We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This place could possibly be a 4, I was marginal on the 3.

Fact is, this place is quaint. it's nice, it's just nothing special. It has the Carmel quirky layout, which is a nice touch.

Here are some things to consider:
- when we got to the room (Knotty Pine) it was REALLY hot. The room has limited opening windows, and on the other hand, has a pretty big window pointing west so am assuming that warmed up the room real nice. It slowly got cooler as we opened all the windows, turned on the fan that was in the closet, and evening came... For starters, the windows/ door could have been kept open before we arrived, or the fan turned on.
- if you're interested in TV (we weren't) - it's one of those big old tube tvs, and the room is built in a way that you'd have to turn the tv to face the bed every time you wanted to watch.
- the room does have a mini refrigerator, which is nice if you needed one.
- the mattress is so-so. the pillows a bit under so-so.
- The breakfast is ok. a few options, including some home cooked casserole and that motel/ hotel make-it-yourself waffle maker you now see everywhere.
- the gardens are nice.
- staff is very cheerful and nice.
- good location, short walk to Ocean Ave. and the beach.

A major point to consider is price - there are B&Bs in Carmel you need to pay a fortune for a night in. This one does NOT break the bank. And, overall, even though I guess it sounds like we didn't like the place, we did have a really nice time, just nothing too fancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yotam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Carmel Green Lantern Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed the night on May 9th and 10th in the Birch and Laurel rooms. All I can say is WOW it was definately worth the price!! The rooms were well kept and had a nice unique rustic feel. Breafast was great and staff was very friendly. Great location and overall very cool. Defiantely worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked pretty similar
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

6th year staying at the green lantern. 4 blocks from beach, quiet, lovely breakfast which is very ample, snacks 4-5pm. Willow, spruce and magnolia great for more space also maple has two queens. Redwood has lofted top and queen down plus tub shower. Birch and knotty pine can accommodate 2 but on the smallish side.....there are other rooms too, only know of these. So for comfort/quiet/location to shops and beach and great bkfast at good price point, this is your place.
My only complaint is I wish they would sweep private patios more and power wash from time to time. Think of an old English garden cottages. People are lovely too.

Room Tip: See review
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparky011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

friendly and helpful staff and great location to beach and town... it badly needs some tender love and care.... a coat of paint would go a long way... patios need to be cleaned and pathways brushed and debris removed ....its time to purchase new towels....
may 2013.....
Bernadette.....

Room Tip: ask for a larger room as some rooms are very small for 2 adults ..
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I am so happy I found this place and trusted my instinct! I almost cancelled the reservation bc of some recent negative TripAdvsior Reviews but I needn't have worried. Everything about this place is great...location is fabulous. We didn't have to get into our car once in the 3 days we were there (except to visit Big Sur). Walk to beach, stores, galleries, etc. And did I mention Free parking? The breakfasts are wonderful...fresh fruit, make your own waffles, hot egg dish, breads, juice, organic local coffee, etc..Also, nice to have afternoon snacks in lobby everyday. Plus 24 hour acces to coffee, tea and popcorn! Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful with local tips.
The value of this place is amazing...as is the entire experience. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Loved it!

Room Tip: Our room was Evergreen, 2nd floor with a balcony...could see a sliver of the ocean...lots of wires a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleurdelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Charming and very attractive-you feel like you are actually living in Carmel. We will stay there on our way back to Norcal....This is not our first trip to Carmel, but this is the best bang for the buck in the area.

Room Tip: we had the walnut room with fireplace....lovely and worth the extra $$. Not a good choice with a lo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I cannot see how anyone has a bad word to say about this little treasure. My family and I are so glad we found this hidden gem, tucked away in the local neighbourhood. The rooms are very well equipped with fridge, hair dryer, tv, DVD, alarm clock, plenty of good quality towels with complimentary toiletries. Check in was very quick and easy and the Manager was very warm and welcoming as was the unlimited coffee (iced is available), tea and water.

We where located the maple cottage complete with its own private patio area in which to enjoy a refreshment before bedtime. The property has no air condition but does have 2 portable fans in the cupboard if needed alongside several large blankets.

We slept very well with no outside noise being heard. Breakfast was very well accepted by my family with cereal, toast, bagels, fresh fruit, yoghurt, waffles, orange, apple and cranberry juice, coffee and tea etc etc. this is served in a lovely communal sitting room by a large homely fire.

I would definitely return to The Green Lantern as we thoroughly enjoyed the theming of the Inn, the staff where very welcoming and warm, it's was clean, the beds comfortable and the location was one of the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickyc651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
891 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £113 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing