We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must look twice to even realize this is a hotel and not a house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Charming and very attractive-you feel like you are actually living in Carmel. We will stay there on our way back to Norcal....This is not our first trip to Carmel, but this is the best bang for the buck in the area.

Room Tip: we had the walnut room with fireplace....lovely and worth the extra $$. Not a good choice with a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

I cannot see how anyone has a bad word to say about this little treasure. My family and I are so glad we found this hidden gem, tucked away in the local neighbourhood. The rooms are very well equipped with fridge, hair dryer, tv, DVD, alarm clock, plenty of good quality towels with complimentary toiletries. Check in was very quick and easy and the Manager was very warm and welcoming as was the unlimited coffee (iced is available), tea and water.

We where located the maple cottage complete with its own private patio area in which to enjoy a refreshment before bedtime. The property has no air condition but does have 2 portable fans in the cupboard if needed alongside several large blankets.

We slept very well with no outside noise being heard. Breakfast was very well accepted by my family with cereal, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, yoghurt, waffles, orange, apple and cranberry juice, coffee and tea etc etc. this is served in a lovely communal sitting room by a large homely fire.

I would definitely return to The Green Lantern as we thoroughly enjoyed the theming of the Inn, the staff where very welcoming and warm, it's was clean, the beds comfortable and the location was one of the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyc651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is our fourth stay in this individual chalet like accomodation, near the beach and the best shopping in town. Our cottage this time was 'the Palm' isolated by itself on the top of the property. Elegant and Cosy, no noise, just the sound of the waves. When we arrived at 4:30 pm we were offered a nice relaxing 'Tea time' fruit, savory and cakes, like in England. Breakfast is splendid also. We loved the flowers everywhere, and the interesting customers enjoying Carmel. We stayed 3 days and two nights. .

Room Tip: Our room 'Palm' is a nice quite warm room. We enjoyed it all the more that we had great need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneegfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I loved this B&B. The location was great. It had charm! It is an older B&B and our room was somewhat victorian, as is the common room in the cottage where breakfast is served. The breakfasts were incredible. We found the rooms are scattered about the property in cottage style buildings, sometimes a couple rooms per cottage. Ours was not soundproof, but neither was the occasional sound we heard bothersome. The hosts were wonderful and I would recommend this B&B to those who enjoy the charm and quaint style they have to offer. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Years ago my husband and I stayed at the Green Lantern several times a year, and we loved it, however as soon as management changed it really went downhill. Originally, it was immaculate in every way, both inside and out, and we loved it. The grounds were lovely, and well kept, not so now. The last time we stayed there,the grounds were a mess, the night table was sticky, there was a hole in the blanket on the bed, the bathroom was disgusting and in need of repair. Such a shame and sad as we loved staying there, and had no complaints about the front office staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbumTracyCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Green Lantern this month after finding their $69 January special listed on Trip Advisor. I was excited to find such affordable lodging in Carmel, but we did not have very high expectations.

Pros:

- Receptionists were friendly and helpful
- Complimentary breakfast was very good, with choices both healthful and indulgent
- Location is excellent, only a couple blocks away from Ocean Avenue and the beach and within easy walking distance of the main part of downtown Carmel, if you are in good condition
- Room (Cedar) and bathroom were both more spacious than we expected

Cons

- There were no operable windows in the main part of our room, only the bathroom. The room was quite stuffy when we arrived and had an odd air-freshener smell to it, which we were only able to alleviate by leaving our front door ajar for several hours in the (cold) evening.
- Pillows on the bed felt quite cheap, like the $5 variety you can get from discount stores, and uncomfortable
- Outside areas (especially those outside of the view of passersby) are very much in need of attention. As we arrived at our room, we were greeted with a view of a broken trellis behind which were several miscellaneous items (toilets, other fixtures). The drain by the front door of our room was overflowing with expandable foam. Cleaning up things like this would go a long way toward improving the overall look of the grounds.
- We could clearly hear the people in the room behind us, so any ideas for "romance" were quashed. This Inn is better suited for solo travelers or families.

Overall, this was a great value room for Carmel. I'm not sure if we'll stay here again, but there's a chance!

Room Tip: I asked for the "most private" room available and was given the Cedar room; this is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steveshooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Located on a quiet residential street a short walk to either the cypress-edged ocean or the downtown shops and restaurants, this inn was a peaceful place to stay. A friend and I needed a two-bed room and unfortunately, the more reasonably priced one was not available. Instead, we shared the pricier Cypress room with the loft. I enjoyed the privacy of the upstairs retreat and it's dormer window offering a distant view of the Pacific, though not the steep staircase access. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was fine...nothing spectacular, but it always included homemade granola and a hot egg dish of some kind...and we appreciated the afternoon refreshments as well. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
724 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#20 of 25 in Carmel
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#1 of 25 in Carmel
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £100 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing