We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Upside: excellent location, charming grounds, clean and comfortable room, reasonable price, friendly staff.
Downside: after five nights the breakfast could use a little more variety and the double bed (my fault) got smaller every night.
Overall: highly recommend and would definitely go back. Day trip to Point Lobos was fantastic. Thanks to Sandy for the advice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzanneWilmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We arrived late afternoon without reservation. Able to see accommodation before booking in. Was hoping to get "Redwood" but was in "Cypress", which we think was the better position. Family of four, this offered plenty of space. Although the Green Lantern is older in style (but certainly seems consistent with the area), it was very clean and comfortable, and with the cooler weather very cozy. Afternoon snacks are on offer between 1600 - 1700. Breakfast offered in the mornings with a good array of options. Staff friendly and helpful with area information. Excellent location, just a short stroll to the many restaurants in the area. This B & B offers excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsbko11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We just stayed for three nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast in Carmel. The breakfast was very good and the staff was incredibly friendly. We rented the Willow suite, which evolved from the combining of two previous rooms, and has an updated bathroom. The room was quite spacious. We loved it. The Green Lantern is also located in a very quite area, although it is only one block from Ocean Ave. We also wound up with their January special rates, which made the room a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed there on Dec 2013, and our experience was truly lovely and full of charm. Our room was beautifully appointed (Maple). The staff was super helpful. Location is perfect and breakfast very good. All the Carmel experience!! another plus was the Little ice machine área which also had free coca and other stuff.

Room Tip: Don't doubt to stay there!! Love it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariana_C_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Green Lantern for 1 night... and we wish we could have stayed longer. Such a beautiful little place! We stayed in holly and absolutely adored it. The bedroom was up a little winding staircase and it just oozed charm and quirkiness! The bathroom was small but we knew that. Breakfast was brilliant... cereal, toast, waffles, yoghurt, fruit, etc. Parking and wifi! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug99ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Cypress cottage. Lovely, clean, charming and a great location. Excellent breakfast and very friendly inn keeper. Beautiful breakfast room. The only thing that keeps me from giving this place full marks is some chaos upon our departure. The inn keeper was away and the people working the office were unable to check us out. Other than that, it was great.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We extended our stay at the Green Lantern from 2 to 4 nights recently, partly because of our desire to see more of Carmel and surrounding area, but mostly because of the warmth and hospitality that was extended to us from everyone working at the inn. The breakfast was great, afternoon snack welcoming, and the bed was very comfortable! We will definitely return to Carmel, and the Green Lantern Inn, and will recommend it to to others! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#5 of 25 in Carmel
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: £104 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Inn b&b
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing