get coffee until 7, but across the street is Carmel Roasting Company , probably the best coffee in Carmel, open at 6:00. Antiquated bathrooms .

This is not a place for older or weak people with luggage. No elevator or Bellmen, so you have to schlep your bags up the steep stairs. Difficult at best .

The manager is completely unhelpful and blames all of her decisions on her boss and the owner.

I had no cash and wanted to leave the maid $ 5 for my one-night stay. The manager would not cash my check even though she had my credit card as security. Never heard of a hotel not cashing a check as a convenience, but they obviously don't care about guests' conveniences.

Location is good . Walk to almost everything. Best breakfast deal in town:$10 for a bountiful buffet.

As for me, I will stay at Monte Verde Inn or Cypress Inn (see also). The attitude here sucks, so to speak !

Bridgman Si Señor

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank BirdmanSiSenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Good Morning,

Just wanted to set the record straight.

We do have bellmen on duty all day and evening. For those who have difficulties climbing stairs we have several rooms on the ground level, which require no climbing at all.

Lastly, most hotels do not cash checks due to the abundance of ATM's located throughout the city. In fact, there is an ATM less than 2 blocks away.

John Lloyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Positive is that is a short walk to the beach. Quaint but very tired lobby and furnishings. No air conditioning, very few power outlets, ice you need to get from the receptionist, inconvenient. Staff can be rude especially if you don't tip them as often as much as they would like. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Silvemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We checked in on the 25th and were told about their off street parking with a joking comment that "if you get a spot there don't move". If we didn't get a spot in their lot we were told to just find a 30 minute or 2 hour parking spot and to check our tires from time to time for a white chalk mark. In other words...continuous babysitting of our vehicle. We circled the streets for the next hour and a half trying to even find a 2 hour spot. No luck. What a frustrating experience. The staff was unhelpful and kept repeating the same guidance. "Just find a spot". 90 minutes and we're still not parked. After not being able to park and relax we checked out and left and went to Monterey instead. If they will not fix the parking...pass on this one. Should also mention the tiny and tired old rooms with windy, narrow staircases that you will have to pull your luggage up. No elevators and no help from the staff. You're on your own.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SeeinSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlloyd54, General Manager at Pine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Good Afternoon,

It is true. Parking is a big issue for the Pine Inn as well as for Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Our parking lot can only accommodate half of the needed spaces and is on a first-come, first-served basis.

Having said that, the Pine Inn has been trying, unsuccessfully, for thirty years to build an underground garage. The city keeps turning us down even though the owner of the Pine Inn has agreed to pay for the whole project.

I encourage anyone who has stayed here or is planning on staying here to write to the mayor and express your discontent.

Lastly, we do have a bell person on duty all day to assist with luggage.

Thank you

John Lloyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We were very much looking forward to staying at the Pine Inn, but the rooms were very disappointing - very small and very tired (virtually no enamel left in bath etc.). Staff unhelpful and rude. The Pine Inn oversold and under delivered. Avoid, somewhere a nice as Carmel must have much better options.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere, the rooms we had were very tired
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews