We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
US$226
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
US$620
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$530
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$611
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
184
160
48
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
160
48
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknotty pinefrittataredwood roommake your own wafflesfew blocksocean avebagelsfamily suitethe location is perfectwaffle makerfairy talecharming placebed breakfastexcellent breakfastshort walk to the beachclose to townsmall bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stopped in Carmel By the Sea on our way from Yosemite to LA driving down the coast. They were very accommodating and gave us a room that had a fire place and was on the second floor so we could hear the waves from the ocean breaking. Talk about a great nights sleep! It was close enough to downtown and only a short drive to pebble beach golf course.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stang127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed in a 2 storey room with 2 double beds, one bed is upstairs in the attic part which was perfect for our 9 year old but might be tricky for very little kids with the stairs. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was really nice, plenty to choose from and very tasty. Easy parking. Very close to the centre of Carmel easy walking distance everywhere including the amazing beach. Not cheap but then it was August in the middle of Carmel! Very clean and very comfy beds. Some other guests said their room/chalet was very small so might be as well to choose your room carefully from their website, ours was enormous! Shabby chic style but it's not shabby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallylou01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This looked great on the website! The property is very crowded together - not the spacious place the website made it look. The room was small with not much room for suitcases. The bathtub/shower was so disgusting that we didn't use it. You couldn't see to read. There was neither AC nor screens so you couldn't get any air circulating. The owner was very unfriendly - he served breakfast, which was good. You could hear people in another room. The location was within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Palm room of the Green Lantern over the Labor Day Weekend. Contrary to earlier reviews, we did not notice any unpleasant smell in the room, nor did we find used bed linen, nor was the room too small -in fact the bathroom was huge, with a refrigerator and a full length bathtub!
The room is located on the second floor of the main building, with the door facing the back. The place is like a converted attic, with a low ceiling, and requires opening all the windows and the front door to let out the afternoon heat. It helps to be short, as one has to bend down to go around the roof rafters to the other side of the room.

Parking is tight, with only 12 spots for 18 rooms, although one can park around the block on the 7th avenue side.
The breakfast was very satisfactory, with at least one hot cooked dish, such as french cinnamon toast, or egg souffle, in addition to the usual cereal, oatmeal, sliced fruits, bagels,toast, raisin bread, muffins, and fruit juice.
The daily afternoon appetizers include lemonade and iced tea, sliced fruit, salsa, tortilla chips, crackers, cheese, sliced salami, chocolate fudge, and vanilla wafers.
Each room has its own outside patio with patio tables and chairs, under a garden umbrella, facing the sun.

The series of cottages are located within walking distance of the beach and multiple restaurants in downtown Carmel. Lighting at night on the side streets can be a problem, so bring flashlights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

we stayed in the Palm room for one night. Nice and clean room even if the furnishing is a bit old, above all in the bathroom. Great breakfast. Free parking and free wireless internet access. Good position near ocean avenue.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralItalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews