We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Ranked #8 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2004

Arrived late and left early. Stayed in the Holly. What you see in the picture is literally all there is, except for the small bathroom downstairs. You could actually hear the ocean once we settled in. Great location. If the shower trickles in Holly turn it off for a few minutes then back on. Woke up too late for breakfast but the coffe and fruit were good. For the price and location it was a great deal! Would stay here again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    126
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
82
167
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2004

After reading the reviews we knew that the Green Lantern would be good, but it exceeded our expectations. Our room, albeit small compared to modern hotels, was clean, beautifuly decorated and well planned. Breakfast and afternoon tea were great. Within strolling distance of Carmel restaurants and shops, we would certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olmsted Falls, OH
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2004

I usually break up my SF trip with a jaunt to Carmel/Big Sur for a couple days. Since I'm out of the room most of those two days, I'm not too caught up in accommodations. Stayed in Holly, which is their most inexpensive--and smallest--room, although I'm not so sure it's a heck of a lot smaller than the other 17 rooms on their property. I had no problem with it--I'm one who looked at it from a quaint/charming perspective. At 6' tall, I did have to duck walking up the "vestibule" and to get my hair washed. But it was comfortable, and--despite a smallish bed--we both slept well. They have the best B&B breakfast I've had; great assortment of food.

Helpful?
8 Thank tjibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 April 2004

Terrible, terrible place. Don't go there (leaves more room for me...) Seriously, an ideal location as it's off the main drag and pretty quiet. You can hear the surf at night. Equally distant between the beach and "downtown". Not all rooms have fireplaces as mentioned in another revue. If you like quaint '50s-ish accomodations, this is the place. Sort of like Gradma's house. Antiques all over the place (not the guests, ahem!) Single pane windows, wall mount electric heaters, etc., however, it does have hairdriers, refers and TV's in all rooms.
Noisy/rude neighbors will be heard. Breakfast and round-the-clock Carmel Valley coffee in the lobby is great -- unless you have unruly children there whose parents are clueless (you know who you are). With the exception of the lobby, phones are digital - which means your laptop won't hear a dial tone in your room. They have a wireless system - try it before you trapse to the lobby and have folks look over your shoulder while you email or surf. A good point is that they don't take pets - you don't have to hear bow-wows all night - Carmel is very dog heavy. 16 rooms in about 7 cottages. Max occupancy is ~50. Staff is pleasant. Parking is OK. Beds are great. Grounds are "homey". I'll go back - and I don't often say that.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2004

I'm not sure what to say about this quaint B&B in Carmel. It is old and unique. I've been going to Carmel on and off for the last 20 years and have stayed in a lot of places. Some people, like my wife, think that small rooms, drafty windows, old plumbing, a door that is hard to open, and thin walls are "charming" and give the place "character". If this is what you like, then the Green Lantern is for you. As for me, I prefer some of the more modern, larger room, better bathroom places up around San Carlos and 5th for about the same price as the Green Lantern. On the positive side, I will say that the Green Lantern does provide a great breakfast and is in a good location.

Helpful?
8 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 March 2004

Very pleasant stay for a long weekend. Room was smallish, but ideal for the weekend and clean. Staff very friendly and the breakfast good. Nice base to be able to walk down to the beach and into town for diner at night. Wonderful weekend weather helped enormously.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 June 2003

What an absolutely charming B&B - each cottage decorated to it's own style with fireplace in every room. Bath towels large and fluffy. The cottages aren't new but has their own distinction. Close to town, the beach and Scenic Drive. The continental breakfast was wonderful. I can't wait to return.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Green Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Green Lantern Inn

Property: Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Address: Casanova and Seventh Avenue, PO Box 1114, Carmel, CA 93921 (Formerly Green Lantern Inn Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Green Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a garden setting, Carmel Green Lantern Inn offers a convenient central location: 177 steps from famous Carmel beach, 1 block to historic Carmel by the Sea downtown featuring boutique shops, a variety of restaurants and one-of-a-kind art galleries and less than 1 mile to Pebble Beach and 17-Mile drive. Nearby attractions include Monterey Bay Aquarium, historic Carmel Mission, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Big Sur. Stay at this Inn includes complimentary expanded breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free guest parking and freshly baked cookies daily. The daily breakfast includes waffles, casseroles, yogurt parfait, fresh fruits and gourmet coffee. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the fireside dining room or outdoors with a view of the lush gardens surrounding the property. Individually decorated rooms include cable TV, refrigerator, private bathrooms, complimentary internet access and free local calls. Select rooms feature fireplaces and small private decks where you can relax, listen to sound of the waves and views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Carmel Green Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lantern Hotel Carmel
Green Lantern Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing