We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Great Food, but Great Value?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Great service, Great Food, but Great Value?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

I thought long and hard before writing this review. I planned for this our last night in the USA to be the highlight, and in many ways it was. The welcome was excellent, the service, valet parking and later in the restaurant was first class. The room was clean and very comfortable. On the whole a very relaxing experience in a very nice town. But, and there has to be abut coming, the room was quite small. The bathroom had a perfectly adequate shower but no bath. In short the "wow" factor was completely absent. The complementary water was ok, but in similar hotels in the UK we had been given complementary sherry, whisky or gin. Dinner on the other hand from the tasting menu was first class. Would I eat there again? Yes. Would I stay there again? Probably not!

Room Tip: Eat here, but stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auberge_carmel_ca, Manager at L'Auberge Carmel, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Dear paul611,

Thank you very much for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel. Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay with us was not up to your standards. Being a former 1929 apartment, we have tried everything in our power to modernize the rooms yet keep the charm of the history behind L'Auberge. It is unfortunate that the "wow" factor was absent in your opinion. We do take all of our guests comments to heart and will use this to further our staff training. Again thank you for staying with us at L'Auberge Carmel and I hope that you will give us another chance to "wow" you.

George N.
Hotel Manager, L'Auberge Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    62
    36
    14
    10
See reviews for
37
229
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Upon arriving at 9:00pm after a 7 hour flight delay, we were tired and hungry. We were greeted with smiles, warmth, comfort and helping hands. Though the kitchen was closed, the chef reopened and served us a delicious meal with wonderful wine. As they seated us in front of a fireplace, we sensed this place was special. We generally don't stay at small, boutique style hotels and were pleasantly surprised at the comfort and amenities L'Auberge Carmel offered. The whole hotel is very European in style and decor and its Old World charm is very appealing. The included continental breakfast was really a superb three-course meal with delicious breads and croissants. The location in the heart of town is perfect. The personal service and friendliness of the staff made us want to return. This is truly a jewel in a gem of a city!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Highlands, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

Bravo to all the staff at LÁuberge - a job well done.

After a very long and tiring trip form Australia I was delighted with my reception at the hotel. Every person who I came into contact with over my 4 days stay was delightful and professional. The service was excellent and as a first time visitor to Carmel I was assisted at every step with information and advice as to what, where and how to see all the local sights.

The staff in the the restaurant were very professional and delivered a first class dining experience (it was so good I came back the next night too). Compliments to the chef and staff for an outstanding meal - 5 stars all the way!

I am looking forward to my next visit to Carmel and I will certainly be staying here!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looksee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

As part of our anniversary celebration, my husband and I decided to spend a night at L'Auberge. We have been to Carmel-by-the-Sea many times and have always talked about treating ourselves to an overnight stay. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff. They were more than helpful in making our stay memorable. The restaurant was amazing, as well as the breakfast we had before our departure. We are already talking about celebrating this way next year.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joanniebgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

stayed right after Thanksgiving, hotel was very quiet, the hot cider and marshmallow on arrival was outstanding and a lovely touch. The staff are excellent, breakfast delightful.

A great relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_traveller_GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvidere, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

My husband & I recently stayed at L'Auberge for 2 nights for his birthday. We had never been to Carmel-by-the-sea & wanted to check it out. When we checked in, we were informed that we were upgraded (really? how nice!). Our room (#29) was on the lower floor & absolutely lovely. The bed & pillows were heavenly! The room & bathroom were spacious as well. There was a lovely courtyard that all the rooms faced & at night with the windows open, you could hear the waves of the ocean. The city is so quaint! That being said, the hotels & B&B's are close together. We live in the country & are used to quiet when we sleep. While the hotel & streets were quiet at night, we asked for a room fan to be brought up for white noise. That was all we needed (and honestly, that wasn't necessary). The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful in getting us aquainted with the city, reservations, or any questions that we had. Ellie was wonderful! And George, the manager, was so accomodating. Breakfast was included and was very tasty. The homemade granola was not included on the complementary breakfast, but was well worth paying for. Excellent! Would highly recommend & would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KckbxrSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I stayed at the L'Auberge in late October, 2010. We have stayed in many locations throughout the Monterey Bay area(Spanish Bay, Casa Palmero, among others). But I have to say that the L'Auberge rates high on the list: Their service standards are the highest I have ever witnessed, the staff made us feel at home, the room was extremely comfortable and spacious. And the dinner at L'Auberge was a memorable experience with outstanding food and great wines to match!

This is the place to stay in Carmel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
4.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Property: L'Auberge Carmel
Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing