We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were Lucky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We rocked up in Carmel with no bookings in the middle of the Concours D'elegance. There was one room available in the whole of Carmel so we had no choice but to take it.
We loved the Green Lantern, everything was so cute. It was old school in style and all the better for it. The staff were just terrific and a credit to the place.
Great location and the breakfast was an added treat.
I do recommend being in Carmel for the car show, the town has a real buzz about it.
Thanks Green Lantern for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed in the Holly cottage and it was really lovely!

Just a 2 minute walk from the beach, and only 1 minute to the town shops and restaurants.

The breakfast was really yummy, everything was fresh and you could tell was home made.
From 4-5pm there is afternoon tea served with lots of nibbles. - We enjoyed tucking in to this to tide us over before dinner!

There's also tea, coffee and bottled water on offer all day which is a nice touch I thought.

Great place to stay in Carmel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I discovered this Inn while walking in Carmel by the Sea with a house owner there. I went there twice. Once last May 2012 and again last August 2012.. I really like the Staff there. They make every effort to please and serve excellent breakfasts and 'Tea Time' in the afternoon. Each time I was travelling with grand children from Paris, France. They loved the privacy of our cottage, the sea so near and the town galleries so inviting. Carmel reminds me of the French riviera and also of Brittany in North West France. The Atlantic there is warmed up by the Gulf Stream, it seems that the Pacific is also less cold in Carmel than in San Francisco. The staff indicated to us restaurants and entertainments.
Each time we stayed two nights. How nice to come back to our nicely decorated room after a whole day walking in Point Lobos Park... I now plan another few days there with my husband!

Room Tip: Our room was labelled "Pine" I believe. It is a small room with a lovely bathroom. Ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneegfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at the Green Lantern for 3 nights... and loved it. The location is fantastic, just a block away from Ocean Ave and a few blocks from Carmel Beach. Really easy to walk around Carmel, and back from any restaurants/bars you might stay at late and avoid driving.

Breakfast was great, always a nice hot quiche and fresh fruit. The coffee was excellent and loved the bagels. We didn't have any of the make-your-own waffles, but everybody who did really seemed to love them.

A nice surprise was the complimentary snacks from 4-5pm every day. Such a nice touch... my wife and I would bring some wine down there and just relax and converse with other guests.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, which was perfect for us. A TV, mid size frig, and a smaller bathroom. It was very cute and the "wallpaper" advertised on the website had been removed and replaced with paint.

Couple of comments...
-This is not the newest B&B, so don't go expecting high end rooms and furniture etc. They are older small buildings with thin walls. Overall, it is very quaint and guests are considerate and not loud at night or early morning, which was very nice.
-The frig in our room was a great size, but froze our food. I found the temperature dial on the back, but tried every setting and it kept freezing soda, water, and food. I guess it was just stuck on high...
-having a wine bottle opener in the room would be nice. we had to continually go to the kitchen to ask to borrow one (yes, it would have been easier if we had our own, but we forgot it).
-having an iron and ironing board in the room would be nice... I made do without one and didn't ask the staff if they had one to use, but just an observation.
-wish they would allow small pets, as we would love to bring our dog the next time.

Overall, those couple of things are fairly picky. None of these would dissuade us from staying at the Green Lantern again. The staff is great and very helpful and welcoming. The location is fantastic and plenty of parking. We loved the fact that it was a little older and rustic, as that's what gave it it's charm. All the little buildings with 2-3 rooms in each one was kind of cool too. Next time, we might try to get a larger room...

We would highly recommend staying at the Green Lantern.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expresso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Id forgotten until pulling up that my husband and I'd stayed here twenty years ago. Nothing much has changed. Still pretty funky but cosy. great local to shops and the beach. Terrific breakfast kept us going all day. The rooms are a bit ramshackle and worn, but it you can overlook the lumpy beds and worn carpet it's a great place to stay. lots of character !

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank MJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Green Lantern is not a new modern hotel. It is old and charming. The individual cottages offer many options to guests and families. Our family of 4 stayed in the Cypress. The room was spacious and VERY CLEAN. Upstairs area for teens to sleep and watch tv and downstairs sleeping and sitting space for adults. Very comfy beds. The area was quiet and perfectly located to walk to the shops and the beach. The Inn keepers were friendly and always busy. The breakfast was simple and enjoyable as were the afternoon treats they offered. Great place to anchor when in Carmel. we would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiritHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our family arrived very late at the Green Lantern Inn. The proprietor was very accommodating by leaving the keys for us in the mailbox, and also was ready to answer our late night phone call in giving directions. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, but was adjacent to another room, and although we had arrived very late, we could hear the television in the next room. The grounds are very well kept with lovely flowers and a running brook-like fountain in the yard, and the breakfast was typical for a B&B. The Green Lantern is in walking distance from the Pacific Ocean, and only a short drive from the shopping & dining district. The homes in the neighborhood are all beautifully landscaped, and there is a nice walking/biking path along the ocean drive. Carmel-by-the-sea has a storybook-like atmosphere., and also only a short drive to Monterry.

Room Tip: Willow is largest room - King bed with a seperate living room and sofa-bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 25 in Carmel
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £110 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing