We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely unpretentious place in a rather pretentious town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Clean and cute and very friendly staff. As others have noted, it's not ultra modern, but that's a virtue. Everything's in fine shape, and it's a lovely, charming place to stay. Excellent, generous breakfast; you can even make your own waffles! Carmel itself was a bit too hoity-toity for our tastes, but it's a fine launching pad for a trip down the magnificent coast to Big Sur, and this is a fine economical place to stay. Plan to have lunch and dinner elsewhere though- restos are very pricey in Carmel (better options nearby in Monterey)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankW-Dr_Bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Carmel Green Lantern Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

I guess the quirky nature of this property is entirely in keeping with the arty farty village of Carmel by the sea. I stayed in a small 'turret' topped building named Holly which offered appalling headroom, hopeless access, a very narrow staircase to get to the bed, which was located in a loft. The shower was tiny (and I am very slim), the bathroom was difficult to get into and the walls appeared to be paper thin as the noise from the adjoining room made sleep near impossible. However, those issues aside, it's quaint and whilst I wouldn't want to stay in this room for more than a couple of nights, for an overnighter it was quite adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurrayRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

So the Green Lantern is not for everyone. It has many great qualities and couldn't be located in a better spot. 5 minute walk to the beach in one direction and 5 minutes to the shopping and restaurants in the other. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very good and we loved the sitting area where you eat. The overall atmosphere was really cool as everyone that was staying there was friendly and seemed to be having as much fun as we were. The rooms are a little quirky. We stayed in the Palm room and upon arrival, the room was really warm. We opened the windows and got the fan going but because the weather is cool year round, most b&b's in the area don't have air conditioning. So if you stay in your room during the day when it is sunny, it is uncomfortable. But it feels great at night because it cools down a lot. The room was pretty small because the property was built in the 1920's. Same with the bathrooms so it was a little difficult to get ready. If you expect a high end hotel, this is not necessarily the place for you. If you are active and don't spend lots of time in the room during the day, are fairly low maintenance and like a lot of character, you will really enjoy the Green Lantern.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed for two days in late May and here is a summary of the pros and cons:
Pros:
Good location, nice street and very close to the beach
Polite and friendly staff
Charming cottage-style rooms on pretty grounds and gardens
Price - you get a good value for the money you pay and considering you're in ridiculously overpriced Carmel
Cons:
The room was hot when we got in despite the weather being rather cold. Throughout our stay it felt a bit stuffy and musty but nothing too disturbing. We left a window open throughout those two days but it was not enough to make the room feel fresher.
Breakfast OK but nothing very special

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roulath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were at the Green Lantern for 4 nights in May. We just loved it! The rooms are all different and ours was just the right size with a big bathroom and a little patio outside our door. We were there for a family wedding and found it to be really well located to town and all of the weekend festivities. The staff was so nice!! Really helpful with directions and maps. I'm also Gluten Free and they were very happy to offer me hard boiled eggs for breakfast. I have to say this is one of my favorite places I've ever stayed. Reasonably priced, great location near beach and town, quiet, cozy, clean, friendly. What more could you ask for? We will definitely stay at Green Lantern again!

Room Tip: They're all different - the photos and descriptions on the website are really helpful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingYoginiME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This place could possibly be a 4, I was marginal on the 3.

Fact is, this place is quaint. it's nice, it's just nothing special. It has the Carmel quirky layout, which is a nice touch.

Here are some things to consider:
- when we got to the room (Knotty Pine) it was REALLY hot. The room has limited opening windows, and on the other hand, has a pretty big window pointing west so am assuming that warmed up the room real nice. It slowly got cooler as we opened all the windows, turned on the fan that was in the closet, and evening came... For starters, the windows/ door could have been kept open before we arrived, or the fan turned on.
- if you're interested in TV (we weren't) - it's one of those big old tube tvs, and the room is built in a way that you'd have to turn the tv to face the bed every time you wanted to watch.
- the room does have a mini refrigerator, which is nice if you needed one.
- the mattress is so-so. the pillows a bit under so-so.
- The breakfast is ok. a few options, including some home cooked casserole and that motel/ hotel make-it-yourself waffle maker you now see everywhere.
- the gardens are nice.
- staff is very cheerful and nice.
- good location, short walk to Ocean Ave. and the beach.

A major point to consider is price - there are B&Bs in Carmel you need to pay a fortune for a night in. This one does NOT break the bank. And, overall, even though I guess it sounds like we didn't like the place, we did have a really nice time, just nothing too fancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yotam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed the night on May 9th and 10th in the Birch and Laurel rooms. All I can say is WOW it was definately worth the price!! The rooms were well kept and had a nice unique rustic feel. Breafast was great and staff was very friendly. Great location and overall very cool. Defiantely worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked pretty similar
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
891 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £115 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing