We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday in Carmel”
Review of L'Auberge Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Auberge Carmel
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

What is the opposite of "rude"? Answer is the staff at L'Auberge Carmel. We are not inexperienced world travelers, but we have never encountered a more polite and helpful staff than the one at this charming inn. They actually make me feel proud that we found them so close to home. My hat is off to L'Auberge Carmel for making this my wife's best birthday ever.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Poor Service :(((

BE AWARE!!!!
There is a 24-hour cancellation policy for the restaurant in hotel. It is $50 per person (unless you speak with Maurine then it is $100 per person, but she won't admit to saying that because she has been there FIFTEEN years). Oh and Maurine also let me in on a little secret....depends on your excuse for canceling a reservation; sometimes they will charge you sometimes they will not. So think of a good excuse; apparently being honeymooners was not good enough.

Remember to shower with ALL windows open or else smoke alarm will go off and fire department will show up and come into your room. I believe it is common since front desk person called and immediately asked if someone was showering......

The restaurant is not worth the price. We spent $340 for two people (a cheese plate add-on and ONE beer). Much better restaurants that are far less expensive. If you like good food, dine elsewhere...if you like "the name & the high-end atmosphere" then dine in hotel's restaurant, Aubertine. They will not tell you about cancellation policy so please make note ahead of time to call and cancel.

I know this review sounds mean, but I am just telling the truth. If it helps one couple/family make a better decision on their stay in Carmel then it was worth it. I use these reviews quite often, and think it is only fair I write one for this experience. And may I add..I did try to contact hotel staff and let them make it right and they FAILED big time. I am young, only 23, and do not appreciate businesses or people in general not taking me seriously.

I have only been in the working world/customer service world a little over a year. But I already know: the paying customer is always right, apologies may not solve everything but they help, never say something that is degrading or suggests the client is a liar, and to make things right when a client has been wronged. I think "one of the best hotels in Carmel" should know these just as well as a 23-year old does.

The only good thing about our stay was the smore' bonfire on the beach and the hotel driver who drove us down to the beach. I can't remember his name, but he was one of the sweetest people we had ever met.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Karly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Carmel is a very wonderful place. I never thought I could find it more so until we stayed at this hotel. The hotel is very European in its design but the rooms are modern.

We stayed for three days. It was like living in Paradise. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our names, shown to an actual desk, and greeted by very friendly staff.

We were then shown to our room where we found a hand written note to welcome us. There was a bottle of champagne and another handwritten note wishing us a Happy Anniversary.

We also ate at the Aubergine restaurant at the hotel.

If you are entertaining the idea of staying in Carmel, we highly recommend this charming and lovely hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Honoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I am a slight clean freak BUT the bathroom door was white and had a LOT of black fingerprints, I think there is an old product called Fantastic that could deal with this issue! The phone cord had a Qtip wrapped in it, I guess the good news is that it was not used. The windows were dirty both in and out. I came back to the room mid-clean one day and the coffee cups were being washed by the housekeeper in the sink, in other words not sanitized by a dishwasher, and yes she was using the same gloves she cleaned the toilet with!!! The house keeper cleaned the rugs by vacuuming my favorite shoes completely under the bed, I guess the good news is she swept under my shoes! We stayed in room 9 and we could hear the toilet flush from the room above us when we were in the bed. It just made me think if I can see all these issues what else was dirty??? Cozy, cute and perfect location goes for a long way but dirty just ruins it for me....

Room Tip: Do not get room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NMeliW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I can only echo other positive reviews. These people can't do enough for you. If you are looking for perfection in idyllic surroundings this is it. Breakfast was divine. The bar is very cosy. you could actually stay here and not go anywhere else other than a walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are a bit of a climb. If you have a problem climbing steep stairs you may want to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lullu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you are in Carmel we need to book something at least as L'Auberge. It fits very well with the whole environment. It's classy, cozy, romantic, small, a little bit dusty and screechy but then you have one of the best restaurants on the coast.

Room Tip: Not much choices, but facing the inner yard is more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyHighRollers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We wanted to spend our 40th wedding anniversary in a special place and picked Carmel by the Sea. This small quaint hotel was wonderful. Quaint, but charming. Room was adorable but thee service was the best we have ever seen. Cookies and milk at night, a menu the first night in the restaurant with out names and special occasion on it. A very special place. Great valet service.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor If staying during a warm time. No air conditioning and the second story is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bshadrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
617 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Carmel

Address: Monte Verde Street at Seventh Avenue, Carmel, CA 93920
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carmel
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: £262 - £603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge Carmel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1929, the European-style luxury hotel is located just four blocks from famous Carmel Beach and an easy stroll to the village's numerous art galleries, shops and restaurants. Major renovations have transformed the hotel's 20 guest rooms, entrance and landscaped courtyard into a romantic Carmel setting. Luxuriously romantic, the Carmel hotel was created for adults to relax, rejuvenate and nurture relationships—the perfect Carmel escape getaway. The interior decor of guest rooms is rich and pleasing, warm jewel tones accent the quaint charm of the architecture. Individually designed guest rooms feature the finest fabrics and linens, enlarged bath areas with radiant floor heating, some with soaking tubs. It is one of Carmel’s few full service luxury hotels offering valet parking, room service and highly personalized guest services. The highlight of L'Auberge Carmel is its intimate 12-table restaurant, Aubergine, featuring a 4500-bottle wine cellar. It is the passion of Executive Chef Justin Cogley. All accommodations include a sumptuous continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your L'Auberge Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Carmel Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing