We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Id forgotten until pulling up that my husband and I'd stayed here twenty years ago. Nothing much has changed. Still pretty funky but cosy. great local to shops and the beach. Terrific breakfast kept us going all day. The rooms are a bit ramshackle and worn, but it you can overlook the lumpy beds and worn carpet it's a great place to stay. lots of character !

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank MJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Green Lantern is not a new modern hotel. It is old and charming. The individual cottages offer many options to guests and families. Our family of 4 stayed in the Cypress. The room was spacious and VERY CLEAN. Upstairs area for teens to sleep and watch tv and downstairs sleeping and sitting space for adults. Very comfy beds. The area was quiet and perfectly located to walk to the shops and the beach. The Inn keepers were friendly and always busy. The breakfast was simple and enjoyable as were the afternoon treats they offered. Great place to anchor when in Carmel. we would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiritHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our family arrived very late at the Green Lantern Inn. The proprietor was very accommodating by leaving the keys for us in the mailbox, and also was ready to answer our late night phone call in giving directions. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, but was adjacent to another room, and although we had arrived very late, we could hear the television in the next room. The grounds are very well kept with lovely flowers and a running brook-like fountain in the yard, and the breakfast was typical for a B&B. The Green Lantern is in walking distance from the Pacific Ocean, and only a short drive from the shopping & dining district. The homes in the neighborhood are all beautifully landscaped, and there is a nice walking/biking path along the ocean drive. Carmel-by-the-sea has a storybook-like atmosphere., and also only a short drive to Monterry.

Room Tip: Willow is largest room - King bed with a seperate living room and sofa-bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I recently stayed at the Green Lantern Inn and albeit very well located and with a lot of potential, it is clear that the current ownership has stopped investing in this property. The rooms were dated and lacking in many ways. One of the spindals on the four post bed was broken and missing. The bathrooms haven't been updated, perhaps ever. The furnishings were tired and outdated. Given the location and clientele coming to Carmel, I would have expected a lot more. My advice to whoever stays there, ask when or if any part of the property has been updated. Depending upon the answer you receive, that should tell you about this property.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank morsel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Green Lantern Inn is a cute little complex a couple blocks from the beach, right off the main drag of restaurants and shops. The room (I stayed in Birch) was small and the showers weren't the best with low water pressure and water often switching from hot to very cold. But the price was right, and the location so close to big sur, point lobos, beach and restaurants, it was a good place to crash for a night. They provide some parking spaces, which was also convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This place is amazing!! This 1929 bungalow style b&b is the best kept secret in Carmel. Totally quaint little cottages, ivy covered walk-ways, and a staff that is attentive and hospitable are all highlights of this cozy little hideaway. I haven't even mentioned that they offer a hot breakfast of waffles and egg casserole made onsite every morning with fresh fruit, cereals, bagles etc. as well. They also have tea time every afternoon where they offer cakes, cheeses, crackers and nuts to get You through til dinner. Prices are extremely reasonable and you are so close to the ocean you can hear the waves in the evening and morning from the front cottages. My wife and I came all the way from Dallas, TX to visit this area and I can tell you it's the best place we've stayed in. Run don't walk to the Green Lantern Inn you will find yourself as enchanted as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hornedfrog69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is an adorable B&B, the grounds are beautiful. If you are looking for quiet then you might want to go to a newer hotel, the room walls and ceiling are PAPER THIN! not only can you hear walking, drawers and doors closing you can hear exactly what others are saying. The rooms are in need of updating but are clean. Not a great breakfast....an egg casserol, some fruit, cereal, breads for toast but fine. The best thing is the location...2 short blocks to ocean and 2 short blocks to ocean drive where all the shops are! The staff is very friendly!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracybalcius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 25 in Carmel
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £103 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing