We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it was years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Years ago my husband and I stayed at the Green Lantern several times a year, and we loved it, however as soon as management changed it really went downhill. Originally, it was immaculate in every way, both inside and out, and we loved it. The grounds were lovely, and well kept, not so now. The last time we stayed there,the grounds were a mess, the night table was sticky, there was a hole in the blanket on the bed, the bathroom was disgusting and in need of repair. Such a shame and sad as we loved staying there, and had no complaints about the front office staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbumTracyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Green Lantern this month after finding their $69 January special listed on Trip Advisor. I was excited to find such affordable lodging in Carmel, but we did not have very high expectations.

Pros:

- Receptionists were friendly and helpful
- Complimentary breakfast was very good, with choices both healthful and indulgent
- Location is excellent, only a couple blocks away from Ocean Avenue and the beach and within easy walking distance of the main part of downtown Carmel, if you are in good condition
- Room (Cedar) and bathroom were both more spacious than we expected

Cons

- There were no operable windows in the main part of our room, only the bathroom. The room was quite stuffy when we arrived and had an odd air-freshener smell to it, which we were only able to alleviate by leaving our front door ajar for several hours in the (cold) evening.
- Pillows on the bed felt quite cheap, like the $5 variety you can get from discount stores, and uncomfortable
- Outside areas (especially those outside of the view of passersby) are very much in need of attention. As we arrived at our room, we were greeted with a view of a broken trellis behind which were several miscellaneous items (toilets, other fixtures). The drain by the front door of our room was overflowing with expandable foam. Cleaning up things like this would go a long way toward improving the overall look of the grounds.
- We could clearly hear the people in the room behind us, so any ideas for "romance" were quashed. This Inn is better suited for solo travelers or families.

Overall, this was a great value room for Carmel. I'm not sure if we'll stay here again, but there's a chance!

Room Tip: I asked for the "most private" room available and was given the Cedar room; this is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steveshooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Located on a quiet residential street a short walk to either the cypress-edged ocean or the downtown shops and restaurants, this inn was a peaceful place to stay. A friend and I needed a two-bed room and unfortunately, the more reasonably priced one was not available. Instead, we shared the pricier Cypress room with the loft. I enjoyed the privacy of the upstairs retreat and it's dormer window offering a distant view of the Pacific, though not the steep staircase access. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was fine...nothing spectacular, but it always included homemade granola and a hot egg dish of some kind...and we appreciated the afternoon refreshments as well. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The staff was welcoming and helpful getting around places in Carmel. The neighborhood is very safe and clean. The beach is at 5 minutes by foot. There are a few goods restaurants nearby. Room was very nice, clean and quiet. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The best we had in a bed and breakfast. We recommend the Green Lantern to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yzzabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary. Chose third floor walk-up room with fire place...smart move. Clean, quite and easy check-in. Very pleasant front desk clerk. Close to Ocean Ave and the beach. In making reservations ask for price first and ask if they discount for AAA. A little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: They have rooms with fireplaces at extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequentraveler36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My Husband and I stayed here the week before Thanksgiving on our Honeymoon as a last minute decision. We were in Southern California and driving up the coast and wanted to stop for a few days in the Carmel area. We found through Trip Advisor an awesome room rate deal and booked it for the next day for two nights! The staff are incredibly nice and helpful. We arrived late in the evening and they were very accomodating! Parking was easy right out from of the inn. Complementary breakfast included a warm quiche, fruit, waffles, hot tea, coffee, cocoa, etc. The rooms look a little dated (like cute grandmother's house style), but very clean and cozy. It was very cold when we stayed here. The heater in the room was mounted to the wall and set to come on/off through out the night. Small heater, but very powerful and warm! We loved staying here, and would definitely come back again soon! Easy to find, great location, 1 block from the main drag. 4 Blocks from the beach, and less than 20 mins to Monterey!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventureRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Charming and well located B & B within easy walking distance of Ocean Avenue shopping and Carmel beach. Pretty outside but awful in the rooms which need serious renovation. I did not get value for my money in terms of the room accommodation (through Expedia, $152.23 per night + $17.23 in taxes). In "Walnut", there was no window I could open and it got very stuffy during the day during Thanksgiving week. A fan was provided but it was inadequate to cool off the room during the daytime when the sun was out. The showerhead was so low that at 5'9" I had to bend down to get under it. No safety bars were installed in the shower, either. The bathroom cabinet was scraped and dented and the trim around it needed to be caulked.

The outside covered area for ice contained an old and dirty microwave. Another guest reported a black widow web inside the area above the doorframe.

A very nice breakfast is provided with your rate and the staff is always friendly and helpful.

This was my second visit but I will not return. The hotel is getting too run down and the lack of A/C (even in Carmel!) is a problem.

Room Tip: Do not select Walnut. No windows to open and directly backs to kitchen of reception area. Some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neighborTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
636 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#5 of 25 in Carmel
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £104 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing