We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Cozy Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Small Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Spent two nights here to celebrate my 75th....very cozy, nothing fancy, but great space! Clean comfortable. Kitchen, living room, and nice bedroom, and a nice gas fireplace.
A little to many plastic flowers. Very nice lady who run the cottages, she is very accommodating!
The cottages are off the beaten path.
If you are looking for a nice small cottage, that allows dogs, this is certainly not a bad choice. It is a little dated.
Breakfasts served, as well as cheese and wine in the early evening....

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josmshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    132
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
178
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you are looking for 'fancy', this is not for you. It is very European in feel, small but very clean rooms, a wonderful common area and gardens, terrific breakfast, all at a very reasonable price for the area, heck, for anywhere. Love it.

Room Tip: The ones with a little patio are just the greatest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canyonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was my second time staying at the Green Lantern. Although the rooms are old, they are clean and the location is great. The breakfast and afternoon snacks make up for the rooms being slightly rundown. I would definately stay here again. The price was very reasonable for Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is our second time staying here. We first stayed in 1999. We came back to celebrate our 40th anniversary and we are so glad that we did! The room was lovely and private. The staff is so warm and welcoming. The breakfast is very nice and afternoon snacks are great. We would buy a bottle of wine in town and then come back and get some cheese crackers and whatever the hot item was for the day and take it out to the garden. It was wonderful. We thank them fr making our five days relaxing and memorable.

Room Tip: Can't get the swimming pool to unselect. They do not have one. Any room one is great. We had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2grandmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Clean and cute and very friendly staff. As others have noted, it's not ultra modern, but that's a virtue. Everything's in fine shape, and it's a lovely, charming place to stay. Excellent, generous breakfast; you can even make your own waffles! Carmel itself was a bit too hoity-toity for our tastes, but it's a fine launching pad for a trip down the magnificent coast to Big Sur, and this is a fine economical place to stay. Plan to have lunch and dinner elsewhere though- restos are very pricey in Carmel (better options nearby in Monterey)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankW-Dr_Bit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I guess the quirky nature of this property is entirely in keeping with the arty farty village of Carmel by the sea. I stayed in a small 'turret' topped building named Holly which offered appalling headroom, hopeless access, a very narrow staircase to get to the bed, which was located in a loft. The shower was tiny (and I am very slim), the bathroom was difficult to get into and the walls appeared to be paper thin as the noise from the adjoining room made sleep near impossible. However, those issues aside, it's quaint and whilst I wouldn't want to stay in this room for more than a couple of nights, for an overnighter it was quite adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

So the Green Lantern is not for everyone. It has many great qualities and couldn't be located in a better spot. 5 minute walk to the beach in one direction and 5 minutes to the shopping and restaurants in the other. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very good and we loved the sitting area where you eat. The overall atmosphere was really cool as everyone that was staying there was friendly and seemed to be having as much fun as we were. The rooms are a little quirky. We stayed in the Palm room and upon arrival, the room was really warm. We opened the windows and got the fan going but because the weather is cool year round, most b&b's in the area don't have air conditioning. So if you stay in your room during the day when it is sunny, it is uncomfortable. But it feels great at night because it cools down a lot. The room was pretty small because the property was built in the 1920's. Same with the bathrooms so it was a little difficult to get ready. If you expect a high end hotel, this is not necessarily the place for you. If you are active and don't spend lots of time in the room during the day, are fairly low maintenance and like a lot of character, you will really enjoy the Green Lantern.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
859 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#14 of 25 in Carmel
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Property: Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing